• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ESET NOD32 suddenly using A LOT of RAM

Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#1
So earlier today I noticed that my PC went a little slower, and DOTA 2 suddenly started stuttering like hell.

I looked around the PC and noticed that ESET is using A CRAPLOAD of RAM (which of course is very unusual for me.)

I looked around ESET and it looks like its been doing a "Statistic Scan" and today seems to be a very lucky day because I've noticed it.

I uninstalled the damn program and the RAM usage went down from the normal 50% to 30-39%.

I installed it again and it went up 50%-77% (on some occasions it says to close all programs)

I'm thinking if Going with McAfee (It came free with my laptop, but I've never used it)

Is McAfee better? or maybe I can disable the damn Scan? Thanks for the inputs!
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#2
DO NOT GO WITH MCAFEE!!!

RAM usage is much higher. Also fared bad in most av tests. Highest consumption.

Webroot is what I use and it's got the lowest usage and decent protection. Rated great on av tests. Works different than typical av.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#3
somethign wrong with your system. i use eset nod 32 as well.

best antivirus out there. cheap, and effective.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
What process is using the memory, and is it using CPU time too? Be sure to show the Memory - Peak working set column (View - Columns). Could be it's searching something and gets "stuck".
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#5
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#6
Thanks for the replies guys!

Well it seems that the ESET service (ekrn.exe) was using around 100,000 K yesterday.

I remedied it by disabling the "Automatic Startup file check" and now everything seems to be in place.

and Frick, about the Memory - Peak working; as of now its around 131,920k ( I have a total of 4gb ram)
RemixedCat, its a very interesting thing to read, and ESET ranks around the middle

AND THANK GOD I DIDN'T INSTALL MCAFEE YET. maybe I could sell it to a poor sucker.....
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#7
Glad to hear you got the issue sorted! However that is still a LOT of RAM for an anti-virus client. It should never be more then like 20MB, if that....
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#8
Well as of now, its around 70 mb (still pretty big, i wonder why...) I'll observe it for the week and see if it still causes slowdowns
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#9
Do you know what happened around the time it started to bloat like that?

What programs were installed around the time and also was anything done system wise like major system updates, restores, etc???
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#10
Well all I know is that while asleep my sister used my laptop to transfer music (She didn't ask for permission... damn older sisters) and she did a USB scan.

Whilst waking up I opened up steam and the DOTA and got realllyyyy laggy. Closed it and even opening Windows Explorer would cause system hangs. No programs installed not updates....

just my sister using the laptop (it does have a tendency to go bad)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#11
Just some FYI.
This could be the underlying problem...

Quote From ESET FAQ:

Search Tips
How do I prevent performance issues with Windows ESET security products running on IBM Lenovo ThinkPads?
KB Solution ID: SOLN975|Last Revised: March 04, 2013
To resolve compatibility issues between your ESET security product and your IBM Lenovo ThinkPad software, we recommend setting up scanning exclusions in your ESET security product. Resolving the compatibility problems will prevent memory leaks and increase network performance.
Also, another tidbit that should have be addressed in updates; but, may have been overlooked or missed.

Increased program memory usage and decreased system performance using ESET Smart Security on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2

And, if you are using version 5... you may want to upgrade to version 6 - reports on ESET forums of lower mem usage.

From reading around, 75Mb to 150Mb is normal usage per ESET forum posts. <-- no personal experience on this.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#12
Thanks for all the help RemixedCat!!! I'll try and get my hands on a newer version (hopefully its available here)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#13
Joined
May 25, 2013
Messages
686 (0.40/day)
Likes
199
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name -Finally Complete- :D
Processor Intel I5 4670K - 4GHz @ 1.28V Adaptive
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Swiftech H220 (2 pumps burnt. Saving it for GPU later...), CM Hyper 212X (in push-pull) for CPU
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RX 580 4GB Dual
Storage WD Blue 1TB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Display(s) 24" AOC G2460VQ6 (Freesync, 75Hz, 1ms), 22" Benq G2222HDL (half dead)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 III (Transparent side panel) - illuminated with NZXT HUE RGB
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150>Dolby Home Theater>SPDIF>FiiO Taishan D03K DAC>Behringer HA400>ATH M50
Power Supply Corsair RM 850
Mouse Redragon M901 PERDITION 16400 DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown)
Software 7-64bit MBR, 10-64bit UEFI (Not Multi-boot), VBox guests...
#14
I have been using Comodo Internet Security for many many years without any problems of any kind. It's free.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#16
Thanks for all the help RemixedCat!!! I'll try and get my hands on a newer version (hopefully its available here)
You're welcome
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#17
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
it was using memory while it was scanning files. thats normal.


just tell it not to scan while gaming (if it can - i know kaspersky has that feature)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#19
there is a gaming mode on the new security 5.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#20
Okay so After getting version 6...

