• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z Is it working for your card or not?

Prodigys

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Maaseik, Belgium
System Name Ever changing thing...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 4 x 1GB Corsair Dominator's PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Club3D 9800GX2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 32MB SATA2
Display(s) Mirai 22" TFT/LCD
Case Lancool Metal Boned K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Sirtec High-Power 560W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate X64 SP1
Benchmark Scores Change all the time. - E6750 @ 4.5Ghz watercooled - Team PC6400 @ 1350Mhz - Q6600 @ 4Ghz / 1.384V
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
8800gt & 4870

Hi there peeps!, first time posting here.. :eek:

Anywayz, it seems the GPU-Z (tried a few versions till latest) doesnt seems to work on any of my rigs.

From my Gigabyte 8800GT TurboForce to my Gigabyte 4870... weird...

Basically, once i double-click on the gpu-z.exe... a startup pic (splash) shows up... and juz hangs there... nuthin happens not even an error msg displayed :p...
Its there something else i shld do?.. i tried clicking on the startup pic... nuthin happens...

Any ideas peeps?..

Btw, its there any other proggies that i can check my 4870 temps?..

Thanks in advanced for those who replied :)

Cheers :D
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
please describe your system configuration
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
you probably still have some nvidia drivers on your system so it doesnt know what to do
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
please describe your system configuration
I tried it both on my 2 rigs, one its Intel C2D rig and the other its AMD X2 rig.

Intel C2D rig :-
Intel C2D E8400
Gigabyte P35-DS3
Corsair XMS2 DHX PC6400 CL4
Gigabyte 4870
Corsair HX520w

AMD X2 rig :-
AMD X2 3800+
DFi Infinity SLi NF4
KVR PC3200 2GBs
Gigabyte 8800GT TurboForce Edition
Acbel iPower 510w

Both running WinXP Pro SP3 and All on stockspeeds :)

you probably still have some nvidia drivers on your system so it doesnt know what to do
I juz installed my new Intel rig, so everything fresh installed ;)

So, peeps any ideas?..

Cheers :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
which os? you using raid? scsi adapter?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
which os? you using raid? scsi adapter?
Both on WinXP Pro SP3, and normal setup on hdds, meaning no raid, and not using scsi adapter.

And oh yeah, i forgotten the annoying part its that.. when i try to start the GPU-Z proggie, it display the splash pic.. then it literally hang my pc, i can't even do "ctrl-alt-del" to get into my task manager.. lol

So, i had to press reset button my pc case =/

Fyi, i tried different drivers already.. no luck there either..

Cheers :eek:
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
very strange .. do you have some sort of antivirus installed?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
very strange .. do you have some sort of antivirus installed?
Crap!.. don't tell me its my antivirus doing?..

Fyi : my av its Kaspersky.

I'll try later, im going out now :p

Cheers :eek:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
i'm just thinkign about possible causes ... give it a try without the antivirus but i doubt thats the reason ... still worth trying
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
i'm just thinkign about possible causes ... give it a try without the antivirus but i doubt thats the reason ... still worth trying
ROFL!.. guess what?!... my av really its the culprit!... lol

After i close my av, GPU-Z finally works!.. lol...

Scary tho... had to close av juz to use GPU-Z :p

Thanks for the replies peeps!

Cheers :D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
can you 100% reproduce the behaviour? which version of which antivirus are you using? any settings other than the default?
 

stazi

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Getting incomplete data:

Video Card: Nvidia Geforce 9600M GT
OS: Vista Ultimate x64

Info I'm not getting is:

Technology
Die Size
BIOS Version
DirectX Support
Texture Fillrate
Bus Width
Memory type
Bandwidth
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
stazi, whats the device id ?
 

tomatomanz

New Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Tomatomanz's Intel C2D rig
Processor Intel C2D E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX Pc6400 CL4 2x2GBs
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4870
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GBx2 + 250GB
Display(s) BenQ G2400W
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair HX520w
Software WinXP Pro SP3
can you 100% reproduce the behaviour? which version of which antivirus are you using? any settings other than the default?
Heres my snapshot of GPU-Z :-


Im using Kaspersky 7.0.. and its on default settings.

Btw, i noticed theres no shaders display..


Cheers :wtf:
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
my powercolor x1950GT and HIS 3850 working fine here, though iirc the x1950GT showed up as HIS in the subvendor box.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
ATi cards dont have separate shader clocks. They are linked with the core.
 

b4b5

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
9600m GS

i'm in the same situation od stazi, Wiz if you need a tester let me know!
cheers
 

Clutch442

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Woodhaven, New York
System Name Carpeter442
Processor AMD 5000+ BE @3210
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2 GB OZC PC 6400
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 3870 OC Edition Sapphire HD 3870 "Toxic" Crossfire
Storage WD 320 GB / Hitachi 250 GB
Display(s) View Sonic 19" P95fx CRT
Case Antec SX 835
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500 + Thermaltake 450W Power Express
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 12342 (so far)
I wouldn't want to do without it.

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,027 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,894
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
9600m gt support will be in next release
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
9800gtx works

not sure if that was posted yet
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
i am sure it has been said many times... It is working with my 8800GT
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
My rig:

X2 5000+ BE 200x16@1.38v
ASUS M3A32MVP wifi-ap
4x1GB D9GMH @ 800CL3
HD 4870 @ 800/1100

nevermind, working perfectly!
 
Last edited: