• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,289 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,207
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

mike047

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Zirconia NC usa
System Name home/farm
Processor 11quads/1 dual quad/2 dueces
Motherboard Gigabyte/Tyan/Mac
Cooling air
Memory DDR2 800-1066
Video Card(s) 3-260/2-250/2-8800/4-9600/2-9800
Storage yes
Power Supply Cheap Rosewill/Mac
Software 2-XP32/1-XP64/12-Ubuntu/1-Mac
Benchmark Scores No benchies, just a cruncher:)
Now they're $71 with free shipping!
They are good solid cards, I have had no problems with the three I am running. A little warm but no bad work so I am happy.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
how do i get my 4830 to give me more than 1300 ppd?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Hmm... I was playing FF8 on my PS2 with my 9600GSO folding. I switched over to HDMI real quick to check on the percentage and there was no signal. I wiggled the cable around on the back of the TV and video card, still no signal. I hit the reset button on my PC and I got video. Odd... the card has been completely stable other than this.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,455 (0.39/day)
Likes
3,618
Location
Meridian, Idaho
System Name Mine, Wifes, and Folder, folder
Processor 2600k@4.5 GHZ, 2600k@4.4 ghz, Intel G1610, 2500k
Motherboard Gigabyte X68 UD-4, Asus z67 Pro, Gigabyte GA- z77x-UD3H, Asus Z68
Cooling H60, DH-15, stock, Coolermaster
Memory 16GB ddr3 1600 Ripjaws, 8GB Ripjaws 1600, 4GB 1600 Ripjaws, 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC, GTX 970 Strix, GTX 970 Windforce G1 Gaming, MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage 1TB Sata , 1tb sata, 1 TB sata, 500 GB
Display(s) 3K Shimian 27 inch, 24 Inch Dell 1920x1200, Dell 24 inch 1920x1200, LG 23 inch 1080P
Case Antec 280, same, Thermaltake SopranoRS, Coolermaster HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard, same, onboard, same
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350, Coolermaster V850, Seasonic 650 Watt Platinum, Antec 850
Mouse Sentinel Advance, Zio Levetron, CMStorm, Transformer
Keyboard G15, HP, CMStorm, HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, on all
how do i get my 4830 to give me more than 1300 ppd?
My 4850 gives me anywhere from 1300 to 2000 so i feel your pain. I seen some say they get 3000 to 4000 with a 4850 but I dont see it.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Yey, good news, i'll be getting back into folding next week!

Need some help first, i was told the CMD version of F@H gave better PPD, which one is it on the site?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Also, correct me when i go wrong.

8800GT has the same core as the 8800GTX, the 9800GTX+ is a revamped 8800GTX?

If so, could i use a 9800GTX+ in slot one (for games etc.) and two 8800GT's in slot 2 and 3 for JUST folding?

If not, whats the best setup i can do with one powerful card in slot 1, and two cards in slot 2 and 3. (2 needs to be Singleslot, 3 can be quad slot... lol)

Thanks
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Also, correct me when i go wrong.

8800GT has the same core as the 8800GTX, the 9800GTX+ is a revamped 8800GTX?

If so, could i use a 9800GTX+ in slot one (for games etc.) and two 8800GT's in slot 2 and 3 for JUST folding?

If not, whats the best setup i can do with one powerful card in slot 1, and two cards in slot 2 and 3. (2 needs to be Singleslot, 3 can be quad slot... lol)

Thanks
8800GT is a G92 core(65nm process) and has 112 shaders
9800GTX+ is a G92b core(55nm process) and has 128 shaders
8800GTX is a G80 core(90nm process) and has 128 shaders

You should always combine cards of similar shader count. Different counts will handicap the larger shader card.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Handicap it ingame?

I wont be using the 9800GTX+ for folding, only the 8800GTs will fold.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Oh so say if I got like a dedicated 8600gt to fold my 9600gso would be crippled because of it? This would be 2 seperate cards, not SLI.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Handicap it ingame?

I wont be using the 9800GTX+ for folding, only the 8800GTs will fold.
You may see some instability of driver crashes, but it should work.

