• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox in Warp Zone, Updated to Version 7.0

Is version-warping in any way helpful to Firefox?

  • Yes

    Votes: 6 8.2%
  • No

    Votes: 39 53.4%
  • I don't care

    Votes: 28 38.4%

  • Total voters
    73
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,047 (1.21/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory TForce T1 Gaming 2x8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER Ventus OC
Storage ADATA XPG SX6000 Pro 512GB, Western Digital Caviar Blue 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB
Display(s) Acer 23" X233H 1080p 60Hz
Case Bitfenix Nova TG
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12III 650W
Mouse Elephant ELE G7 wireless
Keyboard Redragon K557 KAIA RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10
Yes. If you open up a command line and type "ver" it says "Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]."
No, it says "Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]." :cool:


:laugh:
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.28/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
lol Sorry, mine's still on RTM, not SP1. Long story there...
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,684 (1.04/day)
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Out of all the things to bitch about today this is the least deserving. Stop giving a crap. Problem solved.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Yes. If you open up a command line and type "ver" it says "Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]."
And Windows 8 DP is "6.2.8102" xDD
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,900 (2.97/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
this just proves the firefox people have been infiltrated by lame managers and overpaid marketing consultant nut jobs.

if you want to read about PROPER "versioning" then look no further than apache.

http://apr.apache.org/versioning.html
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.13/day)
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
I updated, and somehow magically lost adblock, was a weird experience.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.28/day)
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Whatever the changes are I am not seeming them or noticing them off the bat.
It looks and runs just the same as the previous FF IMO.
No, now if you got to About Firefox you will see Firefox 7 instead of 6 xD
Seriously, because according to the OP it basically is only an update in its engine with the exception of the improved Sync feature. That's why I think it's ridiculous to name it like a major update instead of 6.x or 6.0.x .


not surprising...
However it is very different to Windows 7 in all the aspects, performance, GUI, resource consumption, new major features like Metro, HyperV, better anti malware software... I believe Microsoft does the opposite of what Firefox and Chrome are doing: make major versions like minor ones in their versioning system of Windows (if it doesn't refer the kernel, of course).
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.80/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
pressed 2 by accident but even if the "kernel and stuff" was V 6.1, Windows 7 is sufficiently different to warrant a different name then Vista. It is in no way comparable to the inflation of version of FF.
Not really. Under the hood it's mostly just Vista with visual changes.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.31/day)
I noticed Firefox 7 now forces GDI-style rendering for "Microsoft core web fonts". I actually prefer the so-called "blurry" look so I deleted everything in gfx.font_rendering.cleartype_params.force_gdi_classic_for_families.
 

Undead46

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Location
USA, Texas
Processor i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz - 1.335VCore
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution (B3)
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 2133MHz 7-11-8-27-1N (F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 (Unlocked)
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD (OS & Games), 500GB WD Caviar Blue, 250GB WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Dell 23" U2311H IPS Monitor
Case Cooler Master HAF X Full Tower
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Professional - 64bit
7.0.1 has been released, fyi. c:
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Speaking of Firefox, now Firefox 10 Nightly build is released :D
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
Can't wait for FF 16 next week :p
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.31/day)
7.0.1 has been released, fyi. c:
http://blog.mozilla.com/addons/2011/09/28/issue-discovered-with-firefox-add-on-upgrades/


Update (Sept. 29 3:45pm Pacific): A new update for Firefox that fixes this issue is now available, and all users are encouraged to update to the latest version from within the Firefox About window or by downloading from mozilla.org/firefox.

We’ve identified an issue in which some users may have one or more of their add-ons hidden after upgrading to the latest Firefox version, affecting both desktop and mobile. These add-ons and their data are still intact and haven’t actually been removed. We paused new updates to Firefox to minimize the potential impact on users and will soon release an update to fix this issue and ensure all your add-ons are visible and usable. In the meantime, if you notice an add-on missing entirely from the Add-ons Manager, you can use a simple workaround to recover them.

We are working hard to resolve this issue. We know how important add-ons are to you and apologize for the inconvenience.

Justin Scott, on behalf of the Firefox Add-ons team
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.80/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.38/day)
I'm still waiting for them to fix the rotten laggy scrolling. Apparently i have to run my super high end desktop in a Aero Basic mode for this shit not to happen. C'mon!?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Yeah, a couple new shiny features on top, and a WDDM update. Under the hood, it still runs and processes most things just like Vista. It really is just a tweaked Vista. It isn't a new ground up OS at all. Just an update on the existing kernel and platform.

In fact, Vista SP2 runs every bit as good as 7 in most things as well.
Yeah I knew that Windows 7 was a reply to the Vista poor reviews and performance but in my experience Microsoft done a excellent good with Windows 7 :)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.80/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Yeah I knew that Windows 7 was a reply to the Vista poor reviews and performance but in my experience Microsoft done a excellent good with Windows 7 :)
I agree. I'm just saying that it is primarily the same OS underneath, and that fully updated Vista gets a bad rap.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.23/day)
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
Is it just me or are the rest of you finding that Firefox, although having been somewhat offloaded from the CPU, is now overloading the GPU?
I was wondering why my MSI-AB was ramping up my GPU's fanspeed, only to see higher temperatures from Firefox intermittently taking the GPU usage to over 50%, more than even "The Witcher", which only uses ~35% at max gfx!!
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
Is it just me or are the rest of you finding that Firefox, although having been somewhat offloaded from the CPU, is now overloading the GPU?
I was wondering why my MSI-AB was ramping up my GPU's fanspeed, only to see higher temperatures from Firefox intermittently taking the GPU usage to over 50%, more than even "The Witcher", which only uses ~35% at max gfx!!
Nope using ~50% GPU here, except when scrolling then it raises to 80-90%

Anyway you can disable hardware acceleration.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.23/day)
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
Nope using ~50% GPU here, except when scrolling then it raises to 80-90%

Anyway you can disable hardware acceleration.
That sort of usage doesn't seem too high for you? What on earth could it be processing to use that much?!
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,478 (0.38/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor Intel Core i3 6100
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Netway
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1803
That sort of usage doesn't seem too high for you? What on earth could it be processing to use that much?!
The page rendering, CSS and HTML layouts, JavaScript, text fonts, animations, scrolling, Flash, etc (as far I know) :)

Yeah it's very high and the GPU heats considerably, but at least it's way faster and more efficient than CPU rendering (at least here) without hardware rendering the scrolling becomes very choppy and pages with many images or complex becomes very slow, CPU intensive(this happens me with Chrome, while in Firefox with HW rendering, it is smooth (even with a HD5450 :lol: )
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.07/day)
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
You should try Opera, I never feel any need for hw rendering on any pages. Tried IE9, Chrome and FF with HW rendering on, and sometimes it still feel faster on Opera (IE9 with hw accel off is horrendous though), they work magic.
 
Top