• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hardware Accelerated GPU Scheduling freezes every game with 30 Series Cards.

Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
794 (3.07/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) All Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Samsung 870 Evo 500GB (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS ROG STRIX XG27UQR / Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
i recently remembered that HAGS exists.
back then i enabled it as soon as i installed windows. but now with an Ampere Card it does freeze basically every game i played (completely random... after 2 minutes or one hour)
just the screen freezes, Sound and input still works. i can normally alt tab out of it and look at it in the task manager (it is not listed as "not responding")
but it stays frozen until i close the game and restart it.

without HAGS everything works perfectly fine.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,187 (2.11/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
i recently remembered that HAGS exists.
back then i enabled it as soon as i installed windows. but now with an Ampere Card it does freeze basically every game i played (completely random... after 2 minutes or one hour)
just the screen freezes, Sound and input still works. i can normally alt tab out of it and look at it in the task manager (it is not listed as "not responding")
but it stays frozen until i close the game and restart it.

without HAGS everything works perfectly fine.

What if you turn it off, restart the PC and turn it on again, Restart PC, just because you got a new GPU.

without HAGS everything works perfectly fine.

Or just game without it.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
794 (3.07/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) All Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Samsung 870 Evo 500GB (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS ROG STRIX XG27UQR / Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
What if you turn it off, restart the PC and turn it on again, Restart PC, just because you got a new GPU.



Or just game without it.
i tested it over the last couple days including a fresh windows installation.
i don't need it (it does not give any performance benefits) i am just curious why it doesn't work with ampere.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Check task scheduler
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,382 (3.16/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I have a 30 series card (RTX 3070) use HAGS and can't say I've noticed anything bad. Just as a data point.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,304 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I've seen certain games that didn't like it, for a while wildlands and breakpoint would go mental if rebar or HAGS was enabled, until Nvidia patched it

I'd have to guess somethings up with the system breaking compatibility, or perhaps its exposing a previously hidden instability?
As always, BIOS updates ahoy capn, and try again!
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
4,382 (1.41/day)
It barely makes any difference to the performance anyway, better to turn it off in case of stability issues!
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2021
Messages
64 (0.62/day)
Location
France
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A | Noctua NT-H2
Memory 4x 8 (32) GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio
Storage 1x Samsung 980 PRO 512 GB | 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB | 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB
Display(s) 2x 1440p 165Hz ASUS TUF VG27AQ
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-750 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Mouse ASUS ROG Chakram
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red RGB
Software EndeavourOS
This feature was and always will be a mess. It only caused me stuttering.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,187 (2.11/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
This feature was and always will be a mess. It only caused me stuttering.

Strange that I have no stuttering at all being on all the time.
WIndows 10 fully updated. RTX 2070 Super, latest driver.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2021
Messages
64 (0.62/day)
Location
France
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-F
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A | Noctua NT-H2
Memory 4x 8 (32) GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio
Storage 1x Samsung 980 PRO 512 GB | 1x SanDisk X400 512 GB | 2x Crucial MX500 1 TB
Display(s) 2x 1440p 165Hz ASUS TUF VG27AQ
Case be quiet! Pure Base 500DX Black
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-750 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Mouse ASUS ROG Chakram
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red RGB
Software EndeavourOS
3070, last time I used Windows my browser was a stuttery mess and it only ceased after I disabled HAGS.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,187 (2.11/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
3070, last time I used Windows my browser was a stuttery mess and it only ceased after I disabled HAGS.
Strange things lol, I had for a while that websites were flickering in google chrome browser, it took some time but they finally fixed it. (nvidia)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
66 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel i9-10850K
Motherboard ASUS Z490-H ROG STRIX
Cooling Enermax ETS-T50
Memory Corsair Vengance LPX 3600
Video Card(s) PNY RTX 3070
Storage WD Black SN750 500GB + Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2721DGF
Case Fractal Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 750
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech G510
i am just curious why it doesn't work with ampere.
It's not an Ampere problem, it's just a HAGS problem.
If you don't use it, you probably wont notice anything anyway.
It's been working without any issues for me.
It has been an problematic for some games, or driver/hardware combinations.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,548 (3.81/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential (White)
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
This feature was and always will be a mess. It only caused me stuttering.

This happens to me as well. I have multiple screens and when I run with it on my games act odd and any kind of 3d rendering on another screen or a video runs like absolute trash.

I just shut it off.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,462 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I've started getting a random stall at the very start of a warzone match but thats all. Not noticed any hitching or stuttering in games or in windows. 3090.

Hope you figure out the cause, even though you have a solution. It would be interesting to know why its happening on your config... :toast:

@Solaris17 - Ahh it sounds like the scheduler is malfunctioning. Glad it works for you after turning Hardware scheduling off.
 
Top