• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
does V7 client work with radeon 48xx, i do remember your prior posts

after looking at this guide http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGuide

it says 5xxx and above and 2xx and above for nvidia, you might want to go back to the older client

sorry if youv said are they doing x11 or x16 wu's

coincidentally has anyone tried mixed Brand folding on V7 beta ,because i want to throw an nv card in my main rig thereby giving me an extra client but with the first V7 beta it kept robbing all the Wu's off the amd cards and randomly too, id not notice for a hwile sometimes so im warey.
I ran a 6950 2GB and a GTX 550 Ti in my main rig for a while, which worked when I was using core 11 on the AMD card and core 15 on the NV card. Once I learned about the advanced flag, my AMD card changed to core 16 and one of the cards refused to fold. Now I just segregate rigs to AMD or NV, and if I have an extra one of either it goes into a single PCIe slot board.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,107 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,653
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
I ran a 6950 2GB and a GTX 550 Ti in my main rig for a while, which worked when I was using core 11 on the AMD card and core 15 on the NV card. Once I learned about the advanced flag, my AMD card changed to core 16 and one of the cards refused to fold. Now I just segregate rigs to AMD or NV, and if I have an extra one of either it goes into a single PCIe slot board.


kinda like my experience, but i was disableing the gt240 just to fold on the better cards , now its on its own in a p4 rig folding:) ill leave it
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,468 (0.85/day)
Likes
782
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
I think I remember someplace on F@H forums saying that they are updating the servers to support V7 clients as the old gpu2 servers don't give out that info or it's not in a usable form for the V7 client but once they update all the servers that shouldn't be a problem anymore

if it's core_11 (gpu2 WU) then it 511 points total
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,528 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
Well, now I have a new problem. For the past few days, I haven't been able to get work for my GPU2 clients. SMP seems to work just fine, but I get this in my logs:

20:58:54:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
20:58:54:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
Looks like we're talking to the server and it's replying that there's no work? Any other GPU2 buddies out there getting the same thing?

(I'll add a SMP slot for this weekend, I suppose)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,374 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,447
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I'm so surprised.:rolleyes: It's Friday.:roll:

I don't mean to take pleasure in you not getting work, but this happens so much on Fridays.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,528 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
I'm so surprised.:rolleyes: It's Friday.:roll:

I don't mean to take pleasure in you not getting work, but this happens so much on Fridays.
This has been happening for a few weeks. I haven't been given a WU yet.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.49/day)
Likes
1,322
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,528 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
Which server are you trying to download from? Did you try restarting your rig? Also which client are you using?

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/pybeta/serverstat.html
According to the logs, assign-GPU.stanford.edu. I have restarted a few times and I am using the v7 client. As of Tuesday, still no luck. There is no firewall/security preventing access to the aforementioned server.

Code:
20:58:54:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
20:58:54:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,374 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,447
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
xvi, you're not going to like this. Seems that Pande is bring to an end the work units for the AMD/ATI GPU's (GPU2, pre-5xxx series cards) like they said last year. They actually said that they would end around September 2011. This thread is confusing with some misinformation, but the good info is towards the bottom of page 2.

It would help if I put the link in, huh?
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=21337&start=0&hilit=Could+not+get+an+assignment
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
Darn, my 3850 AGP is sort of useless after all then. Is it just the old ATI cards that only support CAL?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,468 (0.85/day)
Likes
782
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
It'll probably include nVidia cards that can't run CUDA and OpenCL aswell

in a way it makes sense to do away with older cards and support only those cards that can use Opencl
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,238 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
hey guys, i would like to try something a little different here... my names are all based on my name and hardware, for example Matthew-PS3, Matthew-HD7970... but i want to make a Matthew-3770K aswel, 2 names 1 PC how can i do this?
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
hey guys, i would like to try something a little different here... my names are all based on my name and hardware, for example Matthew-PS3, Matthew-HD7970... but i want to make a Matthew-3770K aswel, 2 names 1 PC how can i do this?
Don't think you can do it with the newer clients. The same username/team is used for each instance. With the old SMP/GPU2 clients, you could enter diff info for each instance.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,238 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
i think i was stupid to fold a 3770k on a P67 mobo haha, i get bsod everytime i even add smp slot now and it never gets past 0.00%
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,374 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,447
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
i think i was stupid to fold a 3770k on a P67 mobo haha, i get bsod everytime i even add smp slot now and it never gets past 0.00%
Folding will expose unstable OC's better than anything else. Back your OC down a bit and try again. ( I don't know anything about IB on P67)
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,238 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
i fixed the bsod problem it seems i underclocked my OC but now i can use smp... and it just stays at 0 but the gpu one increased fast (read my system specs for info)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,374 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,447
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
i fixed the bsod problem it seems i underclocked my OC but now i can use smp... and it just stays at 0 but the gpu one increased fast (read my system specs for info)
Since you're using an AMD GPU, which uses up to 1 thread from the CPU, you may actually get better total PPD if you decrease the thread count for SMP by 1 or 2. Keeps the clients out of each other's way.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.49/day)
Likes
1,322
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
How's the 3770K folding now? Thinking about getting a similar CPU for my kids' P67 board.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,238 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
How's the 3770K folding now? Thinking about getting a similar CPU for my kids' P67 board.
SMP at 4 9691.96 PPD

SMP at 2 3810.44 PPD

2 different slots at the same time using 6 threads and my
HD7970 at 7549.71 PPD

my total daily PPD is estimated at 18.5 to 19k
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,498 (0.49/day)
Likes
1,322
Location
Bismarck, ND
System Name Fuzzy Bunny
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2
Memory 16GB Mushkin 2133
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti-Kraken G10
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black WD7501AALS 750GB
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply CoolerMaster Gold 1000 Watt
Software Windows 7 64
SMP at 4 9691.96 PPD

SMP at 2 3810.44 PPD

2 different slots at the same time using 6 threads and my
HD7970 at 7549.71 PPD

my total daily PPD is estimated at 18.5 to 19k
You should be running the Stanford V7 client. With that even if you chose not to run the 7970 you would be way over 30k ppd with your cpu alone.;)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,374 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,447
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
T4c, you'll want to run one SMP client with 6-7 cores. SMP's also comes with a bonus (you need the passkey) once you've completed 10 SMP WU's. The bonus is based on how fast you get the WU done, so, obviously, 6 cores will get a WU done much faster than 2 or 4. You should be able to get (someone correct me if I'm wrong-this is just an educated guess) 30-40,000 with your system if it is allowed to Fold 24/7.