1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Faster memory...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by PennySavre, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. PennySavre

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Check my "system specs" for the system I have. The current memory I have is some Corsair running at 667MHz. I was thinking about getting some OCZ Reaper of stock speed 1066-1200MHz. Think it will be compatible with my motherboard? If so, what kind of performance improvement do you think I'd get... something like 4-6% in non-synthetics?
     
  2. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    800 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Romania
    See yourself.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Your mobo officially supports 800Mhz RAM. So any higher than that and your into OCing. It might be best to take your current RAM to 800Mhz. I had that ram once, its pretty good, and IIRC it can OC to 800Mhz with a bit of patience. I dont know a lot about OCing RAM so I'll leave that upto someone else to help. You will prob see an improvement going from 675 to 800. Any higher and it just gives you slightly faster load times and app responsiveness, no greater performance in 3d apps IMO.
     
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,272 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    504
    not a big performance jump probley 5-10% in same programs
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You will see a minor improvement in load times for most applications with faster ram. The Reapers are pretty decent. They should work in your board just fine. Just realize the will not be recognized as DDR2 1066. You will need to OC them for that speed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)