• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer problem - pc not booting

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#1
just built this system...now this...when i powered on my system it loaded up like normal...went to loading windows screen(win 7) and then flashed a white line in top left when away then flashed it a couple more times in top left...then just had a blank screen and did nothing....i rebooted it and it stays at a blank screen...no mobo flash screen...no loading screen no nothing just my monitor like flashes on an off....so i turned it off for the night and got the same results... wont let me enter safe mode or anything....please tell me my HDD isnt fried and if it is can i get the stuff off it?? anyway to fix this...i did try to boot from a CD when it DID let me pick the F12 options...but got nothing went to reinstalling windows and all the good stuff....eeeeerrrrr anyhelp would be helpful...im at work for 16hrs, and this problem just happen havent been able to mess around with it that much... any ideas would be very helpful

thanks:cry:
 

bokou

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
177 (0.07/day)
Likes
43
Location
Mississippi
System Name The Beast 2
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 OC'd: 3.9ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6970
Storage WDl 7200rpm 500gb
Display(s) Acer 21" LCD, Westinghouse 21" LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) On-board 7.1 SupremeFX
Power Supply Xion 800w Modular
Software Windows 7, Steam, BFBC2, TF2, Adobe CS5
Benchmark Scores 20k+ on 3dMark06, will have to look at exact number
#2
so wait the only thing you can't get into is Windows correct? You do indeed see the Windows loading screen?

It worked for a short time and now it won't boot into Windows?

You're able to enter the bios correct?

You can try putting in your Windows CD again and booting from it and then trying to repair the installation and see if it finds anything wrong with it.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#3
does it beep? beep means theres something not right, or may err
and check all the cables and connection too
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,443 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,867
#4
I am making no assumptions about your knowledge about computers, given the little information that has been provided. Please provide the following information so we can help you:

1) Do you have a system speaker? It is usually a small black cylinder attached to the motherboard. Look up the information in the motherboard book and make sure it is attached properly.
2) Does the system speaker make any beeps on start-up? Micropage7 has the right start, but missed the fact that beep patterns can help identify issues.
3) With all the SATA drives disconnected, does the system boot to post and the splash screen? If you don't get the splash screen and post beeps you're looking at motherboard or psu problems.
4) Assuming that the board posts and gets to splash, do you have the bios setting correct? Sometimes parts do not detect correctly, and an improper bios setting can be a killer problem.
5) Assuming that the board does not get to splash, does the psu work? Disconnect it from everything, unplug it from the wall, and and let it sit for several minutes so the capacitors discharge. Jumper the green and black (any of the black, and there should only be one green) wires on the main power connector (largest block off the psu). If the psu fires up measure the voltages on the molex connectors. If you don't get the right voltages (search wikipedia for "molex connector"), your psu is slagged. If the voltages are correct prepare for a mother board replacement.

These are general solutions that you should try. If you gave us more we could offer more help. As it stands now, there are only basic checks that can be recommended. We are quite a distance away from isolating the HDD as the source of the error.
 
Last edited:

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#5
still at work but maybe i can shine some light on it with alittle more info...

the pc has worked fine for 4 months or so...
the system does not nor did it ever beep, that i know off, it just had the typical windows noise from the SPEAKERS while booting...

what it does now is...

if i where to go and power it on right now, it would show the splash screen and show the windows splash screen and then have a white line in top left corner of screen flash about 5 times...goes away then flash again...then go away leaving screen black..

....IF

I reboot it after that inistal boot...it then just shows a black screen with no splash screens at all...none for mobo and none for windows... after i let "cool down" it seems it will then show a splash screen for mobo and windows....


but it doesnt get hot at all just using cool down as a phrase...so with this said idk what ells to do...when i push boot (f12) it lets me choose options...when i pushf8 (had my girl do ti over the phone) it says something along the lines with two options, not your normal f8 commands..safe mode ..networking...ext ext... the two choses are something like this

1--boot up failed.. resume boot up
2--partion disk space "something something"

like i said i need more details for you guys but figured since im sitting here working id ask you guys... sorry for the lack of details any help would be great
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#6
boot failed. must be err on hardware, check your bios first and check is everything recognized?
check the chip too is that warm or cold, warm is good but hot is not good
if you can enter bios try to load default setting or if you too lazy just snap out the bios battery for a while and snap in again
try release the board off the case and check the board is there any strange
if it needs time before it could on i guess check your psu too
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,651
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
Is this the system in your system specs?

Be specific.

Does it post?
You mention a splash screen. MB Splash screen? Hit tab go to bios (Del) (F2) Does that load?

Windows 7 gives you an option if you have a failed boot. System recovery. Does that start up?
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#8
yes its in my specs....ill try to take battery out... it does have the MB splash screen as stated above... windows 7 doesnt give me an option like i said havent been able to mess with it..it states what i put above...ill have more infor soon, just wondering if its a type of problem that can be spoted right away lol LMK if ya need anything ells...