• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fake GTX 960 Re-flashing Correct Rom

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
I'm afraid I can't get a GPU-Z screenshot. I messed up saving the original rom contents so I can't flash it back to that - and with the only rom I have that allows the computer to boot at the moment (the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom one) the GPU-Z info would be illegible.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'm afraid I can't get a GPU-Z screenshot. I messed up saving the original rom contents so I can't flash it back to that - and with the only rom I have that allows the computer to boot at the moment (the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom one) the GPU-Z info would be illegible.
Doesnt matter, the bios version number could guide me to a 450gts bios you would need.

So please provide it as requested.

I cannot look at bios roms directly, I need a gpu-z screenshot.

I will help you get the card running correctly but i need your cooperation, no questions asked.
 

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Sorry, I don't understand how to get a gpu-z screenshot, when I'm presently unable to boot the computer with a screen that is readable.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What are your computer specs?

Put the old bios back in, download gpu-z, open it, hold down Alt key and press print screen on keyboard, open ms paint (paint.exe) paste image in there and then save image as .jpg/.jpeg file and upload it here.

If you are bios flashing you should know how to get your system running again and know how to upload screenshots here
 

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Like I said, I failed to save the original bios properly. I thought I had, but it was the first time I was using the CH341A programmer and afterwards I realized I'd got the wrong size of chip selected, so I only saved the first part of it, by then I'd already overwritten the bios contents with the first of the files I tried. If I restore from the saved file now the computer won't boot.

I tried various other GTS450 and GTX550 bios files I downloaded, but the only one I've tried that allows the computer to boot is the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom - and that produces a mostly white screen with only little bits showing - not sufficient for getting a gpu-z screenshot.

I was hoping that someone would recognize my card from the photos and say, "I have the same one, and here is a rom file that works for it."
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
With the chip and ram chips on it the card is a 450 gts.

What cpu do you have?

This top bios might be your best bet


Then these




@ceptimus











You can try this however I would suggest looking at the contents to ensure it has dvi-i, hdmi, vga, and samsung in the info, also 783/902 for clock speed


bless your heart from Texas;)

Like I said, I failed to save the original bios properly. I thought I had, but it was the first time I was using the CH341A programmer and afterwards I realized I'd got the wrong size of chip selected, so I only saved the first part of it, by then I'd already overwritten the bios contents with the first of the files I tried. If I restore from the saved file now the computer won't boot.

I tried various other GTS450 and GTX550 bios files I downloaded, but the only one I've tried that allows the computer to boot is the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom - and that produces a mostly white screen with only little bits showing - not sufficient for getting a gpu-z screenshot.

I was hoping that someone would recognize my card from the photos and say, "I have the same one, and here is a rom file that works for it."
 
Last edited:

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Thanks, I tried the top one and no joy - the computer just beeps and won't boot. I've previously tried a couple of the others.

It's a tiresome process: remove the card; take off the cooler; flash; reassemble cooler; replace card; reconnect computer leads; test. I must have already done it about twenty times. Maybe I'll return to it another day. In the meantime, I'm inclined to cut my losses and just buy a replacement second hand genuine graphics card. Or perhaps someone will recognize the card from the photos, and narrow down the candidate bios files to just a handful.

The computer is old. It has a ryzen CPU with a built in GPU (vga only) I switched the built-in GPU off in the bios when I fitted a proper video card and expanded the RAM to 8GB. I also upgraded the PSU. It's not my main computer - I've got a 16GB i7 with a GTX1080 - but it seems a shame to junk the old PC for the want of a working graphics card.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks, I tried the top one and no joy - the computer just beeps and won't boot. I've previously tried a couple of the others.

It's a tiresome process: remove the card; take off the cooler; flash; reassemble cooler; replace card; reconnect computer leads; test. I must have already done it about twenty times. Maybe I'll return to it another day. In the meantime, I'm inclined to cut my losses and just buy a replacement second hand genuine graphics card. Or perhaps someone will recognize the card from the photos, and narrow down the candidate bios files to just a handful.

The computer is old. It has a ryzen CPU with a built in GPU (vga only) I switched the built-in GPU off in the bios when I fitted a proper video card and expanded the RAM to 8GB. I also upgraded the PSU. It's not my main computer - I've got a 16GB i7 with a GTX1080 - but it seems a shame to junk the old PC for the want of a working graphics card.
Turn the ryzen igp back on and use NVFlash. Or use the core i igp

Hook monitor up to igp.


