• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600-CL18 OC for Ryzen 5 3600

Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
I've recently done a new build based on a Ryzen 5 3600. I haven't done any overclocking since the early 2000's, but as Zen CPU's pretty effectively OC themselves and can benefit from quick memory, I'm curious what I can get out of my RAM. Just for fun, btw, nothing too extravagant. I want to keep the system rock solid.
I paired the Ryzen 5 3600 with an Asus Prime X470-Pro, and spent slightly more on the RAM compared to an ordinary 3200MHz CL16 set: I went for a Corsair Vengeance LPX kit at 3600MHz CL18-22-22-42.
After reading up on RAM OC'ing a bit, I found the DRAM Calculator for Ryzen on TPU. Helpful tool, definitely! To figure out which chips are on the DIMMs, I used Thaiphoon Burned. It tells me it has Micron E dies.

This is what the calc suggests as safe settings:
DRAMCalc_3600_Safe.png
I started extremely conservative, and after a few iterations I currently have CL16, tRCDrd 19, tRCDwr 16, tRP 16, tRAS 36. Still at 1.35V btw.
I tried getting tRCDrd under 19, but I can't get the system completely stable, even after cranking up the voltage to 1.4V which the calc suggests as max.
The more secondary timings I pretty much left as is, for now. I had a little experiment with Trdwr, tFAW and ProcODT, but that miserably fails. I reverted them back to auto.

I'm looking for a little guidance here, how to progress...
What's the deal with the tRCDrd? How could I get it from 19 to the suggested 17. A higher voltage? Or do the other mentioned voltages in the calc play a role?
Secondly, how do I best test stability? I now use the MEMbench that comes with the calc as a quick 5min check. If there aren't any popups running the test, I do a +30min Prime95 run. No errors there I consider the settings stable.
How do I test whether a change actually improves performance, and with how much? Till now, I looked at the time MEMbench needs to run. I'm now at 300.14 sec. A little experiment moving from 3600 to 3733MHz actually resulted in a 1.5% perf loss: 304.66s. So is this a good tool to make an evaluation, or is there better out there?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,983 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
the TRFC is the timing you want to get as low as possible (400? less?).

I personally like stability testing with Forza Horizon 4 - drive around for about 30 mins followed by a few hours of aida stability test stressing memory.

I also like to test performance using Far Cry 5 benchmark (VERY latency sensitive) as well as AIDA 64 memory test.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
171 (0.50/day)
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450m DS3H
Cooling BeQuiet dark rock slim
Memory Crucial Ballistix sport 3000cl15 2x8@3733cl16 dram calc
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT blower
Storage WD green 480GB m.2
Display(s) Samsung S24F354
Case Cooler master Q300L
Power Supply EVGA GQ 650W
Software Windows 10 home 64
Some good News for you: tRCDRD and tRCDWR has very little impact to performance. tCL and tRFC on the other hand matters a lot. You may not notice any difference in games or apps what-so-ever With 18\19 on tRCDRD and tRCDWR, especially tRCDRD is really Close tied to stability and lowering it affects stability a lot.

My suggestion: Try 16-19-18-36 and try lowering tRFC (along With CL it is usually the value that affects gaming the most). Micron has the most problems With low tRFC, but maybe you can try 550, then lower to 500 etc. tRFC has a tendency to be totally stable at one value, if you lower it by 5, then you can`t boot all of a sudden.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
For tRFC I got a bit confused with what the calc suggested: 630 and alt 560. When I look in the BIOS (well, I should say UEFI) it's set to 'auto' with an actual value of 312 (and tRFC2 192, tRFC4 132). So, that's good, right? Lower is better for this one?
I can try to reduce CL to 15 or 14. I haven't tried anything lower than 16 so far. Any other timings I could focus on?

About the game tests. You should know I'm not a gamer, at all. Not since the early 2000's, like my previous OC experience. To run the FC5 benchmark, I assume you need to buy the game, right? Or can you download just the benchmark somewhere?
I already had a look at AIDA64 Extreme earlier this week, but I don't want to spend $40 on a license for this kind of thing. It would made more sense to have spent it on higher-spec RAM :rolleyes: The trial version only shows some of the values, so basically not that useful.
I'm looking for some freeware tool (at least something dirt cheap). Something like that MEMbench that comes with the calc. Or is it good enough to evaluate performance gain/loss?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
Blowing a little dust of this topic, cause I think I've reached the end of the line on tinkering with my RAM timings.
First of, next to the Ryzen DRAM Calc I also found some useful info and suggestions here and here. Maybe it can help someone else...
I kept track of my tests in a sheet. The timings in column BX is what I ended up with. Each iteration was tested with a Membench in Ryzen DRAM Calc (scores at the bottom) and 45-60mins of Prime95. If no errors popped up in those 2 tests I consider it to be stable.
Every few tests I also ran a run of TechArp's x264 HD Benchmark. The avg of 4 runs are also shown at the bottom. It's free, and you could say this is a real-world test. While Membench is more a synthetic test, I guess.
I left out some of my early tests, and all the failed tests. I tried tweaking every timing up to row 39 'power down enable', but those last ones I couldn't get to work without spawning errors.
CorsairVengeanceLPX_3600CL18timings.png

