• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crazy Asus Q-fan on P5Q Deluxe, please help.

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Okay, ever since I have started using my dad's Q6600. Every now and then, the computer will randomly spin all fans up to full speed. :wtf:
I'm using asus Q-fan on Turbo mode, as I've found that ramps the CPU fan up nicely with temps.
Talking of which, the Q6600's temps seems to be 10*C too low.

I have tried loads of different bios's. I'm really stumped as to what it is. I never had this on my E6600. Its almost like Q-fan suddenly shuts off. On some bioses, the CPu temp would shoot up by 20*C at the same time, but on the latest beta, the temp remains constant, just the fans that spin up.

It can be fixed by simply rebooting, but its damn annoying.

I know there is nothing wrong with the CPU temp sensor as it reports fine in another mobo. Funny thing is, the bios that the board shipped with made my E6600 temps 10*C too high, then after an update all was fine.

This rant prob doesnt make sense. I'll prob edit it as I re-read it and try to explain better.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

:toast:

P.S.
Note to the mods, although the title looks like its a mobo issue, I put it in gen HW cus its only doing this with the Q6600 and not the E6600, so I thought it could e either CPU, Mobo related (or other! :eek: )
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
I've just restarted after it did it again, now my CPU temp is about 20*C higher than it was. and about 10*C higher than it should be (based on Core temps).

Fans have spun down properly (except CPu fan cus of the CPU temp).

WTF is wrong ? :(
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Not deliberatly trying to bump this thread, lol.

But I've just flashed back to an early bios before a changelog about CPU temps, and now my CPU temp is being reported correctly! :D

Gonna leave it running and see what happens with Q-fan, if it behaves. Sucks though, cus I like having the latest bios's. :( And there is a bug with the boot logo, so that has had to be turned off.
I'm thinking I may head over to the Asus forums, see if I can talk to a mod about it.
 

ascstinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
544 (0.12/day)
Location
In a house
System Name F34R T3H 0R4NG3
Processor AMD Phenom II 945
Motherboard DFI DK 790gx LP JR
Cooling Scythe Mugen II
Memory G.SKILL Trident 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX260 Core216 55nm
Storage Western Digital 80gb Vraptor
Display(s) Westinghouse 19" LCD
Case Antec Mini P180 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply Antec Signature Series 650w
Software Vista x64 SP2
Is it just the processor fan ramping up, or every fan connected to the motherboard. Also, a bit unrelated, but if you're looking for a good bios, you may wish to check out ket's modded mbios's for the p5q, I believe he just put a new one up for the p5q deluxe

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=200109
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Is it just the processor fan ramping up, or every fan connected to the motherboard. Also, a bit unrelated, but if you're looking for a good bios, you may wish to check out ket's modded mbios's for the p5q, I believe he just put a new one up for the p5q deluxe

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=200109
Its not the fan ramping up. Randomly for no reason. All fans suddenly work at 100%. And stay there till I reboot.

All Ketxx's bios's are, are injecting different CPU/mem tables and a custom boot logo. It wont fix q-fan or CPU temps :(
 

ascstinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
544 (0.12/day)
Location
In a house
System Name F34R T3H 0R4NG3
Processor AMD Phenom II 945
Motherboard DFI DK 790gx LP JR
Cooling Scythe Mugen II
Memory G.SKILL Trident 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX260 Core216 55nm
Storage Western Digital 80gb Vraptor
Display(s) Westinghouse 19" LCD
Case Antec Mini P180 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply Antec Signature Series 650w
Software Vista x64 SP2
Yeah, I was aware about ketxx's bios, the only thing I did not know about, is if he completely overwrote the original table, replacing the original q6600 values and if that would have an impact on the results. TBH, the temperature monitoring for my dualcore was never right, I'm on a p5q-pro, and it is all over the place, too low on start and too high under load (compared to realtemp readings).

One thing I was thinking of, do you have any of the asus programs installed (EPU, or any of the tweaking programs). I never left them installed mostly due to the fact that I like to run as minimal of loaded programs as possible, but I know they have control over fan speed, and one might have something enabled, or be a bad install that ramps up the speed.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Yeah, I was aware about ketxx's bios, the only thing I did not know about, is if he completely overwrote the original table, replacing the original q6600 values and if that would have an impact on the results. TBH, the temperature monitoring for my dualcore was never right, I'm on a p5q-pro, and it is all over the place, too low on start and too high under load (compared to realtemp readings).

One thing I was thinking of, do you have any of the asus programs installed (EPU, or any of the tweaking programs). I never left them installed mostly due to the fact that I like to run as minimal of loaded programs as possible, but I know they have control over fan speed, and one might have something enabled, or be a bad install that ramps up the speed.
Dont have any of that asus software installed, dont want it interfering with my HW.

I hope its a bios bug not the q6600. but the reason it is fine, was to see if it would cause the same problems my dad was havinh with his PC. But afaik, a CPU either works or it doesnt. :(
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,287 (2.61/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Enable ACPI 2.0 if you haven't, seems to be more stable and accurate for CPU temp readouts in my experience. Though I don't use Q-Fan...the 120mm's currently on my Xig are prett quiet, the case fans on my Antec900 are set to medium (200mm set on hi), so noise isn't bad there...though the fan I'm upgrading to will be controlled by a Zalman FanMate2, the Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000RPM 133CFM 120x38mm beast...it is loud at full boar, but at at about 2k rpm/7v, it's pretty silent and still pumps out great airflow!

I would say run w/o Q-Fan unless you feel you really need it...I thought I did on older boards...but it's more of a gimmick to me then anything else...I set my fans to go at 50-100% manually, either by physical controller, pin-mod or just let them spin.

