1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX280 + AIM oddness

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by ap4lifetn, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    154 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    For some reason, my GTX280 won't downclock if I have AIM running, it'll stay at 670/1460/1215....however once i turn off AIM, it downclocks to 301/602/100...any thoughts? btw, this is all in a 2d environment (desktop)

    Newest drivers, newest version of AIM, Windows Server 2008 64-bit
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,143
    I think AIM is just interferring with the power saving feature on your card. With AIM running for some reason the Nvidia drivers think it needs 3d mode.
     
    ap4lifetn says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,048 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Use Trillian or Digsby instead. Much better alternative even if you dont use multi IM clients. :)
     
  4. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    154 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    eehh i actually prefer the new aim over trillian, but thx anyway, ill just stick to meebo i guess.

    weaksauce aim? or weaksauce gtx280?
     
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,048 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    What about Digsby?
     
  6. paulm

    paulm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    441 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    United States
    +1

    Digsby = the best out.

    Trillian has become a load of bullshit. They have had Astra in private alpha/beta for the past three or four years, which is just thoroughly retarded.
     
  7. CAPITAL LETTERS

    CAPITAL LETTERS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Ninja's Dont Need Homes
    ummm. question. why would u want to downclock your gpu?
    isnt the aim to get them higher?
     
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,048 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    You totally misunderstood dude. When he launches the AIM client (AOL instant messenger) it underclocks his GPU.

    Then again maybe this is just a joke? :eek:
     
  9. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    154 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    lol, maybe i shoulda been more clear..

    Nvidia downclocks the GPU to save power in desktop/idle when all that power isn't needed, it even runs cooler....however if i have aim loaded, the clocks stay in 3D mode, which uses up more power, and puts out a little more heat. I think erocker was the only one who understood me...my bad for the confusion
     
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Some 177.xx should have less active 3D clocks. It was made so because people experienced stuttering with clock changes. I don't have any programs in use that make it 3D (read steam, IE and punch of other programs can do it). 2nd display does it for me permanently, hoping it will get fixed in upcoming drivers.

    And for those not familiar with G200 series power saving features, GTX 280 only with it's 16 memory chips can take 118W. with 2D idle it's downclocked to 100MHz instead of it's original 1107MHz and offers great reduction in power as well as heat. Core voltage is also dropped and core downclocked, for me '3D clocks idle' -> '2D clocks idle' is 61C->48C core temperature.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)