Now, what bothers me is that the timings in column BG have the highest score for the x264 test. I did further tweak some other timings, which resulted in a faster Membench run, but lower fps for x264 encoding. That's kinda contradictory... :confused:
2ndly, I also ran MemTest86 a few times, and even while bumping up the voltage to 1.45V I can't get it to pass 4 runs successfully. :mad: And this I take quite seriously. Stability stays the prime focus.

Anyone some advice? Why I could see a negative effect on the x264 encoding speed near the end?
For MemTest86 I think I'll just backtrack a few iterations, to eg column BG, and see if it passes those timings.
 

examen1996

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
@Freeco I want to thank you, I can even remember when I last signed in here, but for all the work you done and how much you helped me with my memory overclock I searched for my account and signed in just to say THANK YOU.

I got the same corsair ram stick (i searched for the product code and that's how i reached your post) and this is what I achieved after about a day of overclocking .
1579118920330.png
1579118944140.png



You work is admirable and highly appreciated, thank you for documenting it as meticulously as you did.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (3.54/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
Can you screenshot and post the following?

1579129208974.png

1579129241349.png

cachemem_25.png

First is Thaiphoon Burner software (click read and select 1 module)
For RyzenMaster please have the latest version
And AIDA64 is a paid benchmark (FYI) or you can run them individually...

HWiNFO_16_01_2020.png

Have your board's UEFI to the latest version(AGESA)
Win10 to the latest v1909
and latest Chipset drivers directly from AMD (not ASUS)
 
Last edited:

examen1996

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Hey @Zach_01
1579153225342.png
1579153297594.png

1579153409079.png


Above you have the requested info, also , I am running the latest bios from asus, latest chipset drivers from amd and ryzen master is also the latest iteration (I only got the machine last friday , so everything is new :)) )


Please let me know if you want to see anything else
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (3.54/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
You said you have R5 3600 and have it on your profile specs too, but from RyzenMaster and AIDA I can see the 3700X...
Whats the deal?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,408 (2.78/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
You said you have R5 3600 and have it on your profile specs too, but from RyzenMaster and AIDA I can see the 3700X...
Whats the deal?
Last guy is not the OP?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
you're welcome examen1996 :) Glad it helped someone.
And no, Chomiq, I'm the OP.
Should I also post screenshots??
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (3.54/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
you're welcome examen1996 :) Glad it helped someone.
And no, Chomiq, I'm the OP.
Should I also post screenshots??
If you like...
When I saw this thread yesterday I misread it for new one... and asked for pics since you asked for help...
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
Here you go then...
My trial period of AIDA64 already expired quite some time ago. These are the individual runs:
Memory Read: 52098 MB/s
Memory Write: 28730 MB/s
Memory Copy: 49448 MB/s
Memory Latency: 68.3 ns

ThaiphoonBurner.png RyzenMaster.png
AIDA64.png
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (3.54/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
From the RyzenMaster pic I see the CPU SOC voltage to 1.36V (!)
Is this correct I wonder? Did you set it or the board by itself?
From what I know the max safe 24/7 voltage for SOC is 1.25V and this 1.36V, if true, could hurt the I/O chip longterm
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,746 (1.96/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
From the RyzenMaster pic I see the CPU SOC voltage to 1.36V (!)
Is this correct I wonder? Did you set it or the board by itself?
From what I know the max safe 24/7 voltage for SOC is 1.25V and this 1.36V, if true, could hurt the I/O chip longterm
You mean the value for VDDCR SOC, right? Actually you make an interesting point...
No, I didn't change that in the UEFI settings, it's still on auto. All that's non-stock here is the DRAM voltage, which is set to 1.35V by applying the XMP profile.
20200119_102414.jpg
And basically all I changed are these DRAM timings:
20200119_102508.jpg
And further down the screen also the values for tRFC, tRFC2, tRFC4 and CR.

I'm curious why VDDCR SOC is reported to be so high. Cause it might be the reason why I hardly see the SOC power below 10W at idle.
I've built a slightly slimmed down desktop for my sister last month, also built around a Ryzen 5 3600, and on this one I see the SOC power goes down to 5W at idle.

It might just be Ryzen Master not showing the proper value. HWiNFO64 6.20 says SoC Voltage (SVI2 TFN) is at 1.087V. Or isn't that the same thing?
HWiNFO.png
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,236 (0.54/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO 250/230/230, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1866)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3733 14-15/9-13-26-36 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
I just manually locked SoC voltage to 1.1v on my board (same model)... More voltage =/= more stability for that one past that point.

