• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

DDR2 1066MHz or DDR3 1066MHz?

Choose:

  • DDR2 1066MHz

    Votes: 14 27.5%
  • DDR3 1066MHz

    Votes: 37 72.5%

  • Total voters
    51

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#26

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#27
DDR2 will give better performance due to timings, but DDR3 is easier short and long term.

running 4x sticks of DDR2 @ 1066MHz can be quite difficult on many systems, whereas the same with DDR3 is a walk in the park (and at MUCH lower voltages - so zero overheating concerns)


oh and yeah, flash drive method ftw... i tend to have 7 installed in under 15 minutes, and ready and gaming (thanks to my dedicated games drive) in less than 30m from a fresh format.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#29
wat an awsome thread i hav started. this thing is really confusing!
 
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
997 (0.24/day)
Likes
13
Location
Kentucky
System Name Sony Vaio - VGNFW390-CTO
Processor Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T9550 (2.66GHz)
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2-SDRAM (DDR2-800, 2GBx2)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3650 with 512MB vRAM (pitiful card)
Storage 320GB SATA Hard Disk Drive [7200 rpm]
Display(s) LCD 16.4" (XBRITE-FullHD™)
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX
Software Windows 7
#31
Btw, can I just point out have futile it is to say any computer hardware is "future proof"? There is no such thing anymore. Only future resistant.
 

Magikherbs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#32
My PII 550 was bottlenecking the ram ! At stock cpu 3.1ghz my memory would score about 900 on Passmark. Ive been Oc'd @3.5ghz, 1.3v, for the past 2 weeks and now and the scores are now 1030 hehe .. the performance boost is quite noticeable even though all Ive done is up the CPU multiplier. :rolleyes:
DDR3 ALL THE WAY !

Peace
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#33
I'm gonna go ahead and hit you with...DDR3.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#34
FYI my mobo can do DDR2 1300 all long with the right RAM. Its one of my mobos selling points.

 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#36

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#37
just because your mobo offers 1300MHz DDR2, doesnt mean its going to be easy. you have to OC to reach it, and you're only going to be able to do it witjh specific ram in two of the four slots of your board.


if you think it will be easy and that you can do it with 4 sticks, read the manual/specs more carefully - you've been duped by marketing.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#38
i know that very well, amd CPUs dot really support OC ing in all 4 slots. and hey, i just use only one slot now.
 

Magikherbs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#39
just because your mobo offers 1300MHz DDR2, doesnt mean its going to be easy. you have to OC to reach it, and you're only going to be able to do it witjh specific ram in two of the four slots of your board.


if you think it will be easy and that you can do it with 4 sticks, read the manual/specs more carefully - you've been duped by marketing.
When using the two dimms closest to the cpu, it is vital to have ram coolers w/ fans. The cpu has no room to breathe and depending on you tower/cirulation, your temps will drop at least 5-10C when you keep them vacant. Its also a bit odd that Asus recommends using dimms 0 and 1, then later mentions that dimms 3 and 4 are for better OC. Btw dimms 0 and 1 are set closest to the cpu which also makes me wonder lol.
Considering there is really no price difference, why no go DDR3 ? AM3 cpu's memory controllers run default DDR3 @1333mhz. DDR2 is 800, anything more you risk burning out your cpu. OC the cpu, not the memory.
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#40
DDR2-1066, because usually DDR2-1066 kits have lower latencies than DDR3-1066 kits (5-5-5-15 vs. 7-7-7-20)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#41
you guys know what?? i am still using DDR2 667 oc'd to 800MHz and i still dont feel the need to upgrade to 1066MHz./ anything.


i think the full potential of DDR3 will not be required in another 4years(maybe less). Till then DDR2 is good to go.
 

Magikherbs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#42
My ddr2 800 system scored the same as my new ddr3 gear, until I oc'd the cpu. While I was expecting the obvious jump in cpu scores, the memory scores surprised me abit b/c I did not think they would change much, if any.
I wish I had a Phenom II x4 to test with.
Is the cpu speed causing the bottleneck ? Or is it b/c Im only running 2 cores ?
If you are running a similar config as mine, I want to know what your Passmark memory and cpu scores are. At stock cpu 3.1ghz, appox. Passmark Cpu 2150, Memory 900.
Logic tells me, if the cpu speed is the cause, then those w/ 3-6 cores should be scoring about the same on the memory, as those w/ 2.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,110 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,541
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#43
My ddr2 800 system scored the same as my new ddr3 gear, until I oc'd the cpu. While I was expecting the obvious jump in cpu scores, the memory scores surprised me abit b/c I did not think they would change much, if any.
I wish I had a Phenom II x4 to test with.
Is the cpu speed causing the bottleneck ? Or is it b/c Im only running 2 cores ?
If you are running a similar config as mine, I want to know what your Passmark memory and cpu scores are. At stock cpu 3.1ghz, appox. Passmark Cpu 2150, Memory 900.
Logic tells me, if the cpu speed is the cause, then those w/ 3-6 cores should be scoring about the same on the memory, as those w/ 2.
running two cores is very likely, the cores DO share ram.

so 1600MHz ram has its bandwidth shared between your cores - you've got 1/3 the amount of cores i do, so you'd have a lot more room to spare before running into a bottlebeck there.

good observation tho, hadnt really occured to me before now.
 

Magikherbs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
366 (0.13/day)
Likes
91
#44
running two cores is very likely, the cores DO share ram.

so 1600MHz ram has its bandwidth shared between your cores - you've got 1/3 the amount of cores i do, so you'd have a lot more room to spare before running into a bottlebeck there.

good observation tho, hadnt really occured to me before now.
What cpu and memory scores do you get running Passmark ? DDR2 or 3, but both would be nice lol...
I am considering upping my oc to 3.7, soon, so we'll see if the memory performance boost stays constant. And with my crazy low temps, idle/load cpu was only 31/42C last night heh... who knows I may try for more :p
 

Attachments

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,580 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,913
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#45
DDR2 1066 is faster, but i would go DDR3 1066 or >. Just remember DDR2-1066 is just overclocked DDR2-800. Most if not all DDR2 kits will have to be manual set in BIOS from 800 to 1066.