• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help did something in W7 and now all opens with notepad

Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#1
Well title sums it up. Win7, Ultimate. All programs now opens in Wordpad and I can't seem to change it. All advices is welcome.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Right click on a program icon that has the problem and see what it's pointing to for a target
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,660 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,069
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 2GB OC GDDR5 Twin Frozr 3
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case Thermaltake Chaser A31 Black
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power plus 460w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#3
Cant you just select a video file and go right click/open with/ choose default program - and then you choose it (whatever you use) and thick the little box next to the Always select this program for this kind of file
Do the same for audio and pictures. I don't know any other way, maybe someone does.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,274
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
#4
talk about a text based operating system
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#5
Go into Control Panel/Default Programs and reset defaults from there
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#6
Cant you just select a video file and go right click/open with/ choose default program - and then you choose it (whatever you use) and thick the little box next to the Always select this program for this kind of file
Do the same for audio and pictures. I don't know any other way, maybe someone does.
Tried that, didn't work. Thx
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#7
Go into Control Panel/Default Programs and reset defaults from there
Can't see that option. I will ditch the HD and start re-install. Thx anyway.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#8
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#9