Micron rev E runs very high RCDRD, and RCD generally doesn't scale with voltage so you can't expect that to become more stable.

As far as the performance regression goes, it might be caused by GDM going on or off. I would lock that to on and retest multiple times to reduce variance. Given that you say it doesn't pass memtest86, I'm inclined to believe that it's partially stable, not enough to crash, but enough to cause the benchmark to lose performance due to repeating things.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (3.54/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
SoC voltage SVI2 is the same but HWiNFO has even another value for this, in a section below that one (CPU VCORE SOC).
Around 1.05~1.1V is the default for ZEN2.
Must be wrong reading from RyzenMaster. It doesn’t show at all Memory and memVTT voltage. Is the latest version?
Make sure to have latest BIOS, latest chipset drivers from AMD (not ASUS), latest win10 version, and latest RyzenMaster version.

As for SOC power consumption mine also stays constantly around 12W but:
1. have disabled power savings for SOC (CPU Uncore/SoC OC Mode: enabled)
2. raised voltage for cLDO VDDP/VDDG

Your sister’s system what ram runs?
Ram speed, infinity fabric speed, mem controller speed... can all affect power of SOC.

Can you post a full page of HWiNFO?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,236 (0.54/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO 250/230/230, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1866)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3733 14-15/9-13-26-36 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
It doesn’t show at all Memory and memVTT voltage. Is the latest version?
Doesn't show on my X470 prime pro either (in ryzen master, and there is no DRAM voltage sensor shown in hwinfo either), presumably something with the board not exposing that sensor/controller.

I am getting around 11-12w on the SoC rail at the moment while running x-plane...
 

ocbenny

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Freeco, nice thread. I have the same memory as you do. Instead of letting ryzen dram calc to the xmp, did you try and export a html report from typhoon burner and import it to ryzen dram calc? Full instructions in the comments. I got all primary and secondary timings running today and tested out as in the video posted without error..

 

examen1996

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Coming back to this thread I have some questions that may sound stupid.
Have you ever encountered situations where like games (AC Odyssey and Witcher 3) start and run(and when you are playing them they wont crash, no matter how long you play them), however after some time, be it in idle, or just after some youtube you are not able to open them back up ?. And only those 2 .

I don't understand, passed the passmark memtest (left it to do all the runs) and ran prime95's blend(without avx) test for 2 hours, no errors or instability.
However , these 2 games behave strange. And now I ask you guys(since i don't have experience with ram oc), should I just revert to xmp ?

Memtest passes with flying colors, prime95 and aida64 also no problem, and never did I had stutters or games crashing on me . And also even when they don't start, others such as Forza horizon 4, work without problems.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
System Name Matisse
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 PCGH Edition
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 Silent Low Profile 2GB GDDR5
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2415 (2x)
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) Audioengine D3 USB DAC + Audioengine A5+ Black
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 11 450W
Mouse Logitech MX1100R Wireless Rechargeable Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro
AFAIK I have the latest Ryzen Master. When I let it check for updates, it says it's the latest version. The About page mentions 2.1.0.1424.
(it's a bit annoying AMD doesn't mention a version on the download page...)
Yeah, and I did install the latest BIOS for the board (5406 with agesa 1.0.0.4), and I have the chipset drivers from the AMD site (1.11.22.454). But I see last week 2.01.15.2138 was released. I'll install this in a moment.

Here's some screenshots from HWiNFO (I left out the bottom part for my SSD/GPU/NIC)
HWiNFO1.png
HWiNFO2.png HWiNFO3.png
(the good observer will notice I'm no gamer :laugh:)

The RAM in my sister's build is quite similar to mine. Also Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600MHz 18-22-22-42, but I believe it's a different SKU. If I remember well it had different IC's than my sticks. I left hers at XMP timings, as she's not the 'tinkerer' like I am :rolleyes:

ocbenny, what good would it do to export the report from TB and import that in Ryzen Calc?
 

examen1996

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
@Freeco The reason why importing the profile is ,,better'' is that you really put in your memory timing (auto reading is a bit off, usually some values are higher , some lower ), however, the numbers you ahve already reached (the low timings) are beyond the safe values , so you wont gain anything from it .

Below you can see the values with the imported(exported with taiphoon burner) profile:
1579636622963.png
 

examen1996

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
UPDATE: Just got back on my standard xmp profile, and the games that i sometimes have issues starting are still randomly not starting.
As said before, other games work fine, this + the fact that all my overclocks passed the 2h+ passmark memtest and my own prime blend 2h + make me think that the oc was actually stable, and that the issue is with some driver or with the games itself .

What do you guys think, every oppinion is reatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,408 (2.78/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Do you have the games running minimized on taskbar and they don't return to normal state or do they don't start at all? Some games act up when minimized so that's normal.
 
Top