• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DX12 to Vulkan MOD for older GPUs on Windows

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
This MOD might help older GPUs that support Vulkan API to run newer games on Windows 8+ ( better to try it on WIN 10 / 11 ) or might help to get a FPS boost in some situations.
What this MOD will do is that it will make DX12 games to run on Vulkan API. DO NOT EXPECT MIRACLES!! IT MIGHT JUST NOT RUN AT ALL OR RUN WORSE!
The files from this MOD are mainly intended to be used under Linux to make DX12 games work but we can use them under Windows using this MOD/repack.
This MOD is only for DX12 games , for DX11/10/9 games you should get the files directly from github (dxvk.. etc , use the links below).

The main reason i tested this is to see if i can make Alan Wake 2 to work better (playable , 30fps+) on older / unsupported cards like 1080TI.
It was tested only by a few people so far , it seems that 1080TI got a 50%+ FPS boost in Alan Wake 2 - low preset (22 fps to 37 fps)
Using it with my RTX 2060 Super showed only a small performance increase in Alan Wake 2 (~5 -6 fps) but some users reported 50% fps uplift using the MOD with DLDSR/FSR on RTX 20 series.

Speculation: the FPS boost using this MOD in Alan Wake 2 might be only because with the MOD Post Processing Quality is completely disabled (minimum setting is LOW in the game with DX12 , is gray out when using the MOD), maybe Vulkan API helps too, i dont know.
More about this (I might have been wrong): https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5132177

Tested so far:
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/alan-wake-ii-on-gtx-1080ti.315209/post-5131203 (1080ti - 22 fps to 37 fps - 50%+ increase) -- the idea for this MOD/repack started here.
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/dx12-to-vulkan-mod-for-older-gpus.315239/post-5131472 (1070 - 15-20 fps to 30-40 -100% increase)
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/dx12-to-vulkan-mod-for-older-gpus.315239/post-5131464 (1080ti - 33-24 to 21-18 - 50%+ DROP)
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5131894 (1080 - bump from 20 to 25 fps at low settings 3840x2160 FSR performance)
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5131678 (1070 - 16-20fps (begin of game forest FBI) to like 25-28)
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5133165 (1050ti - 5-6fps more - before it was 10-12 now it's 16-18 )
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5134683 (RTX 2070 - DLDSR 1.78 (1440p) DLSS 720p - 55 fps / MOD DLDSR 1.78 FSR 720p - 75 fps)
* https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5134754 (1080 TI - x2 frames 21fps to 41fps - In some more "heavy" scenes from 15 fps to 25)

* people reported that it doesnt work with AMD GPUs in Alan Wake 2 (not sure about other games), maybe some incompatibility with Vulkan drivers on AMD? it seems to work on Linux but not on Windows. (we should wait for newer DLLs / AMD drivers? try older DLLs or drivers?)
* seems that the MOD will work in Alan Wake 2 with Adrenalin 23.9.1 driver and RX6800 (crash after Remedy Logo on Vega , Polaris , RX5600xt and 5700xt ) - https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5131804
*** it doesnt seem to work with "MESA drivers for Windows" on AMD GPUs - https://github.com/pal1000/mesa-dist-win (**Vulkan driver for AMD graphics (radv) is no longer available since 22.1.0**), tested only with RADEON VII so far : https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...for-older-gpus-on-windows.315239/post-5136326

Some info about the performance under LINUX for AMD GPUs reported by some users on github:
"Given the game seems to reach even 60 fps on 5700 XT on Linux, as opposed to Window's ~30, you'd be better of trying it on Linux.
Polaris GCN4 seems to be absolutely DOA on this game, but Vega reaches ~17 fps on 1080p Low, FSR2 Quality? You'd probably reach 30 on Linux, maybe with a more agresive upscale.
VKD3D doesn't really work on AMD GPUs on Windows, as opposed to Nvidia, for some reason"
*** all of the tests/benchmarks infos were reported by other users and not tested by me.

What i did to make this work is getting the dxgi.dll (from dxvk-2.3.tar or dxvk-async-2.0.tar or dxvk-gplasync-v2.3-1.tar.gz) and d3d12.dll + d3d12core.dll (from vkd3d-proton-2.10.tar) and moved them into the game folder. Uploaded dxvk.conf as a separate file for who wants to play with some settings (copy it in the game folder), changing the settings on my RTX 2060 Super didnt seem to have any effect on performance in AW2.
In the future you should always check the links provided below for newer versions of the DLLs , they might fix some problems and increase performance (or not).

