• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Core i7 Very High Temperatures 50 idle

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#1
Hi everyone,

I bought an i7 early this year, and recently bought a megahalems.

The problem is the very high temperatures. I have the 930 overclocked to 4ghz @ 1.2685 volts.
Im sitting at 50 on core 0 idling, and go past 80 on 10 passes of linx. The motherboard is an X58A UD3R. Im sure the megahalems should be doing a better job than this..
I reseated the cooler at least 5 times, used different thermal compound and it still remains the same.. Then I used a friends Rampage 3 extreme, with a CM hyper 212, and still got higher temperatures than his 930 at the same settings (its also worth mentioning that my CPU would not run on the same settings as his).

So i came to the conclusion that I have bought I CPU from a bad batch/bin. The batch number is 3939c166. I took the megahalems and put it on a glass table and the bass wobbles. Prolimatech did state that it was purposly machined this way.

One thing i noticed is that everytime I took the cooler out, there wasnt much in the middle of the cpu, most of it was pushed to the side. Maybe the curves dont match on the CPU and Cooler..

Sorry for the long post :) Thanks in Advance
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Rakesh95 said:
I have the 930 overclocked to 4ghz @ 1.685 volts.
If that isn't a misprint, that is your problem. Way too many volts!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#3
1.685?!!!! holy crap your going to kill that i7.. if you havnt already damaged it....!!!!


1.45 is the specified maximum for the 45NM wolfdale dual cores.... i think 1.4 or 1.35 for the i7s
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#4
1.685?!!!! holy crap your going to kill that i7.. if you havnt already damaged it....!!!!


1.45 is the specified maximum for the 45NM wolfdale dual cores.... i think 1.4 or 1.35 for the i7s
Sorry guys Typo :) :facepalm: Do you guys think lapping is the solution?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#5
lol, so 1.26?
very respectible. what are your current Ambient temps?
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#6
lol, so 1.26?
very respectible. what are your current Ambient temps?
Its currently about 23 degrees celsius. I thought 1.26 would be Okay for me lol. I live in Melbourne if it helps :).
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#7
well if you have good airflow through your case.. then the temps seem a bit high... you could goto the effort of lapping it... persoanly i wouldnt.

its hitting 80 with linx so any other program should hit far less then that. 80 is on the higher side but within reson.

your not adding too much paste are you? could be the only other thing.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#8
well if you have good airflow through your case.. then the temps seem a bit high... you could goto the effort of lapping it... persoanly i wouldnt.

its hitting 80 with linx so any other program should hit far less then that. 80 is on the higher side but within reson.

your not adding too much paste are you? could be the only other thing.
I have a CM Storm Sniper at the moment, I've tried various methods of applying TIM. I also got some more experienced people to do it as well. I've never lapped anything, so I dont really want to lap the i7. But I might be able to lap the hs 'cause have access to a machine that could help me with it..Ill only have to do the fine 2000grit. The paste I used before was the one that came with the megahalems, thats all gone to waste now:( apparently they are as good as as5. Now im using really cheap CM paste, no temperature difference.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#9
if i had access to a machine that could lap the HS, you bet i would do it :D... i would also be very tempted to lap the i7 but thats just me... i would certainly lap my E7300.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#10
Yeah lol, makes it a whole lot easier. If I feel the need to take out the cooler and reseat it for my own curiosity, I will post some pictures. I really don't want to waste any more paste. Im gonna be buying some fans soon, dunno which ones, but hopefully that will help me solve the problem. Also, running WGC gives core 0 76 degrees.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#11
Can you "borrow" your friend`s cooler ? That would narrow down if it`s the chip or cooler.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#12
Can you "borrow" your friend`s cooler ? That would narrow down if it`s the chip or cooler.
yeah we already tried using his hyper 212, got slightly higher temps.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
Thats not unusually high temps for an i7 on air, a little high yes maybe, I have a C0 stepping 920 that I run 24/7 at 3.9Gig @ 1.27v and core 0 idles at around 40 - 42C, I use a TRUE 120 with 2 120mm fans in a push/pull config. perhaps your chip just runs a little warmer than average, I can bench at 4.2gig with HT on but mine gets a bit toasty at 1.4V but remember, the i7 has a high threashold.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#14
yeah thats right, mine is without a doubt a high temp chip, it also needs more volts than my friends, not the best batch.... We tried both CPU's on the exact same computer, and he got much lower temps. He got 72 while I got 80. This was on a bench setup.

