• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z 0.2.7 reading

darkfrank

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Can anyone tell me wt is the MEMIO reading for.....?
Cuz i got some trouble after installed my AC s1 on 4870,with all ram heatsink and mosfet heatsink,i got this
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    171.3 KB · Views: 2,344

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.63/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Pic not workie. :(
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.63/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Wow thats a lot of temps, i thought the 48xx series only had 3 temps. All on GPU core. Dont like the fact that your fan is on 1rpm. is it spinning okay??
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,499 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
It is one of the three on die temp sensors in the RV770 core. I don't know if it is normal for it to be that high, maybe someone with 4800 can tell you what their readings are.
 

darkfrank

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Wow thats a lot of temps, i thought the 48xx series only had 3 temps. All on GPU core. Dont like the fact that your fan is on 1rpm. is it spinning okay??

I have installed my AC S1 with a 12CM fan,so it does not show the fan speed.
 

darkfrank

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
It is one of the three on die temp sensors in the RV770 core. I don't know if it is normal for it to be that high, maybe someone with 4800 can tell you what their readings are.

I got a reboot if the gpu was under full load...so probably the MEMIO temp is too high,just wanna know which part it was
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.63/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
They are all on the GPu die afaik. you may need to reseat the cooler. What thermal paste did you use?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.22/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
You need to make sure the cooler base has even pressure on the GPU die and is making good contact. Also make sure the TIM is evenly spread over the die. The MEMIO is normally the hottest of the 3 core temps. It should be 5-15C hotter then the other two.
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.13/day)
I agree with alex and Fr@nk. You need to re-seat/re-install your S1. The temperature variation between the three on-core GPU temps is much too great, signifying poor contact between the S1 base and the GPU core...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,528 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
yep the problem is that your cooler is making uneven contact with the die. since the memio sensor is not located in the middle of the die it wont get cooled as well if the baseplate isnt sitting right on the core
 

acrowley23

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
78 (0.01/day)
Hi

Nice work! 0.27 works perfect on my 4870Card

can someboy explain the new values ?
(not my card on this pic)
[/QUOTE]

Is it ?:
1: GPU Temp
2. Memory temp
3. Shadercore ( what is shadercore?)

VDDC=VoltageRegulators /Vitec/ Pulse regulators ?

Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Hi

Nice work! 0.27 works perfect on my 4870Card

can someboy explain the new values ?

Is it ?:
1: GPU Temp
2. Memory temp
3. Shadercore ( what is shadercore?)

VDDC=VoltageRegulators /Vitec/ Pulse regulators ?

Thank you

Well, my guess/logic is:
GPU DISPIO - GPU (meaning GPU chip itself) DISPlay Input/Output; this would be part of GPU core that is responsible for communication with components that lead to your monitor (display)
GPU MEMIO - GPU MEMory Input/Output; meaning this is the temperature of the memory controler that is a part of GPU chip
GPU SHADERCORE - well, not much to explain. Shader core is part of GPU chip (core) that contains shader processing units, so this is the temperature of processors of your graphics card

VDCC Slave 1/2/3 - I have no exact idea, these are obviously VRM regulation temperatures, just not sure what slave 1/2/3 means. Are these temperatures for three chips consisting voltage regulation of the card?

Now what I'd really like is a scheme of GPU and VRM, showing which area sensors are placed in. Wizz, you seem to have that info :) It would help a lot in situations like darkfrank has, where only one temperature reading is "off scale" Thanks :toast:
 