I uploaded zipped files containing all the files needed (just unzip/copy the files inside the game folder), you can download them from here or you can get them from the official gits, you should test all versions before getting to a conclusion. ( DX2Vulkan - gplasync version might help fix the stutters for some users )

If you will like to try it please post your GPU info + game you are testing it on + the performance before and after applying the mod, some screenshots/vids will also be nice.

dxvk-2.3.tar: https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases
vkd3d-proton-2.10.tar: https://github.com/HansKristian-Work/vkd3d-proton
dxvk-async-2.0.tar: https://github.com/Sporif/dxvk-async/releases
dxvk-gplasync-v2.3-1.tar.gz: https://gitlab.com/Ph42oN/dxvk-gplasync ( thanks @paokkerkir for the info )

Some things you can try if the game doesnt start / poor performance:
*the files provided here are not made by me, i only put them together as a working drop in for Windows OS and you should check the devs githubs for more info but ill try help as much as i can / know.

1.) Change to DXGI swapchain method in the Nvidia control panel. ( i am not sure where is this setting on AMD or if it exists)


2) Disable NVIDIA OVERLAY (or any overlay you might have) , it worked fixing the startup crash for some people.
3) Try all the files / versions as there might be a FPS difference and also some versions may not work while others may work.
4) The zips i made are only for 64BIT versions of Windows , if it doesnt work maybe you are on 32bit?
5) Opening the Game for the first time after adding the MOD performance might be bad till shaders get cached.
6) You should delete the cache / shader cache after installing / reinstalling the mod (vkd3d-proton.cache from the game folder, etc. )
7) Install visual-c-redistributable package from: https://www.techpowerup.com/download/visual-c-redistributable-runtime-package-all-in-one
8) Make sure you have Vulkan drivers installed (they usually come with normal drivers), also you can try an older version of the drivers or reinstall them.
9) Change settings in dxvk.conf , copy dxvk.conf in the game folder if its not already there and play with the settings if you want. (try without dxvk.conf too)

You can also try adding this in dxvk.conf (you can change from False to True if it doesnt work):

dxgi.customDeviceId = 24c9
dxgi.customVendorId = 10de
dxgi.hideNvidiaGpu = False
dxgi.emulateUMA = False

**NEW - DX2Vulkan - gplasync - vkd3d-proton-2.11.1.zip (last file) -- updated with vkd3d-proton-2.11.1 (new DX12 DLLs, 01/01/24) --not tested but maybe it works better, the changelogs from the last versions look promising.

Enjoy testing and playing with all of this stuff , hope it will help some of you!
 

Attachments

  • DX2Vulkan.zip
    2 MB · Views: 3,393
  • DX2Vulkan Async.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 2,401
  • DX2Vulkan - gplasync.zip
    2 MB · Views: 2,658
  • dxvk.conf.zip
    5.9 KB · Views: 1,711
  • DX2Vulkan - gplasync - vkd3d-proton-2.11.1.zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 459
Last edited:

Crackhead

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
1698666959762.png


I want to use this, but when I start the game, a black screen appears or the game closes(i use gtx 1070)
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
View attachment 319493

I want to use this, but when I start the game, a black screen appears or the game closes(i use gtx 1070)
What Windows version are you using? Can you post AlanWake2_dxgi.log?

Try and install the latest Nvidia driver and reboot, it seems that is working for others so i am not sure why it doesnt for you, i see you have a cracked version of the game , maybe its a bad version:) I also see that you have v1.0.6 update , i only tested on the first version of the game.

Also delete vkd3d-proton.cache and AlanWake2_dxgi before you try again.

Edit: do you have visual-c-redistributable package installed?

I tested with the latest patch , its working here so we can rule that out.
 
Last edited:

type7

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
4 (0.03/day)
I've tried those files with my RX 5700 XT on Win 11, but the game didn't start after adding them. Any suggestions? Maybe there's something that would make it work.

Maybe crashing after mesh shaders warning window has something to do with me using nimez drivers, I've previously installed them to see if I would get any performance gains in AW2 (spoiler: I wouldn't)

Game verision is 1.06, maybe I will try downgrading later.
 

Crackhead

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
What Windows version are you using? Can you post AlanWake2_dxgi.log?

Try and install the latest Nvidia driver and reboot, it seems that is working for others so i am not sure why it doesnt for you, i see you have a cracked version of the game , maybe its a bad version:) I also see that you have v1.0.6 update , i only tested on the first version of the game.

Also delete vkd3d-proton.cache and AlanWake2_dxgi before you try again.

Edit: do you have visual-c-redistributable package installed?

I tested with the latest patch , its working here so we can rule that out.
I updated Visual C++ using your link, I have the latest version of the nvidia video driver, I deleted the cache and log before trying, the result is a black screen
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
I've tried those files with my RX 5700 XT on Win 11, but the game didn't start after adding them. Any suggestions? Maybe there's something that would make it work.

Maybe crashing after mesh shaders warning window has something to do with me using nimez drivers, I've previously installed them to see if I would get any performance gains in AW2 (spoiler: I wouldn't)

Game verision is 1.06, maybe I will try downgrading later.
Its working with v1.06 , i just tested.

