• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] Support for multiple instances

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,050 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,708
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
This build should properly support multiple instances of GPU-Z without the dreaded "Can not delete driver" message.

This change required updates to our kernel mode driver, so I need testing on all possible OSes, 32 and 64 bit
 

Attachments

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,869 (1.80/day)
Likes
2,325
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Intel DC P3700 1.6TB / Intel Optane
Display(s) LG 34UC98 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#3
No Issues
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.25/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#4
Launched two instances.
Second instance was started immediately after 1st, while the 1st instance's splash screen was still showing.
System locked up and required power-off reboot.

Currently not repeatable.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,050 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,708
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
Launched two instances.
Second instance was started immediately after 1st, while the 1st instance's splash screen was still showing.
System locked up and required power-off reboot.

Currently not repeatable.
that's very possible and should have happened with previous versions too
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,958 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,385
#6
that's very possible and should have happened with previous versions too
Yeah, I get this all the time if I open them to quickly one after the other....something to do with both accessing the same sensors or something, eh?

Because sometimes one instance will open with no data at all, if it doesn't freeze the system.

cpu-z also does this, since adding the "gpu tab".
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,050 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,708
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
Yeah, I get this all the time if I open them to quickly one after the other....something to do with both accessing the same sensors or something, eh?

Because sometimes one instance will open with no data at all, if it doesn't freeze the system.

cpu-z also does this, since adding the "gpu tab".
maybe i could put some kind of high-level "initialization lock" in the gpuz init process, where only one instance can own the lock at the same time
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,583 (1.34/day)
Likes
870
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#8
two isntances working flawlessly and detecting both intel onboard gfx and the mobility 5600



OS Win 7 64-bit Home Premium.

would you like testing of even more instances?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,958 (3.73/day)
Likes
11,385
#9
maybe i could put some kind of high-level "initialization lock" in the gpuz init process, where only one instance can own the lock at the same time
Yeah, that'd do it. Just wonder what happens if say, 15 instances at once are opened or something. Some "mad-clicker" is gonna cause an issue..:laugh:

I guess what I mean is, what happens for successive instances...3rd instance should wait for 1st and 2nd...4th for all three...etc..
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,050 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,708
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
Yeah, that'd do it. Just wonder what happens if say, 15 instances at once are opened or something. Some "mad-clicker" is gonna cause an issue..:laugh:

I guess what I mean is, what happens for successive instances...3rd instance should wait for 1st and 2nd...4th for all three...etc..
yes only one instance can own the initialization lock at one time
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,901 (0.58/day)
Likes
633
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor i7 6800k 4.2ghz @1.28v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX @3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Acer XB270H Abprz 27" G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10
#11
window home server 32bit no issue



7 home premium 64bit no issue



7 enterprise 64 bit no issue

 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.25/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#12
yes only one instance can own the initialization lock at one time
I think that having instances wait in some kind of queue would be problematic.

It would be easier to check for the initialization lock and have any other starting instances terminate (with a user message to wait to start GPU-Z) if they are locked out.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.14/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#13
XP Pro x86 works fine, 4 instances
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top