• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Doom 3 HD pack+ RELEASED!!

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#51
i didn't used to like Doom 3 when it came out. hyped too much and i had over expectations of it. but lately i've had this urge to want to replay it again, but i never found it actually scary,
I agree with you regarding vanilla, but with the better lighting and sounds, this mod scares the crap out of me.
I doubt that the quality of lighting is being properly conveyed on compressed ytube vids, but at 1920x1200 on my 26, this looks fine and gunfire and all the rest sound good.

The BFG edition sounds like a big wank without proper HD textures for D3 and RofE:banghead:
 

HeXen

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#52
well which would be better decision. Original with mods or BFG?
Sounds like its down to better gameplay vs graphics.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#53
well which would be better decision. Original with mods or BFG?
Sounds like its down to better gameplay vs graphics.
It will be a long long time until modders will catch up on the BFG edition with all the stuff they created for the original release. The source code will be released soon, and the tools are right there in the console, (so it looks like that HD textures are possible), but gamecode changes or proper multiplayer will be harder to do.

The new version doesn't look any better, you lose coop and all the other awesome goodies what the community created in many years, but it plays a lot better. That's the thing which can't be ignored here, the idtech5-ish responsiveness of the new version. It's just amazing how good this game feels and plays now. Playing the older version (or almost any other game whatsoever) immediately after the new one feels simply awkward, and you would agree to have 2x2pixel textures just to get the right feel back again. It's almost as good as how Rage felt, and this is the responsiveness what every other game should have.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#54
well which would be better decision. Original with mods or BFG?
Sounds like its down to better gameplay vs graphics.
Not sure how BFG can have better gameplay when both sound and lighting play such a big factor in the enjoyment of this game or any game for that matter.
If BFG did have HD textures, I would've bought it on launch.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#55
Not sure how BFG can have better gameplay when both sound and lighting play such a big factor in the enjoyment of this game or any game for that matter.
If BFG did have HD textures, I would've bought it on launch.
Wrong. The BFG blows the original out of the water. The game play is so much better, like it feels smooth especially when at 120FPS. I finished it last night, took approx: 10 hrs on Veteran, and now I am doing the lost mission, this mission is dam scarier than the original. A lot of gotcha ya moments :laugh:

If you compare the Original vs. BFG all stock with no mods, the BFG looks and plays better.
Eventually we will have the ability to apply textures to the BFG. Either way the Lost Mission alone is worth the upgrade IMO.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#56
Noob question: did they fix the game for widescreens without needing config tweaks that stretch things out?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#57
Noob question: did they fix the game for widescreens without needing config tweaks that stretch things out?
+1, 1600x1200 is unacceptable. I am sure they have fixed it in the BFG edition, but what about the modded?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#58

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#59
Wrong. The BFG blows the original out of the water.
It may well do so, but I'm referring to THIS modded version which also slays the original.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#60
+1, 1600x1200 is unacceptable. I am sure they have fixed it in the BFG edition, but what about the modded?
1920x1200 with this mod.:toast:
 

JKnows

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#61
So can I install this mod for BFG version? And How could I run timedemo benchmark to see which version is faster on computer.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#62
OK, it looks like they didn't really fix it for widescreens:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=48519&d=1348264481

Look at the crosshairs. I'll pass.
Don't know where did you get the picture what you linked, but wide screen is fully supported now in the BFG edition. I'm also not really sure what you meant about the old version, because it only stretched the HUD elements (e.g.: crosshair), but the aspect ratio of the 3D geometry was "OK". You just simply had to set seta r_aspectRatio "1" in the console, and that made it 16:9 or seta r_aspectRatio "2" and that forced 16:10.

With the old version, a shortcut like this produces the 1080p screen below:
doom3.exe +set r_customwidth 1920 +set r_customheight 1080 +set r_aspectRatio 1 +set r_mode -1

(note: I put a screenshot from the BFG edition next to it, so you can see that the HUD is not stretched anymore)

So can I install this mod for BFG version? And How could I run timedemo benchmark to see which version is faster on computer.
No you can't, the BFG edition is not compatible with Doom3 mods:/
 

Attachments

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#63
Don't know where did you get the picture what you linked, but wide screen is fully supported now in the BFG edition. I'm also not really sure what you meant about the old version, because it only stretched the HUD elements (e.g.: crosshair), but the aspect ratio of the 3D geometry was "OK". You just simply had to set seta r_aspectRatio "1" in the console, and that made it 16:9 or seta r_aspectRatio "2" and that forced 16:10.