Im sure I can get better temperatures... Maybe two new fans will help.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#15

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#16
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
726 (0.21/day)
Likes
35
Location
O'fallon Mo.
Processor Intel I7 4820k EK Supremacy Nickel Waterblock
Motherboard Asus Rasmpage IV Extreme
Cooling Alphacool UT60 560 Radiator
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16gb 2400
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 Heatkiller Waterblock - EK Backplate
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB
Display(s) LG 24" Flatron
Case Silerstone TJ11
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon 3Di
Power Supply XFX Pro 1000 Platimum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#17
Hi everyone,

I bought an i7 early this year, and recently bought a megahalems.

The problem is the very high temperatures. I have the 930 overclocked to 4ghz @ 1.2685 volts.
Im sitting at 50 on core 0 idling, and go past 80 on 10 passes of linx. The motherboard is an X58A UD3R. Im sure the megahalems should be doing a better job than this..
I reseated the cooler at least 5 times, used different thermal compound and it still remains the same.. Then I used a friends Rampage 3 extreme, with a CM hyper 212, and still got higher temperatures than his 930 at the same settings (its also worth mentioning that my CPU would not run on the same settings as his).

So i came to the conclusion that I have bought I CPU from a bad batch/bin. The batch number is 3939c166. I took the megahalems and put it on a glass table and the bass wobbles. Prolimatech did state that it was purposly machined this way.

One thing i noticed is that everytime I took the cooler out, there wasnt much in the middle of the cpu, most of it was pushed to the side. Maybe the curves dont match on the CPU and Cooler..

Sorry for the long post :) Thanks in Advance
sell the cpu on ebay and get a new one.
or
switch to water cooling.
or
lower overclock.
or
lapping will get you -5c or so
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#18

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#19
Yeah :(

sellings not an option unfortunatly, I might be lapping it. hoping two new fans will help. WC is gonna cost me too much, I will never underclock lol.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#20
This is the second time I've heard about certain i7's performing badly with certain mobo's:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1915835

Post #10

everytime the cpu starts to load be it bench or WCG wham! sut down. im like WTF!!!! again I try his cpu in my rig perfect, so I try my cpu in his rig, PERFECT!!!!! WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFF!!!!! if it was the board it would not work with my cpu, if it was the cpu it wouldnt work in my rig!!
There might be nothing wrong with your CPU, MOBO, Megahalem, etc., it might just be a combination of your board and CPU.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#21
This is the second time I've heard about certain i7's performing badly with certain mobo's:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1915835

Post #10



There might be nothing wrong with your CPU, MOBO, Megahalem, etc., it might just be a combination of your board and CPU.
Yeah, ive done a bit of a switcharoo with the processor.

CPU has been in my mobo, with two different thermal compounds. It has been in an R3E with a different cooler and is still hot, so its definatly the cpu
So I want to try and improve it the best I can.

Thanks everyone so far for your input.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#22
Then I used a friends Rampage 3 extreme, with a CM hyper 212, and still got higher temperatures than his 930 ...
Sorry, completely skipped that. Common Sense ->:nutkick:<- Me
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#23
lol, ambient temp right now is 16 c :shivers:

Idling at 35 avrg.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#24
I've seen i7 pass stability testing up to 102c with a true. It seems pretty temperature impervious and pretty insane at heat production. And I swear some of these chips just run hotter than others at the same settings and cooling arrangements. I don't think you'll see a stability related temp advantage unless you can keep it under 30c, otherwise it doesn't seem to care. So basically if it doesn't crash or shut off during stress testing it's fine, you won't ever get it that hot normally.
 

Rakesh95

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
205 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
System Name Cant think of one
Processor Intel Core i7 930 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
Cooling 3x 200mm, 1x120, 1x120 push for megahalem
Memory Kingston OC DDR3 1600MHz Cas 6
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 275 896mb
Storage 1x WD AV-GP 1 Terabyte(OS/bkup) 1x WD Caviar Green(Data) 1x WD Caviar Blue(MAC OSX 10.5.5
Display(s) Dell 22"
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) ALC889a
Power Supply Coolermaster Utimate Circute protection(UCP) 700
Software Wndows 7 and MAC OSX leopard
#25