• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Outs Corrective BIOS Update for GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC

Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#26
Personally I wouldn't update a gpu bios if I wasn't having an issue and/or the new bios didn't add new features. In this case I definately wouldn't update the bios until Gigabyte come out with something that actually works for all.

Given that you're running yours on a PCI-E 2.0 you probaby wouldn't realise if you had a faulty card.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,265 (1.19/day)
Likes
1,687
System Name kom pu tor
Processor Core i7 8700K 5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom 240MM WC loop
Memory G.Skill RipJawsZ 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage A salad of SSDs
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Antec Egde 750W
Mouse Logitec G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K
#27
Than guess what? my problematic GTX670 WF? runs on my 2500K system. It had problems before.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.48/day)
Likes
170
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
#28
Than guess what? my problematic GTX670 WF? runs on my 2500K system. It had problems before.
Were you having artifacts while in game? And was the card overclocked or stock settings?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#29
Than guess what? my problematic GTX670 WF? runs on my 2500K system. It had problems before.
Then it was running on PCI-E 2.0 and thus was a completely different fault.

Sounds like a complete cluster-f*&^ by Gigabyte. I'd serriously avoid this card till they at least admit they are having issues and promise to fix them either with another bios update or replacing all the faulty ones with new ones that are fixed!
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.48/day)
Likes
170
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
#30
Then it was running on PCI-E 2.0 and thus was a completely different fault.

Sounds like a complete cluster-f*&^ by Gigabyte. I'd serriously avoid this card till they at least admit they are having issues and promise to fix them either with another bios update or replacing all the faulty ones with new ones that are fixed!
It is a shame that a number of people are having issues. But there are plenty of users that have no trouble with their Gigabyte 670 cards, myself included.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125423
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#31
It is a shame that a number of people are having issues. But there are plenty of users that have no trouble with their Gigabyte 670 cards, myself included.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125423
Indeed, but you too could have a faulty card and not know it. If later, for instance, you decided to upgrade to an Ivy processor but keep your 670 you may well find your 670 crashing constantly while in PCI-E 3.0. I know 2.0 won't bottleneck it but paying this amount of money for a GPU that is (in some part) broken is really disappointing. Some motherboards don't seem to have the option to downgrade to 2.0 either so you might be screwed.

If you're looking for a GTX 670 this is a safer and arguably better one:

ASUS GTX670-DC2-2GD5 GeForce GTX 670 2GB 256-bit G...

If I get the offer of a refund I'm probably going to pick up one myself.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,265 (1.19/day)
Likes
1,687
System Name kom pu tor
Processor Core i7 8700K 5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom 240MM WC loop
Memory G.Skill RipJawsZ 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage A salad of SSDs
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Antec Egde 750W
Mouse Logitec G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K
#32
Were you having artifacts while in game? And was the card overclocked or stock settings?
Stock settings, nasty artifacts and driver crashes in some games
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#33
But what if i in close time i buy ivy and z77 and realise that my card is faulty too? Who will rma it when GB is acting.like nothings happen and wont confess this is their fault?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#34
But what if i in close time i buy ivy and z77 and realise that my card is faulty too? Who will rma it when GB is acting.like nothings happen and wont confess this is their fault?
They may just be still investigating and this may be something they can fix with another bios update. It would be nice of them to at least inform the community that they have heard and are investigating though.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#35
Just flashed my cards from f1 to f4. It only just occurred to me after flashing weather I should have disable sli first or not? I used the gigabyte vga@bios software to do them. It seems to have worked fine but wondering if 1 card will only have been done or should both have been done together?

edit:-

in msi aferburner the first card bios is showing 80.04.31.00.58
and the second card is showing 80.04.19.00.0f
so I guess only the first card flashed.

Should I revert the first card to the original one or how do I update the second card?

edit:-

I just reverted the first card back to the original bios with the vga@bios program and think I'll leave it at that as I was not having any issues to begin with anyway so I guess if it's not broke, don't fix it :)
Running pci-e 2.0 and has been fine since day one touch wood.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
287 (0.08/day)
Likes
40
System Name Red Mist
Processor i7 980X @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard P6T Deluxe
Cooling XSPC Delta (Chrome), Black Ice GTS280
Memory 3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 7970 1GHz
Storage Samsung 250GB 850 EVO
Display(s) 22" Fujitsu + 50" FullHD Samsung PDP
Case Modded Cosmos 1000 (Ferrari Red metalic, white interior)
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850
Mouse MS/Razer Habu
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire TK
Benchmark Scores World First 4890 Crossfire Data. Highest scoring E2160 & E4600 on CPC Leaderboard.
#36
Had a pair in SLi that were dropping out in Furmark and 3DMark11 stress testing.

After the BIOS flash (F10 to F12) with the 304.79 drivers all seems OK.

Thanks for this.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
287 (0.08/day)
Likes
40
System Name Red Mist
Processor i7 980X @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard P6T Deluxe
Cooling XSPC Delta (Chrome), Black Ice GTS280
Memory 3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 7970 1GHz
Storage Samsung 250GB 850 EVO
Display(s) 22" Fujitsu + 50" FullHD Samsung PDP
Case Modded Cosmos 1000 (Ferrari Red metalic, white interior)
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850
Mouse MS/Razer Habu
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire TK
Benchmark Scores World First 4890 Crossfire Data. Highest scoring E2160 & E4600 on CPC Leaderboard.
#37
Just flashed my cards from f1 to f4. It only just occurred to me after flashing weather I should have disable sli first or not? I used the gigabyte vga@bios software to do them. It seems to have worked fine but wondering if 1 card will only have been done or should both have been done together?

edit:-

in msi aferburner the first card bios is showing 80.04.31.00.58
and the second card is showing 80.04.19.00.0f
so I guess only the first card flashed.

Should I revert the first card to the original one or how do I update the second card?

edit:-

I just reverted the first card back to the original bios with the vga@bios program and think I'll leave it at that as I was not having any issues to begin with anyway so I guess if it's not broke, don't fix it :)
Running pci-e 2.0 and has been fine since day one touch wood.
You can only flash the first card in SLi.

After that's done swap the cards over and flash the secondary. Really you should do it with just one card in the system at a time.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#38
Thanks for the reply.

As I wasn't having any issues to begin with I think I'll leave them as they are because I don't want to have to take apart my waterloop to flash each of them.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2008
Messages
287 (0.08/day)
Likes
40
System Name Red Mist
Processor i7 980X @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard P6T Deluxe
Cooling XSPC Delta (Chrome), Black Ice GTS280
Memory 3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 7970 1GHz
Storage Samsung 250GB 850 EVO
Display(s) 22" Fujitsu + 50" FullHD Samsung PDP
Case Modded Cosmos 1000 (Ferrari Red metalic, white interior)
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850
Mouse MS/Razer Habu
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire TK
Benchmark Scores World First 4890 Crossfire Data. Highest scoring E2160 & E4600 on CPC Leaderboard.
#39
You may be able to unplug the power to the top card, then connect your monitor to the second. This works on older cards and AMDs.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#40
ok will keep that in mind. Thanks.
Think I will leave it as is until I have an issue that might need a bios flash to resolve, until then I won't bother.

Thanks for the info though.