• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Error Code 43 on GTX 980ti Kingpin

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah ask him or fond another card repairer
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
13 (0.07/day)
Still troubleshooting the card.
Today I managed to boot with only the Kingpin card in the system with error code AA what means boot went successfully if im right. No VGA led was lit at all but card didnt give any signal to my screen. Tried with 2 branded golden plated hdmi card and the factory AW dp cable as well. After that restarted the system and it gave me B2 error again with VGA error led on. I managed to flash all 3 vbios files so I leave some photos here just in case if someone notice something I havent :)
I tried to contact with the YT vga mechanic guy but no reply at all.
Last resort is ordering new TT riser cable the 600mm version.
If that doesnt help I think its time to buy another card.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
243 (1.04/day)
System Name Custom
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 arous master
Cooling corsair h150i
Memory 4x8 3200mhz corsair
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070ti
Storage 500gb Samsung 970 Evo PLus
Display(s) MSi MAG341CQ
Case Lian Li Pc-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) onboard :(
Power Supply 850w Seasonic Focus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G110
long live the king
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,289 (3.49/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Im back again,
Tried every official vbios has been sent to me here.
Managed to update all 3 on the card but error code 43 still remains in device manager.
Nvflash says update was successful so I dont know what else I can try.
I will do a force vga driver reset in safe mode with DDU.
After that I ran out of ideas.
I was wondering if a TT riser cable could be the source of error?
Thanks
Just try it without it ?. could a dirty contact or even bad wire.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,609 (1.39/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
I had this fault on a Lenovo Legion laptop and it was pretty much game over and I just returned the laptop and picked out different one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I would highly suggest hooking the card up directly into the motherboard and not on a riser cable to test it.
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
13 (0.07/day)
I would highly suggest hooking the card up directly into the motherboard and not on a riser cable to test it.
The thing is I have to drain the loop and fire up the system without pump then.
I seen people doing this on YT.
The rig probably survives 20-30 seconds like this just to test it without riser cable.
Thanks will report back when I done it

I had this fault on a Lenovo Legion laptop and it was pretty much game over and I just returned the laptop and picked out different one.
You mean error 43 code?
Because I struggle with a desktop :)
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
750 (1.17/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Matrexx 55 | Clevo P770ZM
Processor i7 8700K 5GHZ 1.35v | 4790K 4.6ghz 1.3V |
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Z97 Clevo |
Cooling Macho Rev B | Laptop heatsinks
Memory 64GB | 32GB 2400MHZ SODIMM
Video Card(s) Vega 56 | GTX 980M
Storage 512GB MX100 + 1.5TB Spinpoint HDD | 256GB MX300 + 1TB HDD|
Display(s) 1080P 144HZ/1200 66HZ (2)/ 1440P 60HZ | 1080P 75HZ 15.4 |
Case Matrexx 55 | Laptop shells
Audio Device(s) Various sound cards
Power Supply 750W | 330W |
Mouse too many
Keyboard K552 | Acer and Dell OEM KB's |
Software Windows 8.1/Windows 10/OSX "Mojave"
Had a friend with the same issue, all he needed to do is reflash his VBIOS.
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
13 (0.07/day)
Back to the drawing board. Ordered and replaced the riser cable. Sent back my PSU for RMA to Germany so tried it with the new EVGA P1200
So new riser cable and new PSU. Same thing happens over and over again.
I still have hope its a software malfunction from a previous overclock failure.
Tried both latest mobo bios.
Tried all three Vbios on Kingpin card.
Strange thing is all the leds are lit on the card but it doesnt boot up or give signal to my screen.
Only thing I havent tried is a DVI cable. HDMI and DP dont do anything.
With my budget nvidia card in I still try to find something with nvflash I can change inside Vbios. Downclock the card or give different power management options if thats doable.
All I got now is B2 error.
I just dont want to bin this card since there is a brand new Bitspower block on it so if I make this work that will be a miracle.
Feel free to share any other idea or method I can still try.
Thanks for all the input from everyone so far!

I labeled the rom files I downloaded previously. In theory they are all the factory roms for 980ti Kingpin card and there must be 3 of them. First column is the roms I got from EVGA website and the second column is from techpowerup linked by eidairaman1

Here are the roms with the labels:

KPE1 84.00.36.00.90 KPE normal 84.00.36.00.90
KPE2 84.00.36.02.90 KPE OC 84.00.36.01.90
KPE3 84.00.36.00.91 KPE LN 84.00.36.02.90

Is that possible there are 4 different factory vbios files for this card?
Because nvflash gives me 4 rom version as stated above.
Im still in nvflash try to dig out some power management option I can tweak.
 

mr_kibone

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
10 (0.13/day)
hi i dont know if this thread is dead or not srry for bad English but i had this problem with my ASUS STRIX GTX 970 DirectCU II OC and i flashed it and i dont get a signal so i turn on the igpu and i try to reflash it i get this error
Screenshot_20200113-182124.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
hi i dont know if this thread is dead or not srry for bad English but i had this problem with my ASUS STRIX GTX 970 DirectCU II OC and i flashed it and i dont get a signal so i turn on the igpu and i try to reflash it i get this errorView attachment 142110
Hit Y

Or get this tool

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
thanks that worked
can you send me some bios that works with my card
Is the card working? (powers up monitor to Windows desktop)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Card or driver from what is stated

If i knew what specific 970 you have i could give a bios, however i know sometimes the monitor or cable are bad too...
 

mr_kibone

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
10 (0.13/day)
Card or driver from what is stated

If i knew what specific 970 you have i could give a bios, however i know sometimes the monitor or cable are bad too...
I can give you a gpuz screenshot tomorrow it's a bit late for me

Card or driver from what is stated

If i knew what specific 970 you have i could give a bios, however i know sometimes the monitor or cable are bad too...
Or I don't need sleep I will send in 5

Here is gpuz

The original vbios
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,369 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What do the white stickers on the back of the card show?
 
Top