• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corrupted Bios?

Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
I have updated my bios atleast 3-4 times, all'em were successful but currently i'm facing a new problem.
As i disabled secondry sata ports on my mother board using Integrated toolkit of Intel, i need to flash my bios again as the 2nd sata port on first lane has been occupied by my new gaming card, but after saving the custom bios update it doesn't let me update and i get error message similarly "Corrupted Bios or Invalid Hardware" but everything works absolutely fine on my pc (no bsod, no crashes, no hangs).
I cannot also update using Normal Bios Executable file.

Is it my new graphics card causing the issue?
Also, while playing the games temp goes upto like 70-75C, is that ok?

:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#2
Okay, we need to slow down a bit here, Vendor.

  • What component is reaching 70-75C?
  • Are your System Specs at the left up to date?
  • Do you mean you have a video card installed in your second PCI-Express x16 slot, or something else is occupying a SATA slot (for HDD/SSD/ODD)

Take a breath, TPU is here to help.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#3
1. It's my newly bought graphic card that's overheating during games.
2. Yes, they are. Although i can't use my DVD RW+ as secondary sata port lane was disabled by me during custom bios update to save memory usage.
3. I don't have a second pcie x16 slot on my pc, it's actually my new card that's occupying the space of 2nd sata port on first lane of my poor little motherboard and cabinet.

So as there are 2 sata ports lane (2x2) on my pc, 2 of them being disabled using custom bios update, one of them being unusable due to thupiee space occd by graphic card.
The Motherboard is too small, it's a micro atx. Evrything is just fucked like hell in there.
I could hard remove jumper and it was nightmare to remove the to disconnect and connect the sata port.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
i disabled secondry sata ports on my mother board using Integrated toolkit of Intel
Hi

are you not able to restore previous settings for the sata ports ?; in the same way modded the bios before using -

Intel® Integrator Toolkit

Installs Intel® Integrator Toolkit (ITK) version 5.0.0.544. ITK is a customization utility for PC OEMs and professional system integrators.

Just to be sure-

DH61 pic.jpg

Key: Yellow sata ports are blocked by Graphic Card & Red sata ports are disabled

Note: in passing; "custom bios update to save memory usage" you have 4Gb of RAM, most applications available other than adobe Photoshop, Premiere or a hand full or others will not use anywhere near that amount of memory. ? why you where trying to go in this direction

If you can still access you system bios at POST screen - try the following

Uninstall your MSI 6850 [so that you have access to your sata ports in yellow box ]
plug in your Sony DVD RW alongside your WD hdd
Enable and use your intagrated HD 2000 Graphics
and follow the instructions below (once you have your bios recovery "fingers crossed" fixed you can then reinstall your 6850)

This may help-

CAUTION
DO NOT POWER DOWN YOUR COMPUTER
before the update is complete. The update may take up to 5 minutes.

Recovering the BIOS

It is unlikely that anything will interrupt the BIOS update; however, if an interruption occurs, the BIOS could be damaged. Due to BIOS size and recovery requirements, a CD-R with the .BIO file in the root directory will be required.

You can obtain the Recovery BIOS Update file through your computer supplier or by navigating to the Intel Desktop Board DH61WW page on the Intel World Wide Web site Download Center at http://downloadcenter.intel.com

On the DH61WW page, click on the “BIOS Update” link and then select the Recovery BIOS Update file.

NOTE
For more information about updating the Intel Desktop Board BIOS or recovering from a BIOS update failure, go to http://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/CS-022312.htm

best of luck

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#5
70-75C for a 6850 is actually fine. Many higher-end graphics cards are just fine up to around 85-95C, believe it or not.

So help me understand about this custom BIOS update to save memory usage. Was that an official BIOS update from Intel? If not, and you're failing a BIOS flash going from your custom one to a stock one, then you may have a problem.

Have you tried using the jumper near the SATA ports to recover the BIOS (removing the jumper).

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us...ard-dh61ww-interactive-layout-demo-video.html
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
^ 1. It was the official bios update, it's downloaded from intel's website itself when we use ITK.
2. I resetted the jumper about an hour ago, now i will try to update bios again.

Could it be a physical defect on my mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#7
It probably wouldn't be a motherboard defect, but it could be a bad BIOS flash. You have a soldered on BIOS chip with 8 pins, I believe. You could contact Intel directly and run through their steps, and they may have you RMA the board, or they might be able to send you a new BIOS chip.

So let me make sure I understand what's happening. ITK is giving you an error while trying to re-enable the "red" SATA ports as marked by Law-II, right?

I have to run, but hopefully somebody else here will pick up where I left off and help you out. Best of luck!
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
It probably wouldn't be a motherboard defect, but it could be a bad BIOS flash. You have a soldered on BIOS chip with 8 pins, I believe. You could contact Intel directly and run through their steps, and they may have you RMA the board, or they might be able to send you a new BIOS chip.

So let me make sure I understand what's happening. ITK is giving you an error while trying to re-enable the "red" SATA ports as marked by Law-II, right?

I have to run, but hopefully somebody else here will pick up where I left off and help you out. Best of luck!
I would contact my manufacturer if i see any problem in installing the upcoming bios update from Intel, i hope they release a new update very soon and my problem sorts out.

Resetting the jumper didn't help, i will post on Intel Support Forum.
Thanks to Law-11 for his support as well.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#9
Best of luck to you, and please let us know in this thread if your issue gets resolved.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
I have updated my bios atleast 3-4 times, all'em were successful but currently i'm facing a new problem.
As i disabled secondry sata ports on my mother board using Integrated toolkit of Intel, i need to flash my bios again as the 2nd sata port on first lane has been occupied by my new gaming card, but after saving the custom bios update it doesn't let me update and i get error message similarly "Corrupted Bios or Invalid Hardware" but everything works absolutely fine on my pc (no bsod, no crashes, no hangs).
I cannot also update using Normal Bios Executable file.

Is it my new graphics card causing the issue?
Also, while playing the games temp goes upto like 70-75C, is that ok?

:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
Did you have a reason to update the bios? I ask because a lot of people update bios like GPU drivers. This is a VERY BAD habit. Only update your bios if you are having an issue. For example sometimes a vendor will release a bios for the soul purpose of a new CPU coming out it needs to support. However if you use an older CPU updating to this new bios it could cause conflicts and give you weird readings. I suspect you upgraded your bios to a Ivy Bridge bios and are still using a Sandy Bridge CPU. That could be your issue right there. Best solution is to downgrade your bios to the version that worked right.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
issue fixed, i just checked intel's site.. they released a new firmware and it installed successfully. Now Everything works fine, admin please close this thread now.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#12
We don't normally close threads, as if somebody has a similar issue, they can post here and everybody that has subscribed to the thread (default by posting in it) will see it in their User CP. Glad to hear the new firmware fixed your issue!
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#13
issue fixed, i just checked intel's site.. they released a new firmware and it installed successfully. Now Everything works fine, admin please close this thread now.
Hi

Great news; thanks for letting the TPU community know

atb

Law-II