• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Flashing the Sapphire R9-280x Vapor-X Tri-X

Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#1
I am planning to flash mine, just to unlock the voltages. Anyone tried it already?
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Why would it be locked and if so ,you think the flash will work? Be careful I see a brick incoming ;)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#3
the current Sapphire R9-280x Vapor-X Tri-x are voltage locked. VBE7 is fully compatible on the card. I'm thinking of editing the bios and do a re-flash. I just need more insights from those who tried it already as it would be my first time doing this. And thanks for the moral support :p
 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
I've flashed enough to know if a card is locked its been locked for a reason, but hey good luck and post how it went ;)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
I did mine last week with VBE7 (I have the origional Rev 1 VapourX with the dual fan cooler), mine maxed out at 1075 fully stable on the stock volts of 1.2V, I simply changed the 3D load voltage to 1.212V (which is stock for some of the super clocked models) and now she runs at 1100mhz all day, the bonus was it only added 2 degrees to the GPU temp and 3 degrees to VRM's.

Now here is the thing, as others have said, you use the term voltage locked? If that means that for example in Trixx you cannot manually adjust voltage then do not flash your card because simply put, chances are you don't have a software programmable controller and no end of flashes will change things and as others have said, would quite possibly brick your card.

If however you can manually adjust voltages through Trixx but rather than mess around with different software you would rather amend the Bios then you should be OK..... providng of course you know what you are doing!

If you have the voltage option in Trixx then check the votage increments first, they are strange, what I mean by that is that if you manually input say 1.220V and click "apply" you will see the incremental voltage set, if I remember in the case of 1.220V that reads 1.218V, set THAT voltage in VBE7, hence my 1.212V...... hope that makes sense? I used ATi Winflash to flash without issue..... but as always do so at your own risk.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#6
Oh I might have used the wrong term on my first post. The voltage slider is adjustable in Trixx but it's already max out by default which is 1.2v. And i could adjust the slider and lower the voltage but it won't set at the lowered voltage I set it at. It still remains at 1.2v. I loaded my card's bios on VBE7 and this what I got



VRM controller says CHL822x which supported on VBE7?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#7
Hi

VRM controller says CHL822x which supported on VBE7?
VBE7.jpg
Source here

how was this missed when downloading VBE7 from the opening post!

Note: don't forget to make a backup of the original vbios image before flashing

atb

Law-II
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#8
Is it also maxed in afterburner? Strange that you have a programmable controller but Sapphire limit it's application so to speak, especially considering that mine comes with an upper limit of 1.4V in Trixx!

if you are not very experienced or confident let me know and I can mod the Bios for you provided you dump/zip/upload it in here.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#9
yup, thanks, I saw that at the beginning. I just want to clarify what @Tatty_One said

If that means that for example in Trixx you cannot manually adjust voltage then do not flash your card because simply put, chances are you don't have a software programmable controller and no end of flashes will change things and as others have said, would quite possibly brick your card.
@Tatty_One

with MSI Afterburner, the voltage slider is greyed out completely. Thanks for the offer, still in the process of thinking whether I should do it or not.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
The controller is supported, the question you need to ask yourself is why you are doing it, if you like to push your hardware and eek every bit of performance out of it I can understand that but do you have what you need already? or is that itch just getting too bad lol! All I can say is that it worked flawless for me last week, your risk your gain so to speak, let me know if you need anything doing.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#11
more on curiosity and that gratification of pushing the hardware at it's limit :p and don't you think the Vapor-X deserves more than 1.2v? hehe. Now one last question before I hit the hay and think about it. Is it possible to just set the voltage in bios via VBE7 at 1.3v instantly or should I try first at lower increments? How do I know how far I can increase the voltage?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
Personally I would not recommend 1.3V for 24/7 use even on decent air cooling, it's OK for the odd benching session plus once it has been input and flashed it's there and non adjustable (at 3D load) unless you re-flash. I would go 1.25V max. That should give you at the VERY least another 50mhz, quite possibly more, obviously monitor temps in GPU-Z, especially VRM's.

Edit: You may find that raising the voltage in the Bios actually raises the limit in Trixx, on the negative side, if the restriction is imposed at the driver level (I am not a driver expert) then it could cause you problems. What is your upper overclocking limit in CCC overdrive?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#13
I could go as high as 1500mhz on the core and 2000mhz on the mem clock. What's the usual borderline for VRM temps?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#14
If they stay well below 90C at FULL load you should not have any issues, in reality at 1.25V you will probably only hit high seventies.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#15
do you really need those 10FPS more enoguh that you want to risk bricking this card? if you can afford to go for it.
but why not buy a better card in the first place :p
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#16
do you really need those 10FPS more enoguh that you want to risk bricking this card? if you can afford to go for it.
but why not buy a better card in the first place :p
cards already on hand, and I didn't have the slightest idea they were voltage locked. And it's not about FPS either. Just want to thread on unfamiliar waters. I could just sell these and buy a faster card but where's the fun in that? :p
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
533 (0.21/day)
Likes
246
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
#17
Ok so after 8mos. I finally decided to do the reflash. I only changed the 3d load clocks to 1175 and the voltage to 1.25v, nothing else. The flash was successful and after reboot, gpu-z confirmed the new clocks. I fired up Furmark and then grey lines. Fans are spinning like it's at 100%. Attempted it twice, same procedure and I got no luck so far. So I'm now back at the stock bios and confirmed the card is working fine. One thing I noticed though, using ati winflash, during the flash process, w/c is going from stock to modded, the program freezes a bit. I got the program not responding at the header. It would last almost during the majority of the process and then I'd get the prompt that the flash was successful. Going back to stock bios, I could see the progress bar running seamlessly to completion. No freezes whatsover. Any thoughts?