:toast:
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Enable ACPI 2.0 if you haven't, seems to be more stable and accurate for CPU temp readouts in my experience. Though I don't use Q-Fan...the 120mm's currently on my Xig are prett quiet, the case fans on my Antec900 are set to medium (200mm set on hi), so noise isn't bad there...though the fan I'm upgrading to will be controlled by a Zalman FanMate2, the Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000RPM 133CFM 120x38mm beast...it is loud at full boar, but at at about 2k rpm/7v, it's pretty silent and still pumps out great airflow!

I would say run w/o Q-Fan unless you feel you really need it...I thought I did on older boards...but it's more of a gimmick to me then anything else...I set my fans to go at 50-100% manually, either by physical controller, pin-mod or just let them spin.

:toast:
Its just the CPU fan I want on Q-fan really. If I still have problems, I'm bonna buy some 9.5v volt fan cables for the chassis fans.
One of the bearings has gone in one of my 140mm's and the only way to shut it up and still provide reasonable air flow is to run it on Q-fan.
I could return it under warranty, but I dont know if a noisy fan counts as a fault. :(
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,287 (2.61/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Its just the CPU fan I want on Q-fan really. If I still have problems, I'm bonna buy some 9.5v volt fan cables for the chassis fans.
One of the bearings has gone in one of my 140mm's and the only way to shut it up and still provide reasonable air flow is to run it on Q-fan.
I could return it under warranty, but I dont know if a noisy fan counts as a fault. :(
I have the same cooler...still running the stock fan on it...dude my fan isn't loud at 100%...at all. Maybe I got a bunk fan...then I stuck another 120mm on the other side of the cooler for push-pull because there's no way that OE fan from the Xig is moving 70+CFM...my Xig is set to exhaust vertically too though.

Plus after a while of messing with Abit's and Asus's bios fan control crap, I got sick of actually noticing my fans changing speed...I found one constant speed much easier to deal with and if I kept my CPU fan at 100%, case fans around 50-80%, my cooling was still plenty for my needs. I'd say take that fan in and complain, if it makes a noise, there's an issue...bearning failure, rubbing, who knows, they'll plug it in, hear it and replace it...if they don't, chuck it at em'! :p

Not saying controlling fans like you are is a bad thing, I just got sick of mine ramping up and down like I had 10 video cards in my rig lol, way more annoying than running every fan I have at full boar! I fix those too so that happens less or not at all lol!
 

ascstinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
544 (0.12/day)
Location
In a house
System Name F34R T3H 0R4NG3
Processor AMD Phenom II 945
Motherboard DFI DK 790gx LP JR
Cooling Scythe Mugen II
Memory G.SKILL Trident 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX260 Core216 55nm
Storage Western Digital 80gb Vraptor
Display(s) Westinghouse 19" LCD
Case Antec Mini P180 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply Antec Signature Series 650w
Software Vista x64 SP2
Never had a problem with mine, guess its just luck of the draw. Did have a HIS 3870 that constantly changed speeds, but no problems here with two chassis fans set on silent and the silent fan that came with my cooler on turbo.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
I have the same cooler...still running the stock fan on it...dude my fan isn't loud at 100%...at all. Maybe I got a bunk fan...then I stuck another 120mm on the other side of the cooler for push-pull because there's no way that OE fan from the Xig is moving 70+CFM...my Xig is set to exhaust vertically too though.

Plus after a while of messing with Abit's and Asus's bios fan control crap, I got sick of actually noticing my fans changing speed...I found one constant speed much easier to deal with and if I kept my CPU fan at 100%, case fans around 50-80%, my cooling was still plenty for my needs. I'd say take that fan in and complain, if it makes a noise, there's an issue...bearning failure, rubbing, who knows, they'll plug it in, hear it and replace it...if they don't, chuck it at em'! :p

Not saying controlling fans like you are is a bad thing, I just got sick of mine ramping up and down like I had 10 video cards in my rig lol, way more annoying than running every fan I have at full boar! I fix those too so that happens less or not at all lol!
Lol, it might be better when I get my new desk, but with my case right next to me on top of the desk, the faint whine of the Xigma fan on 100% gets to me when I'm surfing.

I bought the fan online, so its gonna be a royal PIA going through the RMA process, in which time, I'm down one fan :shadedshu

I will see if they can send out the 9.5v fan adaptors with the replacement fan (free shipping! :D )

What do you reckon about the CPU temp? I know its not that important, but its one of those things that bug me, lol. Atm, its eithe old bios, correcttemp, or new bios, wrong temp
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Q fan is still really buggy. i would recommend using a fan controller, run the fan at full speed or get a lower speed fan.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Q fan is still really buggy. i would recommend using a fan controller, run the fan at full speed or get a lower speed fan.
Could Q-fan be causing the temps to sometimes randomly go high?
I do have a fan controller, but I dont tend to use it to adjust speed, only set it.

Do you know what is the lowest voltage Q-fan uses? Would a 9.5v fan cable be similar?

:toast:
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
sorta... q fan waits till the cpu temp is at a certain temp before it will spin the fan up to a higher speed.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.67/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
sorta... q fan waits till the cpu temp is at a certain temp before it will spin the fan up to a higher speed.
Yeah but what happens:

I'm on TPU, surfing, gaming (can be anything)
All of sudden I hear fans go to maximum. And the faulty 140mm fan starts making an absolute racket. Look at my G15 display running everest and most times, all temps are normal, and havent changed, but all fans are at 100%. Sometimes the CPU temp will shoot up 20*C! :eek:

What really gets me though, is that Q-fan and temps were fine on my E6600 :wtf:
 
Top