• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GTX 580 crashing in BF3 only, weird symbols on screen

Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hey guys I've been having this problem with BF3 for about 3 weeks now since I restarted playing. To begin, I've got an i5 2500k, gtx 580 and 16gb ram with an 850watt psu. I logged 100 hrs of BF3 maybe 8 months ago when I first got the game, never had a crash or an issue. Now I started playing again 3 weeks ago and I've noticed the game crashing at times. I found a picture below of exactly what I see when it happens.

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/9287/greenart2.jpg [img171.imageshack.us]

The game will just freeze with these green $$$ looking symbols on both of my monitors and I have to use task manager to close down BF3.

I was playing on high settings when I noticed it happening 3 weeks ago. I was told to lower some graphical settings and I did, it did not crash for about a week and I thought it was all done, however tonight it crashed twice within 20 minutes. I've done research and have found many others are actually getting this problem as well. Is it something wrong with my graphics card or is BF3 related? I have never encountered this in any other game.

I have the latest nvidia driver 301.42 and my gpu temp in bf3 is 58c and my cpu temp while playing is 49c-51c. Its not a heat issue. I'm not sure how to go about this or if there is anything I can do to fix it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

*Edit*
My gtx 580 is all stock with no overclock. 772 core clock, 1544 shader clock, 2004 memory clock.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#2
Check your voltages. See if they are still within +/- 3% of its rated voltage when on load (fire up IBT and Heaven Bench on extreme at the same time)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,350 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,973
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#3
card is toast rma it
the green dollar sign means just that time to drop some $$$$$$ on a new gpu
all the 580's ex-bit that issue when the vram starts to go
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#4
That is the weirdest GPU artifacting I've seen. Subbed so I can find out what it is.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,350 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,973
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#5
That is the weirdest GPU artifacting I've seen. Subbed so I can find out what it is.
just a guss but I am pretty sure its s a fail-safe warning coded into the drivers letting you know something is fubard Iv seen a few posts about nvida cards doing this shortly before the gpu self destructs
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#6
That is the weirdest GPU artifacting I've seen. Subbed so I can find out what it is.
weird yes, i wanna follow aswell to see what this ends out with.

but as Bjorn_Of_Iceland i would check the powersluppy to see and remember to update to the newest driver they have fixed a lot of BF3, D3 and so on in the last couple of drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#7
just a guss but I am pretty sure its s a fail-safe warning coded into the drivers letting you know something is fubard Iv seen a few posts about nvida cards doing this shortly before the gpu self destructs
Aye it certainly looks deliberate.

But I want to know what it actually means.

V-ram on the way out? Uneven voltage? Gpu clocks to high?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,350 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,973
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#8
Aye it certainly looks deliberate.

But I want to know what it actually means.

V-ram on the way out? Uneven voltage? Gpu clocks to high?
checkerboard patterns are normally vram
this looks like the core is having a meltdown
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
337 (0.15/day)
Likes
82
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling CoolerMaster V6GT
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX @2133Mhz(11-13-13-32)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD6950 2GB CrossfireX
Storage Hyper X 3K 90GB(OS+BF3),WD 500 + Samsung HD502HJ
Display(s) Samsung P2350,Full HD,2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
Very interesting,subbed to know how it will end up!
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#10
Just read up on some similar issues and the median response was update the 580's bios. It might be too low a voltage for certain situations. Could also be memory based as others have said.

If the card is dying and not returnable, if all else fails, try a bios flash (if there is a manufacturers more recent version).

Though I'd also maybe try rolling back drivers first.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#11
Hmmmm....well now i'm not sure what to do....I've been in evga's step up program for 3 months now waiting on the gtx 680. I'm in que number 231. If I RMA the 580 for a new one, that will void me step up because its a new 580 with different serial number etc won't it? How can I check the voltages to the card and also how to update the card bios?

I have an XFX pro850 watt PSU and both the psu and card are only 5 months old.... What are the chances that I've seen others with the same exact problem in BF3 only and none of their other games? I mean this is the only game that I've ever seen it on and it happens randomly. I've played BF3 for 4-5 days without a single crash after hours of playing. Yesterday I played BF3 3-4 hours without a crash, took a break and came back later that night and played another hour or so and got my first crash within a week. Then crashed again 20 minutes later.

I checked EVGA precision and at the time of the crash it registered 0% usage, fan speed, temperature and RPM. Almost like it turned off or reset however I heard no change what so ever. I tried installing an older nvidia driver but i'm getting a bug that tells me everytime "nvidia driver install failed". I looked it up and others as well are getting it. I don't know if its a bug or something. Am I gonna have to worry about the gtx 680 not working either when I eventually get it? This sucks.......... :-\
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#12
Hmmmm....well now i'm not sure what to do....I've been in evga's step up program for 3 months now waiting on the gtx 680. I'm in que number 231. If I RMA the 580 for a new one, that will void me step up because its a new 580 with different serial number etc won't it? How can I check the voltages to the card and also how to update the card bios?
about the EVGA Step-Up program email them if u can't call them. I am sure they will help you out if they can, i found that out with the registration of my dad's GT 520 and buying for 10years warranty they helped me in less than 2days with several emails back and for ^^
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#13
Very Weird, Well try to use your GPU on another computer and see if it hangs or not if it does then your GPU needs RMA, If it works fine then ?????:confused: or uninstall BF3 and install it again and see what happens.
It's a real head scracher!

**EDIT: Well you could try to flash your bios and check the voltages are normal or not and maybe try to under clock it

Q1:Why i am suggesting him to underclock?
Ans.:Well there was and old thread on TPU who has almost the same problem he underclocked his card and it work fine.(he has an 570 or something forgot the model)

Note. UnderClock will decrease your performence.**
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#14
Hmm.....

