• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help Q9550 not stable even in 3.4(F..ing mad) Really.

Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#51
You should be able to hit 4.0GHz no problem .
I would also like to point out there is a thanks button on the forums here you should try using it more often as well . :toast:
Happy now I press it at all posts:D:D:D:D:D:D:toast::rockout::respect:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#53
Start at step 1-
Figure out your particulars..
For instance-

Drop the multi and crank the fsb and see where you hit a wall.
Then set cpu to stock speeds and crank your ram speeds, see where you hit a wall.

Take down each wall one at a time, that board is not great for clocking however this is the best way to figure out where your problem is instead of shooting voltages and timings around blindly.

In the end you will spend much less time figuring out your clock speeds and getting it stable.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#54
Start at step 1-
Figure out your particulars..
For instance-

Drop the multi and crank the fsb and see where you hit a wall.
Then set cpu to stock speeds and crank your ram speeds, see where you hit a wall.

Take down each wall one at a time, that board is not great for clocking however this is the best way to figure out where your problem is instead of shooting voltages and timings around blindly.

In the end you will spend much less time figuring out your clock speeds and getting it stable.
The problem is he will hit the wall once the CPU needs more power the MB just can not push the power needed .
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#55
The problem is he will hit the wall once the CPU needs more power the MB just can not push the power needed .
Ok... That doesn't change anything unless we already know for a FACT that his mainboard cannot supply the power and that's the issue. Which I HIGHLY doubt is the issue, unless his PSU is bad.

Overclocking 1-o-1
Step 1-
Figure out what your individual limits are, otherwise you are taking blind shots.

This is simple trouble shooting, something is stopping the system from being stable, what is it, narrow your options down, well if clock your ram up to 900 and it's stable you know your ram and memory controller is good for it, so next step drop your cpu multi to 6x and crank the fsb to 450, well that puts your chip at 2.7, that's slower than it's rated for, if that's stable you know your ram and board are good for it, then raise the multi and see where you chip caps out.

Now we all know that it's really a mix between them all but you are always best off narrowing it down the best you can, it's exactly how I found out my old P5K-E just wouldn't do over 450FSB on my Q9550 without voltages that were too high to really be safe without cooling upgrades on the chipset.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#56
Ok... That doesn't change anything unless we already know for a FACT that his mainboard cannot supply the power and that's the issue. Which I HIGHLY doubt is the issue, unless his PSU is bad.

Overclocking 1-o-1
Step 1-
Figure out what your individual limits are, otherwise you are taking blind shots.

This is simple trouble shooting, something is stopping the system from being stable, what is it, narrow your options down, well if clock your ram up to 900 and it's stable you know your ram and memory controller is good for it, so next step drop your cpu multi to 6x and crank the fsb to 450, well that puts your chip at 2.7, that's slower than it's rated for, if that's stable you know your ram and board are good for it, then raise the multi and see where you chip caps out.

Now we all know that it's really a mix between them all but you are always best off narrowing it down the best you can, it's exactly how I found out my old P5K-E just wouldn't do over 450FSB on my Q9550 without voltages that were too high to really be safe without cooling upgrades on the chipset.
The fact is that MB is the problem . Look that Quad needs way more power and it just aint getting it . The only thing powering it is a 4 pin power connector and from MY OWN experience a 4 pin power connector on the MB is NOT enough not by a long shot not for a quad core , what is needed is an 8 pin power connector this will deliver the power needed to overclock the CPU . But hey I am just saying this is my personal experience is all .
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#57
I think FSB Termination voltage is the answer here. Try 1.26 or 1.3 and see what happens.
 

97sslude

New Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
171 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Smyrna, GA
Processor Intel i7 3930K @ 4.6ghz 1.35v
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Formula
Cooling WC with xspc raystorm, MCP355+XSPC top, Swiftech MCR320+MCR220, MCRES rev2
Memory 32gb g.skill ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX580 SC + Heatkiller GPX3
Storage Mushkin Chronos Enhanced 240gb SSD (boot), WD 1TB Green, WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) HP 27" led 2711x, Samsung 32" LED 120hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Silverstone op 1000w
Software Windows 8 Pro / Hackintosh 10.8.2
#58
I know it's your mb but what's the stepping on your Q9550? just curious.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#59
The fact is that MB is the problem.
I wouldn't second guess that at any rate, it's very possible it's not a good board for clocking

Look that Quad needs way more power and it just aint getting it . The only thing powering it is a 4 pin power connector and from MY OWN experience a 4 pin power connector on the MB is NOT enough not by a long shot not for a quad core , what is needed is an 8 pin power connector this will deliver the power needed to overclock the CPU . But hey I am just saying this is my personal experience is all .
The fact of the 4pin connector not being able to supply enough power is silly, it's possible that the mainboard will not draw enough but consider this an 18awg wire @ 12v can easily draw 20+ amps, so unless his cpu is drawing over 240 watts it's not the issue itself. Now they do say there is an unofficial limit of 192 watts on that 4pin plug, still not an issue for this chip.

The changeover from an electronics standpoint was stupid and pointless.

