1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crytek CryENGINE 3 to be On Display at This Year's GDC Expo

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,776 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,349
    Mine runs ok on mainstream but sucks if I go any higher.
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,172 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    US
    Maybe a better story and plot possibility's HAHAHA. Sorry but Crysis had the graphics but thats all it had IMO. The whole reason i did not get it as i am truly sick of games that are just graphics.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I like Crysis. I just don't like how it's nearly impossible to get a solid 50-60FPS.
     
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Wierd I play on very high and it gets choppy on mod levels with trillions of shit going on but thats it. Maybe there is something wrong with the xfire profile :confused:
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,776 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,349
    Your not the only one buddy.

    As you can see Shadowfold has the same issue as me.
     
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I'm not saying you don't have issues but its odd because you both have more powerful systems than me and are having trouble running crysis. :ohwell:
     
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,172 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    US
    Maybe because you have Intel Core2Quad q6600 @ 3.00 gigabastards lol...
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,776 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,349
    Your running a faster CPU and RAID 0. I bet thats it.
     
  9. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I haven't changed my specs in a while :p I'm not on raid anymore too much data loses and running at 2.4ghz to save power.

    Also my gpu is on a 4x pci-e slot because the other two slots are broken.

    I was wondering when someone would notice I wrote gigabastards :laugh:
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,776 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,349
    Isn't Crysis more CPU bound?
     
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Hell no its more gpu. I did a benchmark ages ago between the difference of 2.4ghz and 3.8 and it was 5fps. Wheres as oc'ing my gpu a little was alot more beneficial and a second gpu should boost it up at least 50%
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,776 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,349
    Hell if I know what the issue is then. I just did a clean install.
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,436 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,829
    Location:
    Florida
    my system at 1440x900 runs crysis at ~35-60 FPS but depending on scene crysis lol's at my system i think i get a steady 250FPS at the loading screen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. CheetoLover

    CheetoLover New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    146 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    crysis dosnt scale for shit, there was a screenshot that showed fps at 2 diffrent res's one very high and one low, same quility settings, the diffrance was like 5fps.......

    its just a playable demo of the engine..........horribly un-optimized at that.
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,436 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,829
    Location:
    Florida
    i agree if makes any diffirence i run 16 AA 16AF so i suppose 35-60FPS isnt bad. Considering
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You have quad 9800's, ofcourse it's gonna run good for you :p
     
  17. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    So true. Companies that develop for PC ONLY (unless they are MMORPG's) lose a shitload of money because of piracy. It is the entire reason Epic won't bring GOW2 to the PC. They don't even properly support GOW on the PC. :mad:

    I actually bought both Crysis and Crysis Warhead. Worth the money IMO.
     
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I do buy all my games too. I bought Crysis a few months after it came out and Warhead at launch. I just could never play them all that well.. I thought warhead was suppose to be optimized but they lied..
     
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,436 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,829
    Location:
    Florida
    lol :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia

    I actually agree.:toast:

    They are talking about the PS3 and 360 tho, But i dont think the new engine will be a huge improvment over Cry Engine 2. Crysis already looks really nice, just needs to be alot more optimized, which i hope they acvheve with this new engine.
     
  21. raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    679 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yes that's right Farcry2 was lacking the game play but it was very good looking .... i hope they're not gonna leave Dunia to die.

    and CryENGINE3 will make every body cry "on their PCs" then upgrade it.
     
  22. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    FarCry 2 maxed out, actually played much worse than Crysis maxed out in my PC, except the last boss in Crysis that would run at 15 fps at times (restarting tha game used to solve the issue for a period of time, a memory leak probably). Average frames were higher in FC2, but low frames were lower and MUCH more noticeable than in Crysis. Much less playable is a good summary.
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think Dunia is geared more towards ATi since I can run FC2 very well[1920x1080 4x AA 50-60fps all maxed](too bad I don't like the game all that much lol) but I only get 20-23fps in Crysis with 2x AA all maxed 1920x1080.
     
  24. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,697 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I'm actually worried that they will sacrifice pc graphics, to make the same format work on sub par console systems.
    I bought a pc because consoles couldn't compete.
    otherwise I'd have a ps3..lol..
    or xbox.. or both..

    if they start dumbing down things, so they work cross platforms.
    I won't be gaming on pc much longer.
    I hope that's not the case..
     
  25. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Warhead ran half as good as FC2 for me at lower settings

    Warhead-Mix of High/Med, 2xAA,4xAniso, 1280x1024-avg 22-25 fps
    FC2-Mix of Ultra/High, 4xAA,8xAniso,1440x900-avg 45-50fps

    :ohwell:

    oh and btw, im pretty sure your eyes can tell the difference between framerates, atleast i can tell the difference between 250fps and 125 in COD4. Could just be the q3 engine though, as it gets alot smoother at very high fps.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)