I updated Visual C++ using your link, I have the latest version of the nvidia video driver, I deleted the cache and log before trying, the result is a black screen
What Windows version are you using? Can you post AlanWake2_dxgi.log?
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
Try installing this also , seems that might be a problem in your sistem , i have to dig a bit, if its working on 1080TI shoudnt be any reason not to work on 1070.

Did you test both versions of the MOD?

Besides trying to give uninstalling RTSS a shot i would also look to disable any other overlays like Nvidia and such.
 
Last edited:

dante3732

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
13 (0.11/day)
Hello, i have AMD Vega 64 8GB and after start game i have error CreatePipelineState: due to lack of video memory. All setting on minimum and FSR 640x480, i not have this error on dx12.
 

Attachments

  • 3457.png
    3457.png
    15.6 KB · Views: 210

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
Hello, i have AMD Vega 64 8GB and after start game i have error CreatePipelineState: due to lack of video memory. All setting on minimum and FSR 640x480, i not have this error on dx12.
It seems that there is some other problem behind it: https://www.gamerevolution.com/guides/952324-alan-wake-2-out-of-video-memory-error-message-fix
Try to delete delete vkd3d-proton.cache / reboot computer and try again, also you should test both versions.

You should try this:
**+ Disable NVIDIA OVERLAY

 
Last edited:

Crackhead

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
Попробуйте также установить это, похоже, это может быть проблема в вашей системе, мне нужно немного покопаться, если его работа на 1080TI не должна быть причиной не работать на 1070.
[URL-адрес unfurl="true"]https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784[/URL]

Вы тестировали обе версии мода?

Помимо попытки удалить RTSS, я также хотел бы отключить любые другие оверлеи, такие как Nvidia и тому подобное.
Friend! We did it! I disabled the Nvidia overlay and the game worked for me!

Друг! Мы сделали это! Я отключил оверлей Nvidia и игра у меня заработала!
Try installing this also , seems that might be a problem in your sistem , i have to dig a bit, if its working on 1080TI shoudnt be any reason not to work on 1070.

Did you test both versions of the MOD?

Besides trying to give uninstalling RTSS a shot i would also look to disable any other overlays like Nvidia and such.
Can you recommend a program to take screenshots of my FPS in the game (because I disabled the overlay)?
 
  • Like
Reactions: izy

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
Friend! We did it! I disabled the Nvidia overlay and the game worked for me!



Can you recommend a program to take screenshots of my FPS in the game (because I disabled the overlay)?
Tell us if you got any FPS boost :) (and write in english please)
 

Worm35hp

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
6 (0.05/day)
I have 1080Ti, disabling the overlay also helped, but FPS is no longer there
Ryzen 9 5950x, 64Gb RAM, 1080Ti
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
Not help. I can ignore error and try to start game, but i have infinite loading.
Maybe you can find something here: https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/wiki/Windows also i am not sure where where you can find the option swapchain mode on AMD.
You can also go here: https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases and try using the dxgi.dll from older version of dxvk
Also the libs are only for 64bit , if you have an 32 bit you need different files.

I have 1080Ti, disabling the overlay also helped, but FPS is no longer there
Ryzen 9 5950x, 64Gb RAM, 1080Ti
What FPS you had before / after? Did you re-adjust the game settings after using the mod?
 
Last edited:

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
It was 33-24, it became 21-18
Make sure you selected the Vulkan method in Nvidia Panel , also you should test both files ive uploaded , they might have an performance difference.
 

Worm35hp

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
6 (0.05/day)
Async or not async 1-2 FPS difference
On Vulcan, FPS drops a lot when you rotate the camera, while the load on the video card is 1-6%, there is no such thing on DX12
 

Crackhead

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
8 (0.07/day)
Async or not async 1-2 FPS difference
On Vulcan, FPS drops a lot when you rotate the camera, while the load on the video card is 1-6%, there is no such thing on DX12
As you can see in my screenshots, the video card load on Vulcan is 97%
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
Async or not async 1-2 FPS difference
On Vulcan, FPS drops a lot when you rotate the camera, while the load on the video card is 1-6%, there is no such thing on DX12
Well , it is what it is , you can try different drivers and/or different dxgi.dll from here https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases or different d3d12.dll + d3d12core.dll from https://github.com/HansKristian-Work/vkd3d-proton, for some seems to work. I updated the main post with everything that cross my mind people can try.
 

Worm35hp

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2023
Messages
6 (0.05/day)
When you look at one point, the load is 96-98%, but as you turn the camera, the load drops along with FPS
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.51/day)
When you look at one point, the load is 96-98%, but as you turn the camera, the load drops along with FPS
Try playing with the settings , there are some settings that can go even lower than LOW, also try a lower FSR setting see if that helps, also you can try to RESET / reinstall your nvidia drivers. The fps can also be affected by your CPU if you have a lower end CPU.
 
Top