I'm not arguing against your experience by all means, I wouldn't doubt it, but it would be the lack of ability to supply power from the mainboard, not from that being a 4pin vs 8pin.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#60
chek your northbridge. i had the p5q se and it had a crappy little block on it and that could be limiting you
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#62
The 4 pin is capable of 150w, IIRC, a 8-pin is 300w. So the 4-pin shouldn't be the major issue, and in fact I've done plenty of overclocking with a 4-pin(on a board that accepts an 8-pin no less). Now, 4-pin connectors can certainly be an idicator of a poor overclocking board though, usually because they have so few PWM Phases that they can't handle more than 150w, if that.

The problem is once the power gets into the PWM circuits, and is converted and deliveried to the CPU. The 4 Phase setup just can't provide a stable voltage to the CPU under the load of an overclocked quad.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#63
The 4 pin is capable of 150w, IIRC, a 8-pin is 300w. So the 4-pin shouldn't be the major issue, and in fact I've done plenty of overclocking with a 4-pin(on a board that accepts an 8-pin no less). Now, 4-pin connectors can certainly be an idicator of a poor overclocking board though, usually because they have so few PWM Phases that they can't handle more than 150w, if that.

The problem is once the power gets into the PWM circuits, and is converted and deliveried to the CPU. The 4 Phase setup just can't provide a stable voltage to the CPU under the load of an overclocked quad.
Yes I agree , I had my Q6600 one a 4 pin but I also could not get it past 3.0Ghz stable once I got an 8 pin power connector it went to 3.6GHz .
I am not saying it can not be done but I am saying from what he is stating in his posts it will not be happening unless he gets a MB that can hand out more stable power to the chip is all . But keep tinkering maybe you will get some were . I don't think so but give it a shot .
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#64
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#65
O.K. Guys I got a P5Q Pro Turbo at my local store for $100 .Not Bad For New one:D .I will play on in tonight, and let you know a deference tomorrow.:rockout:
thanks to all.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#66
O.K. Guys I got a P5Q Pro Turbo at my local store for $100 .Not Bad For New one:D .I will play on in tonight, and let you know a deference tomorrow.:rockout:
thanks to all.
WOW cool you should be able to hit 4GHz .
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#67
WOW cool you should be able to hit 4GHz .
Hi again.Yea this is a huge difference,I was able to hit 3.8 with all settings on Auto :roll::rockout:(just Playing),O.K now I'm at 3.6 stable 1.35625v :D with OCCT .But when I do Intel Burn test I got This: " check the pic " ,even if I drop Vcore to 1.3475.
(I Do not use Turbo V for now ,just bring it for you to take a look ,what I have in my Bios settings)What do I have to do to make it more cooler drop NB or Up Memory. Any suggestion ?
Is this a Top Temp or nothing worry about ???


http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=37651&stc=1&d=1282712975
 

Attachments

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#68
Hi again.Yea this is a huge difference,I was able to hit 3.8 with all settings on Auto :roll::rockout:(just Playing),O.K now I'm at 3.6 stable 1.35625v :D with OCCT .But when I do Intel Burn test I got This: " check the pic " ,even if I drop Vcore to 1.3475.
(I Do not use Turbo V for now ,just bring it for you to take a look ,what I have in my Bios settings)What do I have to do to make it more cooler drop NB or Up Memory. Any suggestion ?
Is this a Top Temp or nothing worry about ???


http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=37651&stc=1&d=1282712975
OK now try taking a small fan put it on your NB like I did . take the NB voltage up to 1.3 or even 1.4 at that time . You should also not need to set the Vcore for this at all . But I will check my bios settings for you and report back to you as there are some settings that you need to set that will give you that boost to get to ( I hope 4.0GHz ) just hold on some ok ?


Old pic but you see the fan right ?
Uploaded with ImageShack.us
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#69
OK here you are I took pictures of my settings for you . Note that I have the NB voltage set to auto and well my system is stable with this on auto so you may or may not have to set this just yet . But this took Kingston Hyper X RAM this is why I no longer need that voltage on the NB it is really good RAM !
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#71
So is there any progress or not ?
Sorry:rolleyes: I just got home,did some shopping with my wife.did not have chance to take a look at your stuff yet. I'll let you know.
Oh and I don't see the pic with the Fan on NB ,some error or somesthing.:respect::respect::respect:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#72
OH Now I see The PIC THANKS MAN !!!!!
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#73
OK here you are I took pictures of my settings for you . Note that I have the NB voltage set to auto and well my system is stable with this on auto so you may or may not have to set this just yet . But this took Kingston Hyper X RAM this is why I no longer need that voltage on the NB it is really good RAM !
What the speed of your RAM 800 1066 1333 ???
mine is 800?
just wondering .
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#74
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Seattle,WA
System Name RemDiablo
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom watercooling
Memory Corsair vengeance pro (red) 2133
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC watercooled
Storage SSD OCZ 240GB (boot),Seagate 2TB 7200 RPM storage
Display(s) 3x Asus VG248QE 24" monitors
Case HAF X Modded
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (on board audio)
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Software WIN 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores No score at this time
#75