• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

EDIT

Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#1
Currently i have a Samsung F1 750gb 32mb cache and a refurb Seagate 500gb 7200.11 32mb cache All the Seagate is used for is backup nothing else, i planned to use it for linux also but i never did.

So all i wanted to know was the F3 worth the upgrade over the F1?

I would be either going to sell both drives i currently have for a 1TB F3 or going to sell the Seagate, get a 500gb F3 and keep the F1 for backup.

If its not worth the upgrade i wont bother.

Its also particularly good for me to know how good the F3's are because i may need a drive for my mates build in January.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#1
is there any benefits of the F3 over the F1? like platters or speeds or power usage?
the F2 is that slower green drive that uses less power right?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#2
I would say the benifits would be minimal.
Not worth the trouble and the cost if you ask me.
Save up for a SSD. There prices should be coming down shortly.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
i got a 1 terabyte F1 and a 1 terabyte F3

my F3 is faster on average quieter less noise etc other then that in a day to day setting there not noticeable in there differences when doing anything so if u can save for a decent SSD go ahead or a raid setup but other then that yea stick with what u got
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#4
The benches that I have seen for the F3 are damn impressive. I wouldn't mind picking up a couple of 500GB F3s for Raid0.

I would say the benifits would be minimal.
Not worth the trouble and the cost if you ask me.
Save up for a SSD. There prices should be coming down shortly.
1TB SSDs are coming down in price shortly? I didn't know that.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#5
Not really worth the bother my 1tb is an f3 and I never noticed a difference. Get it if you have the money to spare but I'd rather get a SSD.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#5
dont like the price to capacity ratio at all for the SSD's

i think i might just leave it then until i see an F3 on sale or something
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#6
dont like the price to capacity ratio at all for the SSD's

i think i might just leave it then until i see an F3 on sale or something
I didn't think they were worth the money but they are. I'd buy an SSD over a HDD.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.55/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#7
With SSDs you shouldn't figure price to capacity ratio. What matters is that it will make all file operations way faster and application loading nearly instant. I am going for dual Corsair Extreme series 32GBs in RAID0 when I have the $300. Speed wise, it's better than any CPU/GPU/RAM upgrade you could hope for and worth every penny.

Now if it's raw storage you need, clearly SSDs are out of place in the discussion.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#8
My buddy has 2 500gb F3s in RAID 0 got 290mb/s read and write out of them
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#9
It's not the read speed thats important its the random IO that is its greatest advantage.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#9
The speed of an SSD means nothing to me as i dont think that i need the speed boost. I hardly notice speed of the hard drive unless im transferring files. Load times dont bother me. SSD's to me yeah you get a nice speed boost but 64gb or 128gb whatever it is just isnt enough space. Im not paying a premium to just have an SSD for OS and a few regular played games.

This was all about noise, power consumption, reliability (my first F1 died on me this ones lasted so far), slightly improved transfer speeds, the possibility of having 1 drive over 2 or having a better backup drive.

Im not buying SSD till its reasonably priced per gb because its not like hard drives arnt good enough for todays world. Im just an average user nothing special, im not one of those people who went and bought raptor drives for my games.

Yeah its more like storage i need, ill be honest if i could afford an SSD id get one but i cant, the idea was like sell a drive and put it towards a new one.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#10
I would rather have 2 hard drives over 1 anyway. I think your setup now is pretty decent. Not really worth ditching a 750GB HD just to get a 1TB even if it is a little faster or quieter.

I love my drive setup. 1x 160GB for my OS and all my programs and the 500GB for all the music, movies, backups etc. This just makes sense to me. When one drive goes I still have either a working OS and all my programs, or better yet I still have all my precious movies and music! I wouldn't want to put everything onto one drive that gets used more and if it dies I loose everything! For example my 160GB holds temp video files when I'm editing so it gets worked harder than the 500GB that only runs media. Why would I want to put everything onto one HD that would get used harder? Also I think its a bit faster to have OS and system files on one HD and the Page file and media on another. I mean I can play a game like Crysis off the main HD and save a FRAPS video to the second at the same time. I think that might be smoother than doing both off one HD at once while also once again being easier on the drives. I could be wrong and it might be something that isn't really noticeable but I just feel like its a better setup than having only one HD.

Keep what you have until you need more space.

SSD is nice if you can afford it for an OS drive. But once again you would still need (well most of us) a big storage drive to go with it. Right now a 1.5TB HD is the best bang for the buck in storage.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#10
Maybe its faster to run an OS and main programs on a main drive and use the other as backup; keep save games and media on one drive anything else that needs a backup thats what i was intending to do, i dunno i want to really change this Seagate but its not so bad as i would complain or anything. Im thinking of ditching the Seagate and getting an F3 as my main drive and the F1 as backup.

I keep all my work for college on a flash drive its all backup on the college network, god help me if i lose that drive and have no backup.