1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    No Evil, that is quite normal for a jump in temp. Heck, my 7870 jumped about 12c when I first started folding with it...........Been several months now. Nothing bad has happened. :peace:

    Newer video cards can pretty much handle up in the 80's c without too much worry. At 67c you should be all okay man.
     
    manofthem and THE_EVIL_RAPIER say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Ok thank you.

    I sit at idle around 23-25c then yesterday while folding jump to around 60c
    Today idle stays the same but jumps to 67c. Either way if I'm right shouldn't my card downclock / throttle if it hits 80c? I hope so. ha ha
     
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Oh I don't see your card hitting the 80C mark anyhow. It will probably cap out around 65 to 70C.
     
    THE_EVIL_RAPIER says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    In that case i'll carry on folding on full power all night. Thanks guys, I'm sure i'll let you know if anything changes lol.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  5. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    I currently have a WU that's going to take 2 days apparently (I assume this is normal...), but what annoys me is that it has such a low PPD. Hmm.

    Layton
     
  6. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Any ideas why FAH wouldnt utilize my GTX 780 to 100%? It is running around 60% of the gpu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Something just occurred to me Athlon, did you dedicate one of your CPU cores? I know it takes one core to properly run a GPU folding work unit.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    my CPU doesnt fold just the 780
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,996 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22,745
    Location:
    Florida
    Maybe it's not set to Full in the FAH Control? :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Set to full in FAHcontrol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Right, but if you have say a quad core, one CPU core must be dedicated in order for the GPU to run at full %age
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    how do we do this?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    click on your folding@home icon then "advanced controls." Once that is open I believe you click on "configure" in the upper left hand corner.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    im there but i not sure i see anything to make a cpu core dedicated to this gpu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Once you hit configure, go to "slots." You should see your GPU listed? Click on it, and at the bottom it should say "edit." Make sure it is set to "-1"
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    yup -1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hmm, man I am not sure bro. Maybe we are missing something here, though I am not sure what. :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    This is what i got going on
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    How do you know that your card is only running at 60%?

    Hoping that @james888 can chime in on this as he just set up a Nvidia card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    GPU-Z is giving me 61% GPU load
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,080 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,419
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn, that is odd indeed man. Seems there was something @james888 had to do but I can't remember what it was.
    I am personally running AMD cards and have not actually set up Nvidia cards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,575 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,927
    What you are remembering I think was from WCG gpu work.

    @AthlonX2, going into your advanced settings and setting and making an option called "client-type" and setting it to "advanced", or second alternative "beta" might fix it. That was what fixed my issue, but my issue was not having the right WU's to fully utilize the capability of a 750ti although I think I was at 100% usage.

    Those who have a 780 may be able to help more. I think either BUCK NASTY or Jstn7477 might have one. thebluebumblebee is usually very knowledgeable in these matters.

    I think this is automatic. I know if I am using too much cpu resources it affects ppd.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
    stinger608 and Athlon2K15 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,757 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    setup the advanced flag and it gave me a 13000 but its talking 10.2 days. we will see how it goes once it starts working.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,575 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,927
    Afaik, advanced gives you a bigger workload but I know other 750ti users fixed there low ppd with the advanced flag.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,222 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31,193
    Give it at least an hour ;)

    FYI- @T-Bob runs a 780 and a Titan so he may be able to assist with any setup questions you have.
     
    T-Bob, stinger608 and james888 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)