• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Explain to me how memory width (128/192/256 bit, etc) is related to memory amount.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Hello guys!

I'm asking this out of curiosity, because I've been reading GTX 660 TI reviews, and in some forums people are saying that it's ridiculous to have 192bit memory bus paired with 2GB of VRAM, because it can't use it all.

Why is this the case? How does the bus width affect amount of memory on a GPU?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,518 (1.44/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Memory bus can be thought of literally as lanes of traffic. More lanes dedicated for traffic, the greater the flow. The graphics processor is connected to the RAM on the card via a memory bus.

As far as affects on gpu memory bus, I've seen mixed results. A wider bus doesn't simply mean the card is faster or will perform better. From my experience, I purchased an eVGA GTX 275 FTW with a wider memory bus and my gpu memory overclocked better than stock.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Memory bus can be thought of literally as lanes of traffic. More lanes dedicated for traffic, the greater the flow. The graphics processor is connected to the RAM on the card via a memory bus.

As far as affects on gpu memory bus, I've seen mixed results. A wider bus doesn't simply mean the card is faster or will perform better. From my experience, I purchased an eVGA GTX 275 FTW with a wider memory bus and my gpu memory overclocked better than stock.

This much I know.

You actually didn't mention anything about memory size and how it's related to bus width :D

I'll give the example above again: how does 192bit bus interfere with the 2GB of VRAM available on the GTX 660 Ti? Can all the VRAM be adressed or not? Is that the problem?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,873 (0.77/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) RX 7900 XTX Phantom Gaming
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) InnoCN 27M2V
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
The way it works is quite simply the bus width pretty much controls the number of memory chips that can be used on the card.
A GPU with 256-bit bus has 8 memory chips minimum, since each memory chip have a 32-bit wide bus.
Some cards with double the memory amount will have 16 memory chips.
The 8 extra chips usually on the back of the card shares the bus with the 8 chips soldered to the opposite (front) side of the card.

The 660TI is a 192-bit bus which normally will have 6 memory chips resulting in 1.5GB of memory.
But in this case nVidia added 2 memory chips to the back of the 660TI 2GB to achieve this.
The 2 extra chips shares the bus with 2 memory chips on the front side of the card.


The first card that I know to employ this technique was the 550Ti.
All the vram can be addressed yes, but it is quite an unorthodox way to have such a set up.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,635 (1.16/day)
System Name Space Station
Processor Intel 13700K
Motherboard ASRock Z790 PG Riptide
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory Corsair Vengeance 6400 2x16GB @ CL34
Video Card(s) PNY RTX 4080
Storage SSDs - Nextorage 4TB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB, Plextor M5Pro 128GB, HDDs - WD Black 6TB, 2x 1TB
Display(s) LG C3 OLED 42"
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371
Power Supply SeaSonic Vertex 1200w Gold
Mouse Razer Basilisk V3
Keyboard Bloody B840-LK
Software Windows 11 Pro 23H2
Yep, as said it's bandwidth, or 256bit being like 4 lanes of traffic (data), 192 like 3 lanes, 128, like 2, etc.

That said, many have speculated the Ti 660 with 192bit interface will be crippled, but others have pointed out that it appears Nvidia has found a way to make better use of less bandwidth.

So it's not just specs, a lot of it has to do with improvements in architecture and how well they can make use of a given GPU's specs.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,355 (0.95/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name Dell-y Driver
Processor Core i5-10400
Motherboard Asrock H410M-HVS
Cooling Intel 95w stock cooler
Memory 2x8 A-DATA 2999Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) UHD 630
Storage 1TB WD Green M.2 - 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Asus PA248 1920x1200 IPS
Case Dell Vostro 270S case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Dell 220w
Software Windows 10 64bit
The only drawback I see from the 192bit bus is that the last 512MB of those 2GB are going to deliver less bandwith as it uses a shared 64bit link, so if your GPU memory usage goes >1.5GB you could get an fps hit... at least that's how I understand it, please correct me if I'm wrong.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,729 (3.44/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) PNY GTX1070 :: Integrated UHD 630
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Onn 165hz 1080p :: Acer 1080p
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
The way it works is quite simply the bus width pretty much controls the number of memory chips that can be used on the card.
A GPU with 256-bit bus has 8 memory chips minimum, since each memory chip have a 32-bit wide bus.
Some cards with double the memory amount will have 16 memory chips.
The 8 extra chips usually on the back of the card shares the bus with the 8 chips soldered to the opposite (front) side of the card.

The 660TI is a 192-bit bus which normally will have 6 memory chips resulting in 1.5GB of memory.
But in this case nVidia added 2 memory chips to the back of the 660TI 2GB to achieve this.
The 2 extra chips shares the bus with 2 memory chips on the front side of the card.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/GeForce_GTX_660_Ti_Jet_Stream/images/front.jpghttp://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/GeForce_GTX_660_Ti_Jet_Stream/images/back.jpg

The first card that I know to employ this technique was the 550Ti.
All the vram can be addressed yes, but it is quite an unorthodox way to have such a set up.

