• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DVDRW makes entire pc unresponsive

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.12/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#1
I have burned about 8 DVD's in the past 3 days without error..

But when I went to install borderlands the pc became very slow.. so i walked away for an hour and came back and it was almost done.. cpu usage under 10%

Then now im trying to install another game and as soon as it begins to install the entire pc become slooooow.. as soon as I cancel install the pc comes back to life.. cpu usage never over 10%

I uninstalled in device manager and allowed it to reinstall the driver.. no fix.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what may be happening?
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#2
Tried updating firmware?

To me, sounds like a dying drive. I've had heaps of drives that lock the computer up completely when installing/burning (when the drive is on its last legs). I dunno, they just don't make 'em like they used to.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
worked on your PC lately? is the cable loose? does the drive loud?
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.12/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#4
well, i just uninstalled dataram and rebooted.. now its installing without a hitch. I wonder why dataram fucking TKO'd that drive like that?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.38/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
#5
just got this drive in trade..

it did come in a flat rate box without any padding.. could bunk'd it?

At first i thought it could be my ramdisk at a heaping 256mb... so i defaulted all the temp folders and closed the ramdisk and still the same problem.

burning works great.. i guess its reading.. i can burn a dvd and play 3 different games windowed if i want.. but as soon as i use it to install.. everythign is on a 30 second delay
Yes its the shipping that most likely killed it. Why would someone ship without padding. Thats really sloppy. :(
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
intresting sounds like a focus range problem. like it can get to the focus point to burn but it seems like ita having trouble focusing for read ops. but not sure id say it may have gotten bumped and now its off 0
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
un installed what?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#12
only time i get BSOD is if I run mem tighter than 666-18... other than that.. ive never seena bsod on this machine
intresting and no power owtages or any other type of instant power down?
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.12/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#13
nah the pc was up for about 1.5 days.. first reboot was 10 minutes ago.. but prior to me installing the game the 1st time i was running circles around aps.. then once i fired up the drive to install.. it choked.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#14
nah the pc was up for about 1.5 days.. first reboot was 10 minutes ago.. but prior to me installing the game the 1st time i was running circles around aps.. then once i fired up the drive to install.. it choked.
hmmmm well im not too keen on ram disks but id advise the following from my SCSI exp and my SCSI controller card.
r card if you can
first id test the stick of ram you use for the card if you can.

second id try reinstalling it and going to properties (hardware properties) and seeing if theirs anything you can adjust here. but thats all i can suggest as im not that good at ram disks.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.12/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#15
i think that the installation was using the ram disk to write temporary files for installation.. and since the ramdisk was so small it was causing some sort of error.. and not completely crashing..

thats all i can think of.. cuz the ram disk available space would dip really low everytime i started to install from dvdrw/disk

now that the cd has a larger amount of space for temp files and ramdisk is uninstalled there arent any problems.

im only speculating though.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,377 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,290
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#16
i think that the installation was using the ram disk to write temporary files for installation.. and since the ramdisk was so small it was causing some sort of error.. and not completely crashing..

thats all i can think of.. cuz the ram disk available space would dip really low everytime i started to install from dvdrw/disk

now that the cd has a larger amount of space for temp files and ramdisk is uninstalled there arent any problems.

im only speculating though.
its a possability though it doesnt explain why its happneing now...unless you had a pagefile on your HDD's at the same time. id try with a bigger stick of ram if you could if not try running a page file on an HDD and the ram disk. maybe making the pae file a fracion of however big your ram disk is...for example

your ram disk is 512mb

try making the page file on the HDD 128

if its 256 try a page file of 64 see if that fixes some things.