• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer is low on memory... what???

Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#1


Not the most descriptive title but my computer keeps throwing up these errors when there's clearly >2GB left.

My specs are on the left. I have the page file turned off because I have 8GB of RAM


Any ideas?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,144
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Turn your pagefile back on to "system managed". It should take care of the issue.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#3


Not the most descriptive title but my computer keeps throwing up these errors when there's clearly >2GB left.

My specs are on the left. I have the page file turned off because I have 8GB of RAM


Any ideas?
After some googling it seems the threshold for that message is around 60-80% memory used.
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,795
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
As erocker said turn your page file back on.. Seems like your running a program that don't like it turned off or even actually running out when the program is running..

I have it always turned off always did when i ran 8GB too.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,529 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#5
Memory is too low. Try putting your computer on a shelf. :p

In all seriousness though, +1 to re-enabling pagefile. Certain programs have issues when pagefile is disabled. If I recall correctly, you should be able to set it to something low like 32MB just to make it happy.

Assuming this is your sig rig, I'd suggest enabling it on your storage drive instead of the SSD. Should avoid a bit of wear.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
CHeers, page enabled, hopefully it'll sort it out
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,534 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,622
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
That 5.45GB is how much is being used after HL2.exe got killed. I bet you hit 8GB. This is typical behavior when you run out of memory and don't have access to any swap space. This had occurred occasionally when I ran 8GB on a Phenom II 940. Since I upgraded to the i7 and 16GB I've been fine. I had determined myself 8GB is pushing it when it comes to disabling the page file, at least with what I use my machine for.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#8
That 5.45GB is how much is being used after HL2.exe got killed. I bet you hit 8GB. This is typical behavior when you run out of memory and don't have access to any swap space. This had occurred occasionally when I ran 8GB on a Phenom II 940. Since I upgraded to the i7 and 16GB I've been fine. I had determined myself 8GB is pushing it when it comes to disabling the page file, at least with what I use my machine for.
I bet it is actually Team Fortress 2 and it is still running in his screenshot.

https://www.google.com/search?q=tf2 icon&oq=tf2 icon&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l5.1281j0j7&sourceid=chrome&espv=210&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8

Also, low on memory =/= out of memory
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
772 (0.37/day)
Likes
737
Location
Denmark
System Name Waterfall | Iris
Processor Athlon X4 860K @ 4,4 GHz | i3-6157U
Motherboard ASUS A88X Pro | Acer laptop
Cooling Custom Watercooling | Stock laptop with cooling pad
Memory 2*8GB Avexir Core Blue 2400Hz@1600 DDR3| 2+4GB 2133MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2*R9 380 with WC blocks | Iris 550
Storage Crucial BX100 500GB | SK Hynix 256GB SSD + 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) U24E850R+U2515H | Internal 15,6"
Case Fractal Design Define R5 | Laptop
Audio Device(s) Xenyx Q802USB | Realtek
Power Supply SilverStone Strider Gold 850W | 65W 19V Power brick
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 7 Professional | Fedora
#9
Also the important number is the one at the bottom called commit. That's the one that shows how much memory has been reserved by processes.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#10
Also the important number is the one at the bottom called commit. That's the one that shows how much memory has been reserved by processes.
Good catch. This is an issue if you do not have a page file.
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
772 (0.37/day)
Likes
737
Location
Denmark
System Name Waterfall | Iris
Processor Athlon X4 860K @ 4,4 GHz | i3-6157U
Motherboard ASUS A88X Pro | Acer laptop
Cooling Custom Watercooling | Stock laptop with cooling pad
Memory 2*8GB Avexir Core Blue 2400Hz@1600 DDR3| 2+4GB 2133MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2*R9 380 with WC blocks | Iris 550
Storage Crucial BX100 500GB | SK Hynix 256GB SSD + 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) U24E850R+U2515H | Internal 15,6"
Case Fractal Design Define R5 | Laptop
Audio Device(s) Xenyx Q802USB | Realtek
Power Supply SilverStone Strider Gold 850W | 65W 19V Power brick
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 7 Professional | Fedora
#11
That also depends a lot of how you use your computer. Some programs tend to reserve huge amounts of RAM for some reason.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,578 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,805
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#12
Need to download more ram.

o_O
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,425 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,570
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I have the page file turned off because I have 8GB of RAM
8GB of RAM is not enough to have the page file turned off, in fact you should never have the page file turned off because it leads to errors like this.

Create a small page file, ~4GB. There really is no reason to turn the page file off, it provides no benefit.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,203 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,853
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
^ exactly. You want a page file.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,534 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,622
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
8GB of RAM is not enough to have the page file turned off, in fact you should never have the page file turned off because it leads to errors like this.

Create a small page file, ~4GB. There really is no reason to turn the page file off, it provides no benefit.
^ exactly. You want a page file.
I've ran without swap or a page file since I upgraded to 16GB of memory. It used to be the case that some older applications required a page file to force memory to be swapped out in certain instances, but I haven't experienced that since before I upgraded.

I still suspect that he ran out of memory, if even for a moment, and as soon as it needed that memory back, Windows killed the biggest process. Now it may say TF2 is still "running" but the only thing running might be the dialog box that said it was forcibly exited.

All in all, I agree with these two gentlemen here. Keep your page file, buy more memory, or don't keep so much open at once so you don't run out.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
this is why people should stop advising others to disable the page file. they say its never caused them any issues, because error messages like this dont say 'low on page file'
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#17
I have 32GB of ram and I still run a page file of 2GB, There is no benefit turning it off.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
I have 32GB of ram and I still run a page file of 2GB, There is no benefit turning it off.

back in the XP days i ran with 2GB static, now i run 4GB on every OS install. (automatic on SSD, because fragmentation isnt an issue there)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#19
i always thought it would kick in when you was getting to the point where you had no room left for dynamic vram?

i mean with my 560 it would tell me when i had about a gig left, now with a 7950 it tells me the same when i have less than 3gb left.