• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

can't convince video to work on new board

Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,468 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#26
bios flashing doesnt void warranty but it is risky procedure that if not done properly could make mb inoperation (repair is possible but is time spending or may be costly as well). it is quite simple proces and if you follow instructions you have to be real idiot to fuck it up. call those guys and ask them for time/cost. if experance guy do it shouldnt take more then 30-40 mins if they have compatable cpu.
it is kind of strange that you have such problems since according to mb's cpu support list it should be able to run fx6100 straight out of the box (fx6100 support is stated from firts releace version of bios).
did you reproted beep code you got to gigabyte support and what they did told you about its meaning. also check in google what beep code could mean.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#27
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#28
would it be possible to try a different cable to connect from your 8400 to you monitor?
 

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#29
okay, I have it in the box and gigabyte said the board should come with the fb bios required, so I am going to ship it back for exchange.
 

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#30
problem solved

I got a new motherboard through exchange and had all the same problems and only got beep codes with no ram. I now believe my ram was incompatible (something about it being rdimm and thusly unsupported)
 

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#31
I got a new motherboard(same one) and was able to get beep codes only with no ram(again). so, I looked into it deeper and found out that my computer doesn't support this ram. now I will return this ram and try again. I'll try to keep youguys posted.
ps; my old computer blew a capacitor on thursday so my internet setup is a little messed up. I'm using an older computer now. but I'll figure out what size it is, buy a replacement cap and solder that in later
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#33
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,468 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#34
gz and thx for feedback. not much people here give end of story when they got their prolblem solved.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#36
why did you buy an old 8400GS for 30$!! i think there a re plenty better cards than that?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,468 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#38
so far from my xp
being poor and buying cheap pc for gaming is <<<< then w8 to get some money and buy decend gaming pc
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,468 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,898
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#40
gt640 is mid range but still is way better then 8400.
good thing about video cards is that they can be easily replaced. remove old place new one and you are ready to go. plug and play.
 

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#41
gt640 is mid range but still is way better then 8400.
good thing about video cards is that they can be easily replaced. remove old place new one and you are ready to go. plug and play.
yeah, I figure it will get me out of the dark ages. still hasn't come in the mail yet. I'll keep you posted but as of right now I can play skyrim with 15-20 fps on lowish settings
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#43
I'd be wary of running 2 video cards with that PSU.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#44
Offtopic but that's horrible junk power supply. Get a Seasonic, XFX, or Corsair.
 

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#45
I'd be wary of running 2 video cards with that PSU.
really? I put the other one in (trying to figure out how to link them, or if they are linked), but the psu is letting out cool air, might my setup need more power or should I wait and see if this one fails? Could that harm my system, or will it just shut down?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#46
psu is junk replace it
the cheap ones have tendency to "go out with a bang"
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#47
Have a search around for reviews on your power supply, or opinions on it.

You'll get more information. But basically, it's not a very good unit and I doubt the 12v rails will be able to push all that much current.

Bad power supplies can take out your rig, i'm not saying that yours would tho, I don;t know enough about it apart from it isn;t well built :(

I would replace it as soon as I had the money. See if you can sell the other on ebay or something.

Edit - From reading around, they have a pretty high failure rate. But, you do get 22A on the first rail and 24A on the second 12v rail.
 
Last edited:

wertacus

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
california
#48
Have a search around for reviews on your power supply, or opinions on it.

You'll get more information. But basically, it's not a very good unit and I doubt the 12v rails will be able to push all that much current.

Bad power supplies can take out your rig, i'm not saying that yours would tho, I don;t know enough about it apart from it isn;t well built :(

I would replace it as soon as I had the money. See if you can sell the other on ebay or something.

Edit - From reading around, they have a pretty high failure rate. But, you do get 22A on the first rail and 24A on the second 12v rail.
okay, that's good to know. I'll do that once I get a case for all of this. everything is just sprawled out on my desk at the moment. it seems unsafe.