• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Determining if I can use my product key for new build

Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
85 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
#1
So I currently have a Windows 8 Pro key that I bought in 2012 at Microsoft's official store for €30 (promotion for eligible people who had xp, vista, or win 7 - I had win 7), which further down the line gave me the free upgrade option to windows 10.

It's only been used on the computer I am using now (so only 1), and when I do "slmgr -dli" in cmd, the prompt shows: "Windows(R) Professional Edition, Description: Windows(R) Professional Edition, RETAIL channel, Partial Product Key: XXXXX, License Status: Licensed".

Question is: can I deactivate the key on this computer, and reactivate it on my to-be new build? Also, do I need my new windows 10 product key (if there is one - can't seem to find it on my computer), or do I just use the Win 8 Pro key that I have when I reactivate windows 10 for the new build?

Found an insane amount of conflicting information regarding this questions when I googled it, so I got no clue what website or article to believe.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,163 (3.80/day)
Likes
3,840
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#2
If it don't work, call MS and have them do it. Honestly I'd install the proper OS for that key and do the Win10 upgrade.

Inb4 people tell me that doesn't work when I can install my keyed Win7 and Win10 stays activated when installed. Never failed.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
85 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
#3
If it don't work, call MS and have them do it. Honestly I'd install the proper OS for that key and do the Win10 upgrade.

Inb4 people tell me that doesn't work when I can install my keyed Win7 and Win10 stays activated when installed. Never failed.
By "proper OS" do you mean I should install Windows 7 and then upgrade to windows 10 from that? Or can I just download win 10 from Microsoft's website, put it on a usb-stick, and install it directly?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,415 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,098
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
System Name Game Beast 3.1
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX II 120S + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X)
Memory Team Xtreem LV 2666 DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 280X Gaming 3G OC
Storage WD Black SATA-III 1TB + Lexar JumpDrive S23 USB 3.0 16GB
Display(s) RCA 32" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz + NOKIA 445Xi 21" CRT 1600x1200 75Hz
Case Oldy but a goody(ancient Dell ATX)
Audio Device(s) Not yet
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse LED Dell USB
Keyboard Non-mechanical Micron PS/2
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Heaven: 1128 Valley: 2265 Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2357 Fire Strike: 10490 Time Spy: 3208

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,663 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,202
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#5
Question is: can I deactivate the key on this computer, and reactivate it on my to-be new build? Also, do I need my new windows 10 product key (if there is one - can't seem to find it on my computer), or do I just use the Win 8 Pro key that I have when I reactivate windows 10 for the new build?
I just did a motherboard upgrade this morning on my Win10 install and used this guide:
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-re-activate-windows-10-after-hardware-change

It ended up getting stuck but I was able to open up a chat session with MS support and they took care of it for me in about 15 minutes. Have your product key and a picture of your motherboard receipt or of the box serial #/label ready before you initiate the chat session
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,163 (3.80/day)
Likes
3,840
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#6
By "proper OS" do you mean I should install Windows 7 and then upgrade to windows 10 from that? Or can I just download win 10 from Microsoft's website, put it on a usb-stick, and install it directly?
I mean use your 8.1 key and plop 10 on. I'm sure someone else has a better idea.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1,993 (0.52/day)
Likes
268
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
It will work if you have tied it to your ms account.

I've been in this situation due to platform swap -- worked without issue, installed windows 10 and if it asked for a key say activate later, and then log in with your ms account, do activation > use troubleshooter and state you changed hardware.

Also due to AM4 mobo bios not mature enough when my giga board released a bios with a lot of revisions/improvement my win 10 deactivated, I did the troubleshooter again and used the "changed hardware option" it took a while but with the same MS account I've used it activated itself.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1,993 (0.52/day)
Likes
268
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
I just did a motherboard upgrade this morning on my Win10 install and used this guide:
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-re-activate-windows-10-after-hardware-change

It ended up getting stuck but I was able to open up a chat session with MS support and they took care of it for me in about 15 minutes. Have your product key and a picture of your motherboard receipt or of the box serial #/label ready before you initiate the chat session
The chat session and their support is very fast! Kudos to MS on this one! I had to engage them on another computer about it! Without any other information other than mobo receipt and old legit win 7 key. It was sorted out very quick!
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,547 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
I'm not sure about that key working on W10 (try it) but "deactivating" a previous install isn't something that you ever have to do for Windows. If the key works on W10, but internet actvation fails, then calling MS will get it activated. Microsoft then relies on the user to wipe the previous install, which remains activated.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
85 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
#10
So reading through this it seems to me that it will only work if I specifically only change the motherboard of the build I'm using now? In my case, I'm building a whole new computer. Will it still work?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1,993 (0.52/day)
Likes
268
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
So reading through this it seems to me that it will only work if I specifically only change the motherboard of the build I'm using now? In my case, I'm building a whole new computer. Will it still work?
It should work if it's legit and follow what @MrGenius linked you.

It's considered as a major hardware change.
My situation came from AM3+ combo to a new ryzen build and it worked.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
If it has been long enough since you upgraded from 8.1 to 10, like over a year, you can just install Windows 10 fresh and when it asked you for a key, just put in your Windows 8.1 key. The Windows 10 installer will continue without an issue, and I can pretty much guarantee you Windows will activate once it is installed.