Or use the top 2 links.
 

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
I did try re-enabling the ryzen gpu, and with a vga monitor connected and no graphics card in the slot, the PC then boots and runs. But when the fake graphics card is in its slot, whether or not the ryzen gpu is enabled, it prevents the PC from booting - the PC fails the self test and just sits there beeping.

The only bios I've tried, so far, that allows the PC to boot is the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom.

Obviously the original fake bios also allowed the PC to boot and run, but unfortunately I don't have that anymore - only the first half of it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I did try re-enabling the ryzen gpu, and with a vga monitor connected and no graphics card in the slot, the PC then boots and runs. But when the fake graphics card is in its slot, whether or not the ryzen gpu is enabled, it prevents the PC from booting - the PC fails the self test and just sits there beeping.

The only bios I've tried, so far, that allows the PC to boot is the FABIOMODFAKEGTX960.rom.

Obviously the original fake bios also allowed the PC to boot and run, but unfortunately I don't have that anymore - only the first half of it.
Ive done research some of those cards just wont flash to anything but the og bios. Tbf with you get your money back and throw it away.
 

ceptimus

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
8 (0.08/day)
Thanks for all your help. I doubt I can get my money back two years later, and after I've messed about with the card?

Never mind, I had a couple of years of mostly okay use out of it.

I've bought a second hand GT430 1GB on Ebay for £16 including shipping, installed it this morning, and it's working fine. Like I say, I never tried gaming on this PC and for normal dual screen Windows and Linux use, the GT430 is fine.

Now it's running, I can see that I was wrong about the PC. It's got an AMD A8-5500 (4 processors show up in the task manager) running at 3.2GHz with 8GB RAM. Not a powerhouse by modern standards, but still adequate. The AMD has built in Radeon HD graphics, but it's only connected to a single VGA port, so no good for my dual monitors both running at 1920x1080.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
All i can say is buy cards from legitimate companies.

Research on the heatsinks of the cards if it doesn't look like anything that is from Asus or gigabyte MSI ASRock XFX EVGA colorful Sapphire Zotac etc etc, don't buy it.

If you decide to buy another fake card I would highly suggest getting a bios dump from it using gpu-z if it is working
 

Gandalfthewizard

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
1 (0.04/day)
I have the same issue and want to know how to identify and fix a fake graphics card and put it back to a working state. Bought it in an apparently new unused pc from eBay from user zanjoo_0 but when I switched it on windows asked for a license and the case was dented and covered in stickers so well used and worn. The user then cancelled the sale even though I had paid cash and had the item so eBay could / not would not help. Ended up buying a windows license only to find out the NVidia gtx 1050i card kept crashing. I ran a gpu card identifier app and it said it was fake. Now no comeback at all so want to try and get something that at least works slightly better than the onboard graphics. Found out the the user actually sold the real card to someone else 2 days before and swapped the card for the fake one. Any help would be appreciated on what to look for to identify it in the first instance.
 

Kavpool

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
9 (1.29/day)
Hi all, I'm in the same boat with the fake nvidia 960 gtx. Stopped working after updates on a code 43. I only want it to work for dual monitors. Can someone help me get it to work please? I'm aware it is a crap GPU underneath bit it worked fine when it worked.
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi all, I'm in the same boat with the fake nvidia 960 gtx. Stopped working after updates on a code 43. I only want it to work for dual monitors. Can someone help me get it to work please? I'm aware it is a crap GPU underneath bit it worked fine when it worked.
Need a chip picture, gpu-z screenshot too
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

Kavpool

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
9 (1.29/day)
Is this the chip? Or is that a sticker over the original chip?

GPU-Z attached
Thanks for helping me

Not sure if it's right or wrong but the Nvidia driver wasn't installed when I took the GPU-Z photo. Couldn't screen print, sorry, as the keyboard doesn't have to option...USA version I think
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Are there any markings on the ram or the thermalpads?

Is this the chip? Or is that a sticker over the original chip?

GPU-Z attached
Thanks for helping me

Not sure if it's right or wrong but the Nvidia driver wasn't installed when I took the GPU-Z photo. Couldn't screen print, sorry, as the keyboard doesn't have to option...USA version I think
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This is one of the ram. They all the same

Couldn't see any thermal pads
Are there any ram chips on the front of the card surrounding the gpu die?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,619 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The bios on your card has been changed from a 450GTS to a 960, Galax/Galaxy Brand.

Try this bios below


You can try this bios which has a higher clock speed even.


 
Top