With the old version, a shortcut like this produces the 1080p screen below:
doom3.exe +set r_customwidth 1920 +set r_customheight 1080 +set r_aspectRatio 1 +set r_mode -1

(note: I put a screenshot from the BFG edition next to it, so you can see that the HUD is not stretched anymore)
I found that picture in this thread, and I'm not talking about BFG Edition, but this new mod in the OP.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#64
I found that picture in this thread, and I'm not talking about BFG Edition, but this new mod in the OP.
Ah ok, sorry. Yes you can't fix the stretched HUD in the original without adding some extra code or gfx which this mod lacks apparetnly, but the screenies look really great, it's tempting.
I think I will download it on the next weekend and see how it looks when it moves. My only concern is that I will have to deal with sikkmod again. I still use that separately in my current doom3 install, and I remember that the configuration was very time consuming. You add a little (0.05-ish) ambient light, a little ambient occlusion, a little HDR, a little gaussian soft shadows, a little color grading, etc ...and you suddenly end up with 20fps, so you have to start all over again:)
 

HeXen

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#65
call me retarded, but i was going back n forth between you're pics you thumbnailed, and the doom3.jpg looks better than bfgedition.jpeg. Is the first one modded?

i kinda want this game, but torn between graphics....anyone have Original modded vs BFG pics compared? if its not too much difference i'd get the BFG
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#66
call me retarded, but i was going back n forth between you're pics you thumbnailed, and the doom3.jpg looks better than bfgedition.jpeg. Is the first one modded?
G
If you're referring to THIS modded version, then yes, it will look better than BFG as BFG didn't do much at all with textures, only brightened the environment+ allowed for 120fps.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,611 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,486
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#67
Here is the blog from Bethesda regarding the release of the GPL Source Code for the BFG version:

Bethesda blog said:
For players with the BFG Edition of the game, you’ll be happy to know that we’ll be releasing the GPL source code in the near future. Stay tuned for updates.
http://www.bethblog.com/

This seemed to be just released today regarding this. They also announced that the original release of Doom 3 and Resurrection of Evil is available on Steam again.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#69
EVERYTHING, and I mean Everything, looks like it is covered in candle-wax.

And it still didnt solve the lighting issues... I know this game was meant to be a overly-dark overly-shadowed monster spawn jump out, but this gameplay didnt improve a lot. That's the problem with graphics mods... unless gameplay can also be tweaked... you are spending a lot of time on candy but gameplay stays stuck.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#70
EVERYTHING, and I mean Everything, looks like it is covered in candle-wax.
You guys could perhaps try the latest SIKKMOD build. It has endless awesome graphical options to play with, and 16:9 resolutions and menus as well (some minor graphics elements are still fixed at 4:3 tho, but nothing annoying imo).


That's the problem with graphics mods... unless gameplay can also be tweaked... you are spending a lot of time on candy but gameplay stays stuck.
Doom3 is a horror/corridor shooter! How is it the fault of the game that you are expecting something else?. Play it maxed out FULLHD on nightmare difficulty in a dark room with some decent soundcard and a good head-phone, and you will understand that it can provide some great fun;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#71
Original DOOM 3 Nodded looks better than BFG, but I would still buy the BFG Edition because it supports real High Definition, 120fps, runs much smoother, brighter and has the lost mission with that Double Barrel Shotgun which IMO is the second most powerful gun in the game next to the BFG gun.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#72
Original DOOM 3 Nodded looks better than BFG, but I would still buy the BFG Edition because it supports real High Definition, 120fps, runs much smoother, brighter and has the lost mission with that Double Barrel Shotgun which IMO is the second most powerful gun in the game next to the BFG gun.
Both version supports the same set of resolutions, you just need mods for the first one, and it's not brighter nor it runs smoother if you have a fast PC. The 120fps and the Lost mission+shotgun part are valid points, but the rest is just simply not true. We are not Xbox360 players who know nothing about mods are graphics options. You continuously keep spreading these false infos, even after you acknowledged several times that you understand that they are not true.:shadedshu

With the original version, you get graphics mods with gorgeous texture packs and up to date visuals, awesome maps and custom campaigns, total conversions, online coop multiplayer (which is the best of all), etc. The list is endless while you give up all of that, to get 120fps + 3D support, a single custom campaign, some idtech5 stuff (like faster loading and better code optimization) as a return with the new version.
These are the facts. Both version has its own advantages and disadvantages, that is all.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,900 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,568
#73
Did anyone install Update 1 for BFG edition? I have a few questions, maybe someone might have an answer.