ITS STILL EATING WAY TOO MUCH RAM.

I was watching a movie on my laptop and suddenly a window popped out saying that I need to close some apps. I checked resource monitor and Task Manager and everything leads to ESET's Ekrn.exe.

What's crazy here is that the Mem leak (i think) starts when it scans around 20k files. I downgraded back to 5 and it kinda settled down, but is still eating a lot of RAM.

I also noticed that there's a suspicious startup item that I have. I deleted it in safe mode and the mem consumption went down.

Should I give up on ESET? I've been using the damn thing for almost 4 years and this is the only occurrence it happened.

I'll be attaching some pics and show you what's going on. I've tried searching help on their forums and the only thing they suggested is update to 6 (which I've already done)
 

Attachments

Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#21
Joined
May 25, 2013
Messages
686 (0.40/day)
Likes
199
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name -Finally Complete- :D
Processor Intel I5 4670K - 4GHz @ 1.28V Adaptive
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Swiftech H220 (2 pumps burnt. Saving it for GPU later...), CM Hyper 212X (in push-pull) for CPU
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RX 580 4GB Dual
Storage WD Blue 1TB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Display(s) 24" AOC G2460VQ6 (Freesync, 75Hz, 1ms), 22" Benq G2222HDL (half dead)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 III (Transparent side panel) - illuminated with NZXT HUE RGB
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150>Dolby Home Theater>SPDIF>FiiO Taishan D03K DAC>Behringer HA400>ATH M50
Power Supply Corsair RM 850
Mouse Redragon M901 PERDITION 16400 DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS Mechanical Gaming Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown)
Software 7-64bit MBR, 10-64bit UEFI (Not Multi-boot), VBox guests...
#22
Okay so After getting version 6...

ITS STILL EATING WAY TOO MUCH RAM.

I was watching a movie on my laptop and suddenly a window popped out saying that I need to close some apps. I checked resource monitor and Task Manager and everything leads to ESET's Ekrn.exe.

What's crazy here is that the Mem leak (i think) starts when it scans around 20k files. I downgraded back to 5 and it kinda settled down, but is still eating a lot of RAM.

I also noticed that there's a suspicious startup item that I have. I deleted it in safe mode and the mem consumption went down.

Should I give up on ESET? I've been using the damn thing for almost 4 years and this is the only occurrence it happened.

I'll be attaching some pics and show you what's going on. I've tried searching help on their forums and the only thing they suggested is update to 6 (which I've already done)
From what I can see in the screenshots I can guarantee you that the culprit here is Google Chrome. Uninstall it and you will see dramatic improvement in free memory. Also, it looks like both windows' and google's diagnostic utility is running because of some crash. Restart properly. Also, that ekrn.exe is part of your av. It is configured to run at startup. Go to your AV settings and disable that, or tweak it's scanning parameters. Lastly, do give Comodo Internet Security a try. It is the MOST tweakable and effective security suite for windows I have ever used AND it's free. You have nothing to lose here.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#23
Ok so after reading that RemixedCat, I think it time for me to find a new AV...

after a few googling I found out that Avast! is pretty good, and BitDefender...

Which of the two should I jump the gun for?

EDIT: okay so I'll try Avast for one week and see if it causes any issues...

It seem to me that the problem is that there's a Virus in my system that came from my sister's Ipod. ESET checked it and I cleaned it, but it looks like it left a mark. I need to do some deep digging here
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
no need to jump to anything. just stick to eset. i doubt you will notice any difference.

eset is kinda like install and forget. all other ones will nag you about one thing or the other continuously.


have you run TDSSkiller and malware bytes? i once encountered a folder which was making eset crash, turns out it was some kinda smart malware/thing that was doing that. got caught in malwarebytes.


you may change your AV but it will probably not cure the reason for esets weird behaviour. its like changing to another medication just because something isnt working, without understanding why it is not working.

here is a google result of eset ram leakage. nothing specific though, which leads me to believe there is something wrong with your system.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#25
Thanks for all the help, but I think one dude nailed the coffin.

Nabarun's tips just fixed it for me. A clean uninstall of Chrome did the trick... although I'll miss it.

ESET still scans in the BG but not that much of a hassle anymore. (i'll still monitor it...)

and now its 3 in the morning and classes are suspended tomorrow... Thanks everyone for the help!

(BTW: I'll still try other AV's to see which suits me)