• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] Support for multiple instances

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,178 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
This build should properly support multiple instances of GPU-Z without the dreaded "Can not delete driver" message.

This change required updates to our kernel mode driver, so I need testing on all possible OSes, 32 and 64 bit
 

Attachments

  • GPU-Z.exe
    867.8 KB · Views: 2,597

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.18/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Ran 6 simultaneous instances, 3 for each core on my 4870x2.
No problems.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,909 (1.22/day)
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i9 11900K
Motherboard MSI Z590 Carbon EK X
Cooling Custom Water
Memory Team DDR4 4000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF RTX 3080 OC
Storage WD WN850 1TB
Display(s) 43" LG NanoCell 4K 120Hz
Power Supply Asus Thor 1200w
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
No Issues
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.18/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Launched two instances.
Second instance was started immediately after 1st, while the 1st instance's splash screen was still showing.
System locked up and required power-off reboot.

Currently not repeatable.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,178 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Launched two instances.
Second instance was started immediately after 1st, while the 1st instance's splash screen was still showing.
System locked up and required power-off reboot.

Currently not repeatable.

that's very possible and should have happened with previous versions too
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,233 (2.59/day)
that's very possible and should have happened with previous versions too

Yeah, I get this all the time if I open them to quickly one after the other....something to do with both accessing the same sensors or something, eh?

Because sometimes one instance will open with no data at all, if it doesn't freeze the system.

cpu-z also does this, since adding the "gpu tab".
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,178 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yeah, I get this all the time if I open them to quickly one after the other....something to do with both accessing the same sensors or something, eh?

Because sometimes one instance will open with no data at all, if it doesn't freeze the system.

cpu-z also does this, since adding the "gpu tab".

maybe i could put some kind of high-level "initialization lock" in the gpuz init process, where only one instance can own the lock at the same time
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
7,899 (1.26/day)
System Name MightyX
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus TUF RTX3080 Deshrouded
Storage WD Black SN850X 2TB
Display(s) LG 42C2 4K OLED
Case Coolermaster NR200P
Audio Device(s) LG SN5Y / Focal Clear
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RBG Pro SE
Keyboard Glorious GMMK Compact w/pudding
VR HMD Meta Quest 3
Software case populated with Artic P12's
Benchmark Scores 4k120 OLED Gsync bliss
two isntances working flawlessly and detecting both intel onboard gfx and the mobility 5600



OS Win 7 64-bit Home Premium.

would you like testing of even more instances?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,233 (2.59/day)
maybe i could put some kind of high-level "initialization lock" in the gpuz init process, where only one instance can own the lock at the same time

Yeah, that'd do it. Just wonder what happens if say, 15 instances at once are opened or something. Some "mad-clicker" is gonna cause an issue..:laugh:

I guess what I mean is, what happens for successive instances...3rd instance should wait for 1st and 2nd...4th for all three...etc..
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
27,178 (3.70/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yeah, that'd do it. Just wonder what happens if say, 15 instances at once are opened or something. Some "mad-clicker" is gonna cause an issue..:laugh:

I guess what I mean is, what happens for successive instances...3rd instance should wait for 1st and 2nd...4th for all three...etc..

yes only one instance can own the initialization lock at one time
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,047 (0.38/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator XB323QK 4K 144Hz
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | GoXLR | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880| Rode Pod Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
VR HMD Oculus Rift
Software Window 11 Pro
window home server 32bit no issue



7 home premium 64bit no issue



7 enterprise 64 bit no issue

 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (2.18/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
yes only one instance can own the initialization lock at one time

I think that having instances wait in some kind of queue would be problematic.

It would be easier to check for the initialization lock and have any other starting instances terminate (with a user message to wait to start GPU-Z) if they are locked out.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (0.68/day)
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
XP Pro x86 works fine, 4 instances
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top