Here's a snippet from release notes:

All projectiles cast shadows
Added option to force v-sync (instead of “smart v-sync”)
Adjusted default brightness value
Variable FOV settings options were added into the main menu
Allow setting anti-aliasing up to 16x on Nvidia hardware. AMD/Intel cap is at 8x
Added option to disable checkpoints
I haven't noticed any projectiles' shadows :confused:
I don't care about v-sync so I left it "smart"
Didn't notice any changes in default brightness, and what was wrong with it in the first place? :confused:
Now more FOV settings, it's ok.
I don't care that much about AA, I definitely don't need 16x but it's a nice addition.
Why disable checkpoints? They won't hurt.

They also said that they added shadow fx to the flashlight. What the hell can that mean? :confused: Seriously, flashlights supposed to shed light not cast shadows lol. Anyway I didn't notice any "shadows" at all with that option turned on.

However patch fixed some annoying bugs such as:

Fixed blood splatter effects break after reloading save game
Fixed broken view nodal code that allowed players to see through the world by backing into a wall and looking up
I remember those annoying glitches. Installing this patch was a good idea even though some of the things are still confusing.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#74
First of all:
flashlights supposed to shed light not cast shadows lol
I don't even.....:) It's just the way how the 3D industry refers to this phenomenon. It's not the light casting the shadows but the objects and surfaces lit by the light ofc, but they still associate the "shadow casting property" with the light involved in the shadow calculation,. In real life everything works by the law of physics, but in a 3D engine, you have to calculate and rasterize everything, and programmers don't calculate all the shadows if you can't see some of them or if some are not needed for certain reasons (see bellow for more)

I don't care that much about AA, I definitely don't need 16x but it's a nice addition.
Idtech5 only supports 4xAF, and (iirc) forcing it to more even from the drivers won't do anything. Since the game is super-optimized now and runs fluid on just about anything (mostly thanks to the new idtech5 renderer and the GPU skinning), I think that any options which can increase the detail are welcome by the PC gamers with newer/stronger hardware. Probably it was very easy to add this modifications, so they did it to counter the fixed lower AF.

Why disable checkpoints? They won't hurt.
Doom3 is a horror-corridor shooter, which means that it can get repetitive very fast if the tension/adrenalin drops (same enemies on similar corridors, same task... etc), so it's only really fun if you play it on the hardest settings and if the game punishes you for every little mistake you make. The game just simply fails to deliver fun if you play it on easy settings imho. They already added more ammo and health into the BFG edition to make it playable for the console gamers and that combined with the checkpoints made the game super easy even on the Nightmare level, so an option to disable the checkpoints is nice.

Didn't notice any changes in default brightness, and what was wrong with it in the first place? :confused:
The BFG edition was too bright indeed, but I also did not notice any change, so it was probably a minor tweak.

They also said that they added shadow fx to the flashlight. What the hell can that mean? .............Anyway I didn't notice any "shadows" at all with that option turned on.
..........................
I haven't noticed any projectiles' shadows :confused:
Shadows can be only seen on lit surfaces. idtech4 doesn't support ambient lighting or partial/soft shadows, so if a surface is inside a dark shadowed area, it will appears totally black, you won't see it without a light, - and because of that - if a shadow is casted onto a shadowed (black) area, you won't see anything about that either, since it's not possible to distinguish black from black.
The flashlight was moved to the left side on the BFG edition, and (probably because of the console versions) it did not cast any shadows to make it less demanding GPU wise. While it was possible to turn on the shadows with some console witchery, but even than, the shadows would have still originated from an imaginary lamp on the weapon side of your body (from the right, like in the original doom3), and not from the new location on your left, so they had to fix that too. It's casting shadows now indeed, it's just hard to notice sometimes because your own POV is almost the same.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,900 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,568
#75
I don't even.....:) It's just the way how the 3D industry refers to this phenomenon. It's not the light casting the shadows but the objects and surfaces lit by the light ofc, but they still associate the "shadow casting property" with the light involved in the shadow calculation,. In real life everything works by the law of physics, but in a 3D engine, you have to calculate and rasterize everything, and programmers don't calculate all the shadows if you can't see some of them or if some are not needed for certain reasons (see bellow for more)
I understand it, that's why I wondered. In real life lack of lighting = darkness and lack of heat = cold.

And thank you for your detailed explanation :)