They're still doing that goofy shit? I haven't seen that in a long time.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.24/day)
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor AMD 7800X3D
Motherboard MSI x670e Tomahawk wifi
Cooling Artic Freezer II 360
Memory G.Skill 32gb ddr5 6000mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 7900XTX 24 GB
Storage Samsung SSD 980 PRO 2TB
Display(s) Alienware 3420DW 120 Freesync
Case LianLi Lancool III white non-rgb
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC
Power Supply Corsair Shift 1000W
Mouse G502 Hero
Keyboard Ducky Shine 5
Software Win 11 64bit
Benchmark Scores The second best!
Taking from all these comments, it seems to me that 2gb on a 660Ti is more marketing than usefulness. Now I wonder about those 3gb 660Ti?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,518 (1.44/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
This much I know.

You actually didn't mention anything about memory size and how it's related to bus width :D

I'll give the example above again: how does 192bit bus interfere with the 2GB of VRAM available on the GTX 660 Ti? Can all the VRAM be adressed or not? Is that the problem?

I would only tell you what I know.

So, back to traffic: Larger bus handles more memory, but higher memory(ie 2GB) thats alot of bits(cars) on the bus(road/lanes).

So just widening a highway and adding a lane does not mean traffic jams won't happen. Opening lanes for more cars is fine, but adding more cars(ie vram) will just fill up the lanes just as fast.

In theory, all the VRAM can be addressed. In reality, there is a buffer that will limit the amount of VRAM addressing before performing some other action(like offloading it to the cpu).

If Nvidia was a city planner and hoped to add this ultra fast highway with 4 lanes of traffic, but said "This highway will handle the amount of traffic 2 other highways" then they might have just created a bigger traffic jam than before.

Nvidia is smart though and certainly will use smart techniques to ensure this larger vram is warranted. Think Physx :cool:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,866 (3.01/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
The way it works is quite simply the bus width pretty much controls the number of memory chips that can be used on the card.
A GPU with 256-bit bus has 8 memory chips minimum, since each memory chip have a 32-bit wide bus.
Some cards with double the memory amount will have 16 memory chips.
The 8 extra chips usually on the back of the card shares the bus with the 8 chips soldered to the opposite (front) side of the card.

The 660TI is a 192-bit bus which normally will have 6 memory chips resulting in 1.5GB of memory.
But in this case nVidia added 2 memory chips to the back of the 660TI 2GB to achieve this.
The 2 extra chips shares the bus with 2 memory chips on the front side of the card.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/GeForce_GTX_660_Ti_Jet_Stream/images/front.jpghttp://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/GeForce_GTX_660_Ti_Jet_Stream/images/back.jpg

The first card that I know to employ this technique was the 550Ti.
All the vram can be addressed yes, but it is quite an unorthodox way to have such a set up.

That's some weird sht and not something I'd like to see on my card. It should always be kept to a power of 2 for optimal design.

Good explanation. :)
 

MSI650ti

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Hello guys!

I'm asking this out of curiosity, because I've been reading GTX 660 TI reviews, and in some forums people are saying that it's ridiculous to have 192bit memory bus paired with 2GB of VRAM, because it can't use it all.

Why is this the case? How does the bus width affect amount of memory on a GPU?


Yes a lower bit card can be crippled if the memory is set at a low speed like a GT 610 or a ATI 5450.
And yes the theory of the 128bit 192 bit 256 bit being lanes on a highway is correct, But there is one thing not mentioned about the smaller bit memory buses "or more narrow lanes" Is this, The wider highway (256 bus) could have a slower speed limit than the 2 lane (128 bit bus or 192 bit bus)
So this means that some newer cards even though they have a smaller memory bus does not mean they are slower than a card with a wider 256 bit bus. There are actually some 128 bit memory bus cards that are faster than 256 bit memory bus cards. This is because memory clock speed can be different and so on. The actual important thing to look at is the memory bandwidth of the card, How many (GB/sec) it is. The basic 660 has 144.2 GB a second in memory bandwidth, Which is very fast, And more than enough to handle even 3-4GB of video memory. I hope this helps.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,852 (1.02/day)
Location
USA
System Name Computer of Theseus
Processor Intel i9-12900KS: 50x Pcore multi @ 1.18Vcore (target 1.275V -100mv offset)
Motherboard EVGA Z690 Classified
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S, 2xThermalRight TY-143, 4xNoctua NF-A12x25,3xNF-A12x15, 2xAquacomputer Splitty9Active
Memory G-Skill Trident Z5 (32GB) DDR5-6000 C36 F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce 3060 XC Black Gaming 12GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), 2x Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data 1 and 2), ASUS BW-16D1HT
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz Primary, Dell P2017H 19.5" 1600x900 Secondary, Ergotron LX arms.
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATR2100X-USB, El Gato Wave XLR Mic Preamp, ATH M50X Headphones, Behringer 302USB Mixer
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex Platinum SE 1000W 80+ Platinum White
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Vortex Multix 87 Winter TKL (Gateron G Pro Yellow)
Software Win 10 LTSC 21H2

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
13,147 (2.97/day)
Location
Concord, NH, USA
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
I've learned to always buy cards with larger bus width, they seem to work smoother overall, just my personal experience.

