1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU Temp and Clock/Memory Speed is High on Idle

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by wolfaust, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Greetings,

    I'm having issue with high GPU temperature and clock speed on idle. I don't understand why. I turned off my computer and after 3 or 4 hours after turned on again. But it's starting with high GPU temp and clock/memory speed. It's like a game is running on background but no. My CPU temp and useage is normal.

    Now I'm downloading NVIDIA driver and will uninstall current one, then install the new driver that I downloaded.

    But if it's not neccesary, what should I do? I added a screenshot below.

    GPU-Z

    [​IMG]

    MSI Afterburner

    [​IMG]

    Thanks,
     
  2. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Looks fine.

    I believe the higher temps are from the fan turning off in idle state.

    What are your temps while gaming?
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    I'm monitoring these stats while I'm playing. On the idle it's 35-40 c. But I guess I solve the issue. I was turned on Instant Replay (NVIDIA Share feature) to record moments in the game. I guess I forgot to turn it off before turning off my computer. And Instant Replay is already opened when I turned on my computer again. I guess this is the reason, because when I turned it off, the clock speed is turned to normal. And GPU Temp going down. Strange. :D

    Thanks by the way for your comment.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  4. Aenra

    Aenra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    537 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    58 on idle is high. I do not know if it's considered 'normal' for your specific model (that's the MSI one, right?), if it's you altering the fan curves, or if it's just time taking it's toll; but for idle, it's high.
    You should experiment with fan RPM and/or have a look at the actual fans, see their condition. Since you mentioned it, i doubt this has anything to do with Nvidia's drivers. Next time you post, do state whether this is a recent occurence/you just noticed/card is new, etc?

    One general bit of advice however.
    Everybody, their mom, da, granda and this site included will tell you what a wonderful thing software that turns fans off is; it's not.

    The fastest way to kill or at best 'tire' your fans is to do exactly that, have them going on and off a couple of dozen times a day just.. because.
    Find a nice sweetspot between noise and heat and manually leave them there. Steady. Fixed.

    They will last you a hell of a lot longer.
    They will not (assuming they're of any decent quality) eventually start rattling.
    They will not (assuming they're of any decent quality) 'degrade'. At least not before it's time for a new GPU/CPU/whatever.

    And of course, cleaning.
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
  5. Avincombat

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    10 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I had an issue with high temps on my 4790k. I blew out the case and re applied the thermal paste. I also reoriented the fans for better airflow. Dropped from around 50 idle to low 30s.
     
  6. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    I fixed the issue. And my normal GPU temp when on idle is between 30 and 40. I turned off Instant Replay and it's normal now. I didn't know that this feature will use too much power, even it's on idle. I started my computer and GPU temp is rush to 60. :D

    [​IMG]

    Actually there wasn't any problem with the CPU. In the situation that I mentioned, CPU temp was 30. So I didn't start anything and it was normal. But the GPU is makes me worry. Now it's fixed.
     
    P4-630, eidairaman1 and rtwjunkie say thanks.
  7. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie PC Gaming Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,889 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,395
    Location:
    Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    I'm glad you figured it out! Sometimes it's just something dumb we do and only realize after awhile. It happens. :)

    Thanks for coming back and letting the forum know!
     
    P4-630, eidairaman1 and wolfaust say thanks.
  8. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Yeah. But still I don't know why this feature takes lots of power.
     
  9. Nokiron

    Nokiron

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    314 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Sweden
    It shouldn't. You probably just stumbled on a bug.

    A clean install of the drivers and GFE should fix it.
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
  10. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Even though OT, sounds like the 4790 had a bad install/paste job to begin with added with incorrect fan placement . 20c cut at idle is pretty serious issue. Glad it got figured out
    Indeed :toast:
    What about just ending the replay task in task manager to see if it can reduce that temp overhead. Of course if you don't really need to use replay I'd stop using at least till they can get a patch for it.
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
  11. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    I reinstalled the driver but not check what will happen. I will try while Instant Replay is on mode. Thanks.

    The strange thing is that I can't find that task in task manager. :D As I said above, I will try it again.

    By the way, is 30c not good for CPU?

    Thanks! :)
     
  12. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    353 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    I have just recently reinstalled Windows with build 1607 and I had exactly the same problems , the card would never run at idle clocks , though in my cases things were more extreme as I was getting random black screens in addition to that. Went back to build 1511 and haven't encountered any of these issues. Maybe it was because of this in my case as well?
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
  13. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Actually yes, I encountered with this issue after installing latest Windows 10 update.
     
    Vya Domus says thanks.
  14. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    353 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Well this is strange , I might update it and see if this was what caused it.
     
  15. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Now there is no problem, because I turned off the replay. But I will check it again today..
     
    revin says thanks.
  16. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    576
    That's great, but that poster with the CPU issue, with 50 idle had some sort of issue starting out
    As you pointed out you don't have any issue with CPU, thus I used the Off Topic

    It might just be a while before there is a patch for the recent issue with Replay but at least it's now confirmed that is probably what the issue is.
     
    wolfaust says thanks.
  17. wolfaust

    wolfaust

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Istanbul
    I'm 100% sure now. It's reason is definetly Instant Replay feature. I added a screenshot in the attachment and as you see on that screenshot, when I open Instant Replay, it gives me these results. :D

    And I sent this issue to NVIDIA on Twitter a while ago but they are not respond that. :D

    I sent screenshot again.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
    eidairaman1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)