• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Everything OK? OC i5 2400

Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#1
Hello guys! I'm new in OC and i'm trying to get my first spets on my old i5 2400. I'm not trying to break any records here; just trying to learn for now. I'm using a Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 and Hyper TX3 cooler
and 2x "Corsair Value Select VS2GB1333D3" and 1x "Kingston 99U5474-016.A00LF"
DIMM4: Corsair Value Select VS2GB1333D3

I did some little changes:
Multi: 36x --> @3,6Ghz
DVID : - 0.090V

All the rest is at auto. I'm trying to dont mess up with the memory freq, neither the "on board gpu from i5 2400" config. Can u help me to check if everything is fine till now? I'm attaching an file describing everything that i know i'm suposed to monitor. I circled in red those things i'sure i have to keep an eye on, and circle in blue those ones that im in doubt about theyr meaning or even if i have to check it.

Till now, i know that:
- My Vcore is similar to stock settings of the i5 2400 with auto config ~ around 1.1248V
- Core VID don't have importance as it just show the V that the i5 is "trying to get" (BTW, there is any problem when i dont reach the value in Vcore that is show in Core VID?)
- Checking Temps from everything i could

Beyond that, how can i check the mobo chipset conditions?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,765 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,421
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#2
Everything is well within normal range.

The only setback youre going to really have though since you dont have a non K version processor, it means that it is locked and you wont be able to OC all that much.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#3
Hello @CrAsHnBuRnXp ! Ty!

Do u know wich seeting i should keep an eye, besides Vcore?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,765 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,421
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#4
CPU temps are a good thing to keep an eye on and dram voltage if you are manually overclocking. Other than that, you should be in the clear.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#5
CPU temps are a good thing to keep an eye on and dram voltage if you are manually overclocking. Other than that, you should be in the clear.
@CrAsHnBuRnXp i'm trying to enhance the multiplier to 37x and 38x, but the system keep showing only 36x when stressed.
(when i set the bios with a 37x multiplier for example, CPU -Z even show Multiplier: X 36 (16 - 37), but i never see the mult get 37. Do u know why?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,765 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,421
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#6
It's a locked processor. You probably wont be allowed to push it beyond what you are at with a non K version.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,916 (2.08/day)
Likes
4,315
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Xeon E3-1290 / Phenom II X6 1100T / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 / MSI 970 Gaming / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin / TRUE 120 / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 / ASUS 980ti Strix
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatality / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#7
Your cpu turbos at a higher multiplier you usualy cant set it unless it's an asus model/some other have it as well. It's called all core turbo or something i forgot.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,837 (1.61/day)
Likes
2,162
#8
3.6ghz is the max single core boost so you cannot set higher than a 36x multi, you might be able to squeeze a little bit more from the bus but iirc SB bus is usually only able to oc to about 103-105 max though 103 would get you to 3.7ghz if you are able to adjust it, apart from that there's not much else you can do regarding overclocking the CPU
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#9
I got it... but i'm trying to stress test a single core with prime95 and i always ends stressing all them. DO u know how can i adjust prime95 to stress only one coe? So i can test the 38x mult
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,837 (1.61/day)
Likes
2,162
#10
It wont boost to 3,8 on a single core either, 3.6 will be the max you can get on 1 or all cores regardless. But there is a way you can set number of threads in SPi I just havent got it to hand to tell you where that setting is :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#11
I'm setting "Number of torture test threads = 1" in the torture option but i still get the same 4 cores running

It wont boost to 3,8 on a single core either, 3.6 will be the max you can get on 1 or all cores regardless. But there is a way you can set number of threads in SPi I just havent got it to hand to tell you where that setting is :laugh:
Actually, THIS review says that: " In single-threaded workloads, the top-end 38X multiplier is enabled and one core ramps up to 4028MHz. When all cores are being utilized though, the multiplier drops to 36X and the core clock is 3816MHz." (they set BCLK at 106Mhz)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,837 (1.61/day)
Likes
2,162
#12
I'm setting "Number of torture test threads = 1" in the torture option but i still get the same 4 cores running



Actually, THIS review says that: " In single-threaded workloads, the top-end 38X multiplier is enabled and one core ramps up to 4028MHz. When all cores are being utilized though, the multiplier drops to 36X and the core clock is 3816MHz." (they set BCLK at 106Mhz)
I might be wrong then and perhaps you can use a 38x multi in single thread that will default to 36x when all cores are stressed, oh and when you start p95 click options>torture test and change number of threads from 8 (I presume) to 1 for single core testing.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#13
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,765 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,421
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#14
Disable all cores but 1 in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#15
I made it work. The problem was that i was testing Prime with the 36x multiplier. I set it to 38x now, and all 4 cores still stress, but the change from 38, 37 and 36x. So, it's working...

I'm doing the stress test now.

The Vcore max was 1.248, but the current now is 12.236... I guess the normal i5 2400 stock condition would be 1.224 right? Can i shorten my cpu life with this? My max core temp was 70ºC, but currently is at ~62ºC.

I'm running FURMARK cpuburn simultaneously with IntelBurnTest. And no problems till now.
I've read a few people asking to test Prime95 for 12h-24h. Dont u think this is overkill? How long should i run to considere the system stable?

Tyvm guys!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,837 (1.61/day)
Likes
2,162
#16
I take it your vcore is set to auto? you may be able to lower it manually if that is the case, though 1.23 won't do anything to shorten the lifespan as it's within spec and also as long as it's within it's thermal limits. I wouldnt run both tests as you could run into issues that won't necessarily mean the OC is unstable but there could be a conflict with having both running at the same time. usually p95 for a few hours should be fine, IBT is a torture test so it will heat the processor up much more than any app in normal usage would so isnt recommended imo.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#17
I take it your vcore is set to auto
Nope, i adjusted it to -0.08V . I guess i could use -0.09 ou -0.1 and reach the 1.22V. Just don't know if it will be stable

i'll try!

=============

I've adjusted to -0.1V and i'm running Prime95 via Primenet (that online worker option on "test") for the last 20min. Here are my results... what do u think?

BTW ty for the help guys!
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,765 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,421
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#18
I dont get it, why just 1 core?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
45 (0.29/day)
Likes
2
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-DS2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 1x8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 1060 3gb
Storage SSD, ADATA 120Gb SU650 | WDC WD5000AAKX-003CA0 | WDC WD2500AAJS-22B4A0
Case Aerocool X-Warrior Devil Red Edition
Power Supply XFX 550W PRO SERIES
Mouse Cougar Minos x2
Keyboard Microsoft Standart
Software W10
#19
I dont get it, why just 1 core?
My i5 model is limited to 36x mult if all 4 cores are been used. So it doesn make any difference if i aplly the 38x mult at the BIOS and stress 4 cores. But, if i apply 38x mult, and use a 1 thread stress, 1 core goes to 38, while the others goes to 37/36x and "help" the processing.

BTW, i've been stressing the i2400 for almost 4:30h with prime95. The temp didnt pass 70ºC, and the max vcore was 1.236. It seems pretty stable.

Multx38
VDIM -0.100V
In case someone else want know the condition.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,925 (4.44/day)
Likes
3,390
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#20
I've read mixed reports of reaching 3.6 and 3.8 across all cores on the net. Maybe it depends on the features of your particular board as someone else said in this thread. I have the same chip as you but unfortunately my H series board won't let me do anything with it...
 
Top