You'll always get a tonne of advice here - that's a good ting but it does mean you're still stabbing about in the dark.

It sounds more and more like a driver issue. Possibly a conflict with other hardware/software?

Do you have a discrete sound card? They can sometimes be a pain.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#15
Hmm.....

You'll always get a tonne of advice here - that's a good ting but it does mean you're still stabbing about in the dark.

It sounds more and more like a driver issue. Possibly a conflict with other hardware/software?

Do you have a discrete sound card? They can sometimes be a pain.
No, I don't have a GPU but that does not mean i can't help, do you have an P4

If you don't like my suggestions just ignore me:D
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#16
No, I don't have a GPU but that does not mean i can't help, do you have an P4
lol, what?

My post had nothing to do with yours.

I was telling op it's a good forum for advice but it takes some time to get to the root problem.

If i was having a dig at you I'd have quoted your post.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#17
NV driver install issue should not have anything to do with the card showing artifacts randomly and just in one game. You're on Win 7 I assume. Might try to install new driver with clean install option from NV driver install settings or reinstall Windows. Or just reinstall/repair the game. BF3 is sometimes strange and crashes to desktop are not out of the ordinary. Since it's just this single game I'd rather reinstall the game and check again.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#18
NV driver install issue should not have anything to do with the card showing artifacts randomly and just in one game. You're on Win 7 I assume. Might try to install new driver with clean install option from NV driver install settings or reinstall Windows. Or just reinstall/repair the game. BF3 is sometimes strange and crashes to desktop are not out of the ordinary. Since it's just this single game I'd rather reinstall the game and check again.
BF3 is also an excellent indicator of system stability. Mine hasn't crashed in months. Hell since I did a clean install of windows about 4 months ago. If your BF3 is crashing you have a stability issue.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#19
Thanks for the responses guys. I'm not really sure what to make of this issue. Just digging around the internet I've found others with this exact problem and they too have either gtx 580 or 560. I'm not sure if its related to the 500 series or what. Its only this game too. Others with the problem also report only having the issue in BF3 and no other games.

Keep in mind that when I first got BF3 roughly 4 months ago, I logged 104 hours of gameplay and never had a single freeze or crash or artifact issue. I took a 2 month break from the game, they had a couple patches, I've since started playing 3 weeks ago and have had 3 artifact freezes in the first week alone. Lowered some graphical settings and it was crash free for a week, and then last night crashed twice. I can't even recreate it if I wanted to, seems to just happen at a random time. I'm not sure if a BF3 patch messed with something, I mean those 104 hours of original gameplay in the beginning was using the same exact voltage as it would be using now. I haven't changed a thing, if I was undervolting the card, shouldn't I have seen this problem a long time ago?

Here is a list of all the games I have played on this system in the 5 months I have owned it.

Amnesia, APB Reloaded, Batman: Arkham City, Battlefield 3, Battlefield Bad Company 2, Command and Conquer 3, Company of Heroes, Skyrim, F1 2010, FIFA 12, Fuel, Killing Floor, Magicka, Metro 2033, MLB 2K11, NBA 2K12, Orcs Must Die, Plants vs Zombies, Saints Row 3, TF2, The Walking Dead, Worms Reloaded.

All of these games played and BF3 is the only one to have ever crashed, frozen, artifact, whatever you wanna call it. It just seems like a very strange coincidence that I have found others with the same issue and in the same game only. All of our GPU's couldn't have died at the same time -.- I'm really beginning to hate technology....
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#20
Try another thing, totally non-tech, reseat the card. If it works I'll tell you my experience with my EVGA 570 although not related to only one game, if not then forget what I just said.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
208 (0.08/day)
Likes
102
System Name MSI GT72S 6QE
Processor Core i7 6820HK
Motherboard Intel Sunrise Point CM236
Cooling 2 fans
Memory 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-RAM (2133 MHz)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M - 8192 MB
Storage 1 ssd 3 hard drives
Display(s) 17.3 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, LG Philips LP173WF4-SPF1 (LGD0469), IPS, Full HD
Case ??!!!
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC899
Power Supply most beautiful brick you have ever seen
#21
Oddly enough, reseating the card fixes graphical corruption in games for my gtx 460. For a while anyways, the problems come back in 2-3 months usually. Really freaking weird.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#22
I will try to reseat the card then and test. On a side note, I've stumbled upon voltages within EVGA Precision. On idle, at the desktop, voltage is around .963 and I believe under full load its set to 1.038. I'm not sure what I should be looking at for voltages, I'm completely lost with real technical things like that. But at full load on a gtx 580, is 1.038 volt where it should be at?

**Edit**

Card is reseated. I will test out some BF3 tonight and post results. Only problem is the crash is completely random so until/if it happens again, I'm in the dark if its working or not. So now that I've posted the voltages at idle and at load, I will wait for a response on where I sit with those figures. Thanks a ton guys!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#23
Okay played tonight for a few hours, had no lock up or freezing. Can't say a reaseat fixed it however since I'm not sure if/when it could happen again. I will have to keep an eye on it and report back if it happens again. Can anyone give me some input on the voltages that I've posted? Are they where they should be? Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#24
You reseted it so the volts will be also reseted so nothing to worry
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
#25
You reseted it so the volts will be also reseted so nothing to worry
Right but if my 1.038 volt when under load isn't enough to power BF3 then I'd have to manually adjust it a bit higher. I think the volts are right where they should be though. I've read that every GPU comes with different voltage set on the card.