Also there were a few 500 series cards that had enormous quantities of ddr3 with small 128 bus. What a joke..

example: http://www.tweaktown.com/news/20598...ew_overwhelms_gtx_550_ti_w_4gb_ram/index.html
That's perfectly fine if you don't really plan to play video games on it very often. DDR3 is cheap enough to produce anyways so I suspect that it was the best cheap option nVidia had for the price range. You want GDDR5? Pay for it. It's that simple.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.20/day)
Location
Oceania
That's perfectly fine if you don't really plan to play video games on it very often. DDR3 is cheap enough to produce anyways so I suspect that it was the best cheap option nVidia had for the price range. You want GDDR5? Pay for it. It's that simple.
You missed his point. The card has 4GB of DDR3......completely stupid amount it could never use it.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
13,147 (2.97/day)
Location
Concord, NH, USA
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
You missed his point. The card has 4GB of DDR3......completely stupid amount it could never use it.
Like I said, they went with the cheapest ICs they could get their hands on. DDR3 is fairly cheap in comparison. Of course it's rediculous but from a cost perspective, it very well could have costed less to produce the video card than putting 2GB or even 1GB of GDDR5 on it instead. Not to mention you need a controller on the GPU to handle it.

It's all about cost to produce the product.

Also, if someone is doing CUDA, OpenCL, or DirectCompute work, you may not need a ton of GPU horse power to get a lot done. This card clearly doesn't target gamers, that's my point.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.20/day)
Location
Oceania
This card clearly doesn't target gamers, that's my point.
Yeah that's true.....even so they prob could've made the card cheaper by using less memory.....but I digress. Hell with DDR3 discrete card u may as well get an A10 APU anyway. lol
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,852 (1.02/day)
Location
USA
System Name Computer of Theseus
Processor Intel i9-12900KS: 50x Pcore multi @ 1.18Vcore (target 1.275V -100mv offset)
Motherboard EVGA Z690 Classified
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S, 2xThermalRight TY-143, 4xNoctua NF-A12x25,3xNF-A12x15, 2xAquacomputer Splitty9Active
Memory G-Skill Trident Z5 (32GB) DDR5-6000 C36 F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce 3060 XC Black Gaming 12GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), 2x Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data 1 and 2), ASUS BW-16D1HT
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz Primary, Dell P2017H 19.5" 1600x900 Secondary, Ergotron LX arms.
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATR2100X-USB, El Gato Wave XLR Mic Preamp, ATH M50X Headphones, Behringer 302USB Mixer
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex Platinum SE 1000W 80+ Platinum White
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Vortex Multix 87 Winter TKL (Gateron G Pro Yellow)
Software Win 10 LTSC 21H2
Like I said, they went with the cheapest ICs they could get their hands on. DDR3 is fairly cheap in comparison. Of course it's rediculous but from a cost perspective, it very well could have costed less to produce the video card than putting 2GB or even 1GB of GDDR5 on it instead. Not to mention you need a controller on the GPU to handle it.

It's all about cost to produce the product.

Also, if someone is doing CUDA, OpenCL, or DirectCompute work, you may not need a ton of GPU horse power to get a lot done. This card clearly doesn't target gamers, that's my point.
Its not that. Its arrangement is completely suboptimal for performance. It does not have enough bandwith to even use that ram. its a total gimmick. http://techreport.com/news/21536/point-of-view-insults-intelligence-with-geforce-550-ti-4gb

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the world's most pointless graphics card. Nvidia partner Point of View has come up with a GeForce 550 Ti with four gigabytes of graphics memory, which makes about as much sense as putting a spoiler on a Smart car. Epic fail.

The problem with this new card, of course, is that the lowly GeForce 550 Ti doesn't need anywhere close to that much RAM. When we tested the 550 Ti back in March, we discovered that the budget GPU is really only fast enough to play games at the relatively low resolution of 1680x1050, which works out to less than two megapixels. No wonder most of the 550 Tis on the market have just 1GB of memory.

While Point of View loads the card up with high-density memory chips, they're not very fast ones. The GeForce 550 Ti is meant to be paired with GDDR5 memory with an effective data rate of 3.6 GT/s. Point of View hits the 4GB mark with much slower DDR3 memory capable of pushing bits at less than one third that speed.

Graphics card makers have long tried to dress up low-end models with obscene amounts of memory, but this is the most egregious example yet. Some consumers are easily swayed by bigger numbers, I guess. Thankfully, it looks like the card isn't available in North America right now. According to Computer Base, Euros can order the thing for €113.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.20/day)
Location
Oceania
LOL I just looked at the specs on POV homepage, as if DDR3 wasn't bad enough by itself it's only 1066mhz. What were they thinking.....0_o

actually speed prob doesn't matter they could make it 2133mhz it would still take a week for data to get to the GPU just like being on a Greyhound bus. :D (get it?) lol
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top