Oh so say if I got like a dedicated 8600gt to fold my 9600gso would be crippled because of it? This would be 2 seperate cards, not SLI.
8600 GT is 32 shaders. For what it would handicap the 9600GSO, you would be better off folding the 9600GSO alone. Less elec used and more PPD produced.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
Ah ok. Thanks.

Whats the best combination. I need one powerful (ish) graphics card in slot one (can be three slots) and then i have two slots for dedicated folders.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Ah ok. Thanks.

Whats the best combination. I need one powerful (ish) graphics card in slot one (can be three slots) and then i have two slots for dedicated folders.
That set-up sounds fine. You may get stuttering in-game with 2 GPU's folding being fed off the same CPU.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
I don't think i'll end up doing that though. The ultimate plan is to play and fold with these 8800GT's. Then when the ATi 5 series pushes 4870 and 4870x2 prices down, i'll buy something for my gaming rig and put the 8800GT's in a dedicated rig.

Give it a month or two :p
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I mean if I could fold on the 8600gt dedicated and use my 9600gso for gaming, and fold on that too when not in use, just like I do now, only difference would be the 8600gt would be going all the time. Having an 8600gt in my system would handicap my 9600gso??
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
I figured out how to get the smp client running, I set it for 50% usage, it seems awful slow. What do you guys use when running the smp client?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
1,455 (0.39/day)
Likes
3,618
Location
Meridian, Idaho
System Name Mine, Wifes, and Folder, folder
Processor 2600k@4.5 GHZ, 2600k@4.4 ghz, Intel G1610, 2500k
Motherboard Gigabyte X68 UD-4, Asus z67 Pro, Gigabyte GA- z77x-UD3H, Asus Z68
Cooling H60, DH-15, stock, Coolermaster
Memory 16GB ddr3 1600 Ripjaws, 8GB Ripjaws 1600, 4GB 1600 Ripjaws, 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC, GTX 970 Strix, GTX 970 Windforce G1 Gaming, MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage 1TB Sata , 1tb sata, 1 TB sata, 500 GB
Display(s) 3K Shimian 27 inch, 24 Inch Dell 1920x1200, Dell 24 inch 1920x1200, LG 23 inch 1080P
Case Antec 280, same, Thermaltake SopranoRS, Coolermaster HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard, same, onboard, same
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350, Coolermaster V850, Seasonic 650 Watt Platinum, Antec 850
Mouse Sentinel Advance, Zio Levetron, CMStorm, Transformer
Keyboard G15, HP, CMStorm, HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, on all
I dont I crunch with cpu
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
^^useful comment.

Yeah, SMP work units are pretty big. With my old 5200+ at 2.8GHz, it took like ~18 hours to do a work unit, and that's at 100% cpu usage.

F@H runs on low priority so you can set it to 100% and it still shouldn't bother other things.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,908 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,122
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Really though its all about efficiency to me, I wanted to Fold on my E2200 but it took 24hrs/WU. Folding is just more efficient on GPUs (also why I use Nvidia over ATI). If you want your CPU to do something useful in a timely manner Crunch for TPU's WCG Team :D
 

crazy pyro

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
I need a hand with setting up SMP client on my Acer lappy.
I've gone through all the configuration stuff and given it 85% CPU usage , despite it having been running for 14 minutes it's still saying that it has made absolutely no progress with the WU, am I doing something wrong or is this lappy just incredibly slow at folding?
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.24/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
Last edited:

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,908 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,122
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
I need a hand with setting up SMP client on my Acer lappy.
I've gone through all the configuration stuff and given it 85% CPU usage , despite it having been running for 14 minutes it's still saying that it has made absolutely no progress with the WU, am I doing something wrong or is this lappy just incredibly slow at folding?
Im not trying to be rude, but look at my post and Hat's post right above yours. Folding on the CPU (of this class) w/ the SMP Client takes about 24hrs per WU. Nothing is wrong CPUs and Folding just aren't a perfect couple.
 

crazy pyro

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
It'd been running for almost quarter of an hour and it was still saying 0 out of 25000 steps completed, it should at least have done one surely?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,289 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,207
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Crazy, does task manager show that your CPU is busy? Sort processes by CPU (highest to lowest) and see what comes to the top