• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fallout New Vegas low resolution textures

Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
So the other day I started up Fallout New Vegas again after a break and I come back to some guns with awful big black pixelated sqaure shadows on them and when ever I look a few inches infront of me everything is blurred to hell and also the ground literally looks like the minecraft texture for rock and I don't understand why.

I have no mods installed and I've reinstalled.
My rig
Intel Quad core 2.40ghz
Nivida geforce 275 gtx 800mb
3 gig Ram
Windows 7 64 bit

It was fine earlyier but I came back to it the other day and everything looks like a ps1 game apart from under my feet. I've tried to post this on a lot of sites and even email bethesda but no replies from anyone and I just want to play my game without these horrible blurs and smudges cos my game used to look good but now fuzzy pixely and rubbish.

Here is a screenshot you may need to zoom in to it, it seems like a problem with draw distance aswell:

http://img861.imageshack.us/i/42859948.jpg/

Here is a screenshot:
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
the picture doesn't look like your description.

it looks a little off, but just like the settings aren't maxed maybe. but no square blocks or minecraft textures for sure.

truthfully i don't know what that means. obviously monitor comes to mind but i have to
assume it doesn't look like that with anything else, including other games?
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Okay I over exadurated :p sorry about that but all my other games are fine I've been playing Portal 2 on ultra and Crysis 1 on meduim to high but Fallout even though my settings are maxed still doesn't look great at all even the console version looks better and I do have it console :p
Thanks for replying though
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#4
no problem.

settings are maxed? do you notice a difference changing low to high & vice versa?
have you changed any defaults in your nvidia control panel? locking aa or anything?

the screen shot doesn't look that bad, so i have to assume it's your card's settings and not the game files.
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
It probably will be the nvidia control panel I've had to do a ton of tweaking so I best put it all back to default :) thanks again
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#6
It's been some time since I played that game, but I'm ready to bet that that's how the actual textures look.

.........

I just loaded the game and took a screenshot. Look at the low textures on my character's hands and the gun..
I think this game needs some good texture overhaul mods :)

 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
See on the varmint rifle with the big black shadow? Well on mine that has black sqaures going down the side where it should be getting brighter it's strange
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#8
yeah i do see the difference in pixelation for the shadows on the gun, so it's probably the shadows causing the issue - as everything else looks right in your ss.
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Hmm no difference I've reset everything changed resolutions and shadows but still afoot infront of me everything looks like blurred mess and pixely on guns
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#12
Huh it's fixed I put AA to max and AF lol thanksguys anyway it's much appreiciated :D
That's great. I also run AA and AF maxed, perhaps that's why those little squares don't show up on my varmint.

Still, textures in Fallout NV aren't that great...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
I notice what hes talking about. Its the mipmapping settings. Check your graphics control panel and color bit depth. AF definately fixes it somewhat, but again check your mipmap settings.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#14
yea you need texture settings on high mipmap settings to best quality, etc otherwise it can get ugly. overall tho i use so many mods i dont use the vanilla in game equipment anymore.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#15
Hey guys, reinstall FO3 and it should occur to you how low res some of this game is.....an embarrassment for a 2010 game, but the trend when it comes to games that have already been degraded for consoles.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#16
Wow. Were weapon textures and models really that bad? I mean I do remember that graphics weren't so good, especiaally textures, but the first thing that I thought when looking at the screenshots was "LOD for those models are completely fucked up, as if using the models/textures that should have been used on enemies 30 m away from the player or something". I mean for the textures, I could "almost" understand them, the game being cross platform and consoles only having 256 MB, etc. But the model? It's almost just a f***g cylinder, I could do that in under 3 mins!

In fact, if my memory serves, the hunting rifle looked much more like this:



It's just a random screenshot taken from google, so I don't know if that's with a mod applied, but on my head it looked pretty much like that and nowhere close to what I see on ss in this thread. So I reiterate that probably LOD is broken for both OP and BP.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#17
thats a different weapon above bene

i can confirm the varmint rifle does indeed look that shitty other weapons look better,
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
2,680 (0.89/day)
Likes
693
Location
Reaching your left retina.
#18
Ah ok. It's really horrible then, from the looks of it it doesn't even have UVW coordinates set right, which would be understandable if it was indeed a low detail LOD replacement, but not for the player's weapon. :banghead:

I never played New Vegas. That weapon is not present in Fallout 3 right? Or maybe I forgot about it, because it's a shame for 3d artists around the world.

And yeah after googling varmint rifle... and seeing that it trully is that way (not that I didn't believe you crazyeyes)... you MUST use this mod. Even if you want to play vanilla, I think at least this ONE mod (or a similar one) is essential.

http://www.newvegasnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=41224



I dont know if this affects the unscoped or other versions of this weapons, maybe there's a mod that replaces all weapons... then use it. Just use it.

PS: Sorry if I'm being annoying but I'm shocked and terribly horrified by such a model in a 2010 game... :cry:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#19
lol you got to remember bene consoles were the lead platform for Oblivion Fallout 3 and New Vegas all same game engine same settings same everything, nothings changed from Bethesda / Obsidian with this game engine in 5 years, it looks old because it is old lol

also that mod was removed because the user was a POS and stole it from someone else lol.

heres a working link to the original modder who did the work
http://www.newvegasnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=35189

and yea bene trust me i use alot of mods 90+ for New Vegas and counting,

just grabbed the Eve 900 companion mod a couple days ago adds the Terminators to the game + underground lab and about 40-50 new mutated creatures etc so it was pretty epic. If you havent played New Vegas id say pick it up and give it a play through. its worth about 2 full plays roughly 90-120hrs. with no DLC but then again might as well wait for the Game of The Year version.
 
Last edited:

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#20
I dled a hi res weapons mod, popped it into the data folder, but nothing happened...?
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#21
did you unpack the file or did you just moved it to data?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#22
Some mods require fallout mod manager as well.
 

Kwod

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
548 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Australia
System Name Crysis 3
Processor i3570+CM 212
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77 V
Cooling Antec 1100+3 fans
Memory 2x8gig 1600 Corsair
Video Card(s) Saphire 7950 Vapour X
Storage Samsung 250g 840
Display(s) 26in LCD 1920x1200 8 bit+37in 1080p HDTV
Case Antec 1100
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG+Z5500D
Power Supply Antec 650 Hi current
Software W7 64
#23
Name: Hi-Res World Weapon Textures
Author: Das Great/Jimmy Hsu
Version: 1.0
Date: 10/24/2010
Cateogry: Models and Textures
Link: http://newvegasnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=35235
I unpacked this to a 270mb textures folder, and moved that to my FV data folder as per the read me.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\fallout new vegas/data
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#24
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#25
Not really what the OP is talking about though. If you right click the image and click view image, you will see all textures at angles are SQUARES. No filtering whatsoever. Like you are playing Quake 2 software rendering. Its the mipmaps.