• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't boot with UEFI enabled in bios

amd_rx580

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Hi!
I just built a new system with the following parts:
msi b450 tomahawk max
ryzen 5 3600
gskill 3200 2x8GB
1 tb nvme ssd
corsair tx550m
sapphire pulse rx 580

All the parts are new except the graphics card which I bought used.
I have installed windows 10 and ubuntu 19.10 dual boot on the ssd and able to boot into both using grub using CSM.

The only issue is I can't enable UEFI in the bios, if I do that pc does not boot. It says "No GOP (graphics output protocol) detected". Is there something wrong with the graphics card, do I need to update the vbios??

I am attaching the boot msg and the gpu info, would really appreciate if someone can help.

Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • atiflash-ai.JPG
    atiflash-ai.JPG
    131.2 KB · Views: 880
  • GOP.jpg
    GOP.jpg
    601.3 KB · Views: 1,635
  • gpu-z-1.JPG
    gpu-z-1.JPG
    69.6 KB · Views: 891
  • SKU.jpg
    SKU.jpg
    511.8 KB · Views: 771
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,354 (2.71/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Can you attach the BIOS rom from the card? You can extract it with GPU-Z with the arrow next to UEFI check box.
Any clue if this may be a mining card?
 

amd_rx580

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Attached is the bios rom from the card. This was probably used for mining although guy I bought it from said he did not use this card for mining. He does have a big mining rig set up.
Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • EllesmereOrig.zip
    109.7 KB · Views: 239
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,354 (2.71/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3733MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Something is off here...
In GPU-Z screenshot you posted the GDDR type is Hynix... yet the vBIOS file you attached says Samsung memory. I double checked it...
And certainly this vBIOS has enhanced memory timings for mining.

This needs @eidairaman1....
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,278 (0.61/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
GOP support probably "got nuked" when BIOS was edited.
Original one should have GOP working properly.
Check vBIOS database for stock one for Your card, and try using it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Attached is the bios rom from the card. This was probably used for mining although guy I bought it from said he did not use this card for mining. He does have a big mining rig set up.
Thanks.

Physically remove the heatsink from the card and lets get a accurate verification of ram.
 

amd_rx580

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Physically remove the heatsink from the card and lets get a accurate verification of ram.

Will try to do this today, will send a picture of the board. Any thing I have to be careful about, never opened up a gpu before.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,984 (1.59/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
I would skip opening up and find the factory bios for your card. It was likely flashed with a bios for a diff ram brand for the timings.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I would skip opening up and find the factory bios for your card. It was likely flashed with a bios for a diff ram brand for the timings.

Only way to know what bios at this rate is to verify physically

 

amd_rx580

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Ok, I took of the heatsink, looks like its hynix ram. see attached photos.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0179.JPG
    IMG_0179.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 349
  • IMG_0180.JPG
    IMG_0180.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 347
  • IMG_0181.JPG
    IMG_0181.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 331
  • IMG_0183.JPG
    IMG_0183.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 365

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok since thats out of the way, i will look at other details

All motherboards i turn on csm support anyway.

Here is the tool, just right click it, open as administrator, and find the bios file you downloaded


These are verified listing

Latest gpu bios



Unverified list make sure to look at file details for the prescence of Hynix ram tables, doesnt matter if samsung is there too as long as hynix is there.


 

amd_rx580

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Thank you @eidairaman1 and everyone else. The second vbios you linked worked. I flashed the gpu, restarted, installed amd drivers and it worked. I can reboot with both CSM or UEFI mode. Do I need to check anything else?

Thanks again.
 
Top