1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    ok may have fixed it had to install new drivers and after they crashed my system lol guess you gotta turn off folding when installing drivers anyway after reboot 1 is showing normal with a 9401@ 103k and the other is stuck with a 7624@40k. I just got to thinking what would BBB do. :roll:. Now what mx would do :banghead:.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  2. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    guess Im gonna have to run the cards in different computers. I started cruching and everything went crazy only at 50% on cpu but ppd went to 60k on both cards total. Sucks I cant run them in 1 comp.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    There's no mention of Avast being a problem at foldingforum.org. I would look at Windows' firewall.

    @mx500torid:
    Secondly, those P762x WU's do weird things. If I try to run them on my son's i5-650 with 2 GTX 560 Ti's, it makes the system unusable. Literally can take 5-10 minutes for a mouse click to register.
    What is the system like that you have those on?
    BTW, I called Pande and got my morning briefing. They will be getting back to me about your problem. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    Give Pande my regards.:laugh: They were on a 2600k@ 4.0 ghz with a Corsair 850, 8GB 1600 Ripjaws, Gigabyte g68-UD3 motherboard. Ill just stick in the other 2600k. I just wanted to do some gaming with sli but I forgot that all I do is buy games I dont play them. BTW Agent I use Avast and have no problems.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  5. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    It's definitely Avast! doing it. Because the problems stops when I stop the real-time shields. Thinking of stopping 1 at a time to see which one is the culprit.
     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Good to know.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    wondering if if you build a new comp if it has to do the 10 wu before bonus points kick in. 680 is still doing 52k. Looks like everything is pretty close between the 2 machines but one is double the points. Only difference is one on new driver and 1 on 327. hmmm maybe Ill try an older driver.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  9. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    Crap that was the problem.:banghead::banghead::banghead: 327.23 driver loaded and its at 94k. 660 has 306 driver and its ok too. The new drivers halve the ppd.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay guys, I have a quick question here.

    I have a couple of extra video cards and can put one in my wife's system to fold. Which would be better; a HD5850 or a GTX560 (Non Ti version)?

    What could I expect out of each for average PPD?

    Thanks in advance
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,533 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    GTX 560 with 327.23 nVidia drivers. Stanford 7.4.4 folding client and advanced flag. 9101 core 17's vary to much to give ppd. 20k+ depending on oc and wu's.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Why the 327.23 drivers? They are fairly old drivers. Do they produce better PPD or something?

    LOL, sorry for all the questions. :oops:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,437 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    Meridian, Idaho
    Yes the 327.23 drivers are better for all Nvidia cards below a GTX 770.

    Hi Hertz we miss ya man!!!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  14. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,533 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    To run the the newer drivers you have run the beta flag and the kind of new beta core. I used to run beta flag, things got crazy last month. If your not on the beta team at Stanford and ask questions about beta wu's you will get deleted or your thread will be closed. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,533 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I pop in from time to time to read the posts. It has been a while since my last post though. I'm the Captain of a tiny team.

    http://tc.folding.net/index.php?p=div&div=1#leaderboard.php

    If you click categories and roll your mouse over a username you will see what they are folding with. Click on that user and you see will points for each day.

    My team is in 5th place. Ignore 1st in GPU-E he is running 2 Titans. That data base is a good if you want to see what hardware can do.

    Why would I post if I didn't miss you guy's. :)
     
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Does the 327.23 driver restriction apply to Fermi GPU's? I don't think it does.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,533 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND

    Attached Files:

  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn, I have a work unit that has been stuck on "99.99%" for almost 2 days! How do I upload it or what ever I have to do?

    Thanks in advance guys./
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Does something like GPU-z show any load on the GPU? Have you tried pausing it and then starting it again? Right click on the slot, select pause wait until there's no load on the GPU and then tight click-fold. There have been some issues with WU's getting stuck at 99.99% and it might have to be deleted. What's the WU? (I'm working on a 9406 (220,1,6))
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    0 load on the GPU? The work unit is one of the 13000 projects.
    Hmm, I paused it and with it paused it shows 85%?

    Don't know what the heck is going on.

    Once I start it back up though it goes back to 99.99%.

    How do you delete the work unit?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Let's make sure it's broken before deleting a WU that's 85% complete. Yes, sometimes it has to be deleted.
    Since restarting it, is there a load on the GPU? Is there any progress shown in the log? (remember how long it takes per frame with these huge work units) Are you using a screen saver? (don't)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    So maybe it was actually at 85%? Just showing up as 99.99%. Don't know.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,714 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,697
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Nope, still no load on the GPU. I don't run screen savers and don't put my system in hibernation or to sleep.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,775 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Delete the WU by deleting the work folder (I'm off to find where that is. I haven't had to delete a WU in forever)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)