• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Control Continually Crashing on Intro

Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,413 (2.01/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
So, I bought the game because it looks cool and I have a 2080ti, so figured I'd get some RT FX.

But, after instal and starting the dx12 version, the game continually crashed, always with a device removed error. I did some googling before coming here and I've installed the 1903 Windows release, I'm running NV driver 436.30 (control recommended was 436.15). My Ryzen chipset is up-to-date enough that my 3700X runs perfectly. I'm trying to game on 2650x1440, though I tried 1080p prior to the 1903 upgrade.

I had errors on 1809 Windows version but even installing 1903, it's still crashing. Common error is: IDXGISwapChain : : ResizeBuffers: due to removed device

I have a feeling it may be resolution based but I'm unsure. I'll give 1080p a try in the meantime. I'll report back if that helps. I'm 99% sure it's a DX12 RTX issue and I do recall there were specific resolutions required on BFV.

EDIT: exact same crash on 1080p

EDIT: Launched via GeForce Experience on optimised settings - still crashes. Pretty much same place on the intro - when the foyer shot goes upside down, with the circular logo - game breaks. Error this time is: NativeBufferAllocatorlockBuffer staging Buffer Map: due to removed device.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,945 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,413 (2.01/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
that sounds like a graphics driver crash, try an earlier version of the NVIDIA drivers
Or the latest? It's DX12 and/or RT related. It runs past my sticking point in DX11.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,945 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Try latest, if it doesn't work, go back
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,413 (2.01/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Would you believe it? Unstable overclock.

In the intro, the fans don't even spin on my card - it's that cool. But I guess once the game engine kicks in (and before the card even heats up), the OC fails. I found that on a Reddit thread and a suggestion (albeit for another game) was an unstable OC. Ran at default on my 2080ti and, presto - it works.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,920 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

Any way of bypassing 0 fan using AB?

 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
877 (1.47/day)
Location
Cusp Of Mania, FL
System Name humble reentry to pc-building after too many years
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB [3600Mhz CL16]
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RTX 2060 OC
Storage 970 EVO 500GB nvme, 860 EVO 250GB SATA, Seagate Barracuda 1TB + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) 32" Samsung F395 [1080/60]
Case NZXT H710
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Sys, Vali 2, Scarlett 2i2 gen2 - LSR 305's, DT-990 Pro's, HD600's
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Would you believe it? Unstable overclock.

In the intro, the fans don't even spin on my card - it's that cool. But I guess once the game engine kicks in (and before the card even heats up), the OC fails. I found that on a Reddit thread and a suggestion (albeit for another game) was an unstable OC. Ran at default on my 2080ti and, presto - it works.
I actually had the same issue with a 2060. Moderate OC that works with any other new game, Control just takes a dump on. DX11 or DX12... doesn't care a bit.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,920 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I actually had the same issue with a 2060. Moderate OC that works with any other new game, Control just takes a dump on. DX11 or DX12... doesn't care a bit.
Report to MS and game dev
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
319 (0.38/day)
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Ti Ventus OC
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB 2x-500GB XPG SX8200 PRO 1 TB
Display(s) Acer Predator Z321QU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 750 Gold
I just ran it with my MSI Ventus 2080ti O.C. with the extra oc below. You should be able to run it directly from the DX12 exe without the store popping up.

msi.jpg
 
Top