  • Like
Reactions: HSM

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,528 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
luxzg is correct about the 3 on-die sensors

the vddc slave temps are the temperatures of the 3 pwm phase controllers on the card. marked on the picture below, hard to see. to the right of the big voltage controller ic
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: HSM
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,605 (0.99/day)
Location
Multidimensional
System Name PC Mustard Race
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 Stock PBO On
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus B450 ITX
Cooling 4 x 120mm InWin Polaris RGB Fans
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX White 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3060 Ti 8GB
Storage 1TB WD Black M.2 / 2TB Samsung 2.5Inch HDD
Display(s) 4K LG TV 60hz
Case InWin A1 Plus Mini
Audio Device(s) Realtek Audio
Power Supply 650W Gold Rated InWin PSU
Mouse Wireless Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro
Keyboard Wireless Corsair K63
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Don't do em anymore.
His mine, what do you thinks of the temps, I tried overclocking it ran well but I dont trust this motherboard, it only has PCI E not 2.0
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
@Chaos - seems fine to me..a bit weird that shadercore is 5C higher (usually first and third reading were always pretty much the same, only second being a bit higher, at least on 4870's if I remmember right). But since it's pretty cool 45-50C on all three in idle, I'd say it's all fine.

@Wizz..
luxzg is correct about the 3 on-die sensors

the vddc slave temps are the temperatures of the 3 pwm phase controllers on the card. marked on the picture below, hard to see. to the right of the big voltage controller ic
(img cut out)

Ummm..marked on the picture, and hard to see? I can't see sh** :D
Oh, right, I saw it now when I've saved it and opened in paint with 2x zoom :) You should have done it in green, or any other non-PCB-red color :D But thanks for confirming ;)

Btw, do you know anything about which is slave 1 and which is slave 3? I guess slave2 should be in the middle..
And I wonder.. will this card show 4 such temperatures, as small (but noticable) differences seen in last picture confirm it has a bit longer VITEC voltage controller chip (populates that empty space with free connections on PCB), and additional components where 4th "vddc slave" chip is missing on reference cards ;)
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.13/day)
Spent an hour goofing around with the VRM temps;



-----------------------

His mine, what do you thinks of the temps, I tried overclocking it ran well but I dont trust this motherboard, it only has PCI E not 2.0

Temps look fine for your HD4850. Although I don't know how you can stand running the fan at that speed. I'd be ready to kill someone with that droning.

The functionality and performance of your HD4850 won't be affected by the PCI-E revision (1.x/2.0) of the slot on your motherboard.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,528 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
And I wonder.. will this card show 4 such temperatures, as small (but noticable) differences seen in last picture confirm it has a bit longer VITEC voltage controller chip (populates that empty space with free connections on PCB), and additional components where 4th "vddc slave" chip is missing on reference cards ;)

yes, unless powercolor messed up the voltage regulator design somehow
 

acrowley23

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
78 (0.01/day)
@wizzard

is its possible to read out the Temp from VITEC ?

And what is the function from the pwm phase controllers ?
I thought these 3 Chips are the Voltage Regulator / GPU VRM.
In EVEREST its called GPU VRM

And can you add a monitoring/logging -save to file Function please ?:)
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,528 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
possible: no, there is no point, it won't get hot
the voltage controller ic has no current going through it, it just controls the pwm phases.
these three chips are part of the gpu vrm, yes

i googled some random voltage controller:



marked red are the six mosfets (2 each are in the 3 phase controller ics)
 

acrowley23

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
78 (0.01/day)
Ok, THX

As i say....are planning some logging Function for the GPU-z monitoring ? Would be perfect:)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,528 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
yes, i can add logging. give me your wish list what features you want
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.13/day)
The large Vitec chip and the two smaller Pulse chips are effectively cooled without heatsinks, with just some low/moderate airflow from the VGA cooler fan or a nearby case fan. You shouldn't have to worry about them too much...
 

acrowley23

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
78 (0.01/day)
yes, i can add logging. give me your wish list what features you want

nice

my wish is nothing special :;)
- logging of all Sensors/ option to select custom Sensors
- save to file
- monitoring Graph (somethig like Rivatuners monitoring Window)
- GPU Z logitech G15 Applet with monitoring / vista Sidebar :)
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
I second those requests :D But logging should be fine at first :)

And I have one more:
- give us the option to resize GPU-Z window ourselves.. I want to see all sensors at once, without scroll.. Especialy since I can see 13 out of 14 anyway, so I have to scroll just for that one last sensor :(

@nafets - thanks for the markings of 1/2/3, and just to make it complete.. Is this what you ment about heating?
 
Top