1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer is low on memory... what???

Discussion in 'General Software' started by oli_ramsay, Mar 7, 2014.

  1. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,483 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG]

    Not the most descriptive title but my computer keeps throwing up these errors when there's clearly >2GB left.

    My specs are on the left. I have the page file turned off because I have 8GB of RAM


    Any ideas?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,436 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,764
    Turn your pagefile back on to "system managed". It should take care of the issue.
     
    Mussels and oli_ramsay say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    954 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    After some googling it seems the threshold for that message is around 60-80% memory used.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,176 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,672
    Location:
    US
    As erocker said turn your page file back on.. Seems like your running a program that don't like it turned off or even actually running out when the program is running..

    I have it always turned off always did when i ran 8GB too.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  5. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,196 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,958
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Memory is too low. Try putting your computer on a shelf. :p

    In all seriousness though, +1 to re-enabling pagefile. Certain programs have issues when pagefile is disabled. If I recall correctly, you should be able to set it to something low like 32MB just to make it happy.

    Assuming this is your sig rig, I'd suggest enabling it on your storage drive instead of the SSD. Should avoid a bit of wear.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,483 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    UK
    CHeers, page enabled, hopefully it'll sort it out
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That 5.45GB is how much is being used after HL2.exe got killed. I bet you hit 8GB. This is typical behavior when you run out of memory and don't have access to any swap space. This had occurred occasionally when I ran 8GB on a Phenom II 940. Since I upgraded to the i7 and 16GB I've been fine. I had determined myself 8GB is pushing it when it comes to disabling the page file, at least with what I use my machine for.
     
    hellrazor says thanks.
  8. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    954 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    I bet it is actually Team Fortress 2 and it is still running in his screenshot.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=tf2 icon&oq=tf2 icon&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l5.1281j0j7&sourceid=chrome&espv=210&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8

    Also, low on memory =/= out of memory
     
  9. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    Also the important number is the one at the bottom called commit. That's the one that shows how much memory has been reserved by processes.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    954 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Good catch. This is an issue if you do not have a page file.
     
  11. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    That also depends a lot of how you use your computer. Some programs tend to reserve huge amounts of RAM for some reason.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,262 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,120
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    Need to download more ram.

    o_O
     
    xvi says thanks.
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,945 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,909
    8GB of RAM is not enough to have the page file turned off, in fact you should never have the page file turned off because it leads to errors like this.

    Create a small page file, ~4GB. There really is no reason to turn the page file off, it provides no benefit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,025 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Oregon
    ^ exactly. You want a page file.
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've ran without swap or a page file since I upgraded to 16GB of memory. It used to be the case that some older applications required a page file to force memory to be swapped out in certain instances, but I haven't experienced that since before I upgraded.

    I still suspect that he ran out of memory, if even for a moment, and as soon as it needed that memory back, Windows killed the biggest process. Now it may say TF2 is still "running" but the only thing running might be the dialog box that said it was forcibly exited.

    All in all, I agree with these two gentlemen here. Keep your page file, buy more memory, or don't keep so much open at once so you don't run out.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,043 (10.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,257
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    this is why people should stop advising others to disable the page file. they say its never caused them any issues, because error messages like this dont say 'low on page file'
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have 32GB of ram and I still run a page file of 2GB, There is no benefit turning it off.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,043 (10.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,257
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.

    back in the XP days i ran with 2GB static, now i run 4GB on every OS install. (automatic on SSD, because fragmentation isnt an issue there)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    i always thought it would kick in when you was getting to the point where you had no room left for dynamic vram?

    i mean with my 560 it would tell me when i had about a gig left, now with a 7950 it tells me the same when i have less than 3gb left.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)