• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help with my overclock please

RodClutcher

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
hi people i am new to overclocking my system build is ryzen 1600 af msi b450 mortar max 16 gig ddr4 3000mhz ram

so i have set xmp and run stress test with no problems then i have turned to the cpu

after a while slowly testing and moving up in speed and volts i have gotten my cpu to run at 4.1ghz at 1.3v. i have run several stress tests and played games for a full day with no problems BUT this is the problem im seeing and im not sure if its safe or normal

when using CPUID HWMonitor it is telling me my clock speeds value min max and average. the value and min are the clock speed i set in bios but the max shows much higher. min is showing 4099 and my max is showing 4721

is my cpu really boosting to 700mhz past the point i set in bios

i have left everything else on auto

i downloaded and attached the monitoring data can you have a look and tell me if im killing my chip or is it ok to keep running it like this.
 

Attachments

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,469 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
As long as you're not feeding it more voltage than 1.35, you're good.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,358 (2.30/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
is my cpu really boosting to 700mhz past the point i set in bios
If you've set a manual all-core overclock in the BIOS, then no. It's likely just a monitoring error because an all-core overclock for AMD disables boost altogether. you get the clockspeed you set and nothing else.

Also, a 1600AF is going to probably crash no matter how many volts you feed it beyond about 4.4GHz, and even then with extreme cooling and some luck in the silicon lottery. 2nd-gen Zen+ on 12nm simply can't do 4721MHz, I'm not even sure that a midrange B450 board could manage that with a liquid nitrogen even. Your board would fail before your chip hit the wall, most likely.
 

RodClutcher

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
ok so monitoring error. i tried dissembling ppo manually at one point but put it back on auto
something else im not sure on is power package. is it ok for that to be hitting 107 at times and is it normal for my cpu vdd to go up and down. is that llc being set to auto
with xmp i can use profile 2 with a 2933 cl15 or i and disable xmp and use the try it option and set the ram to 3200 cl16 and looser sub timings. am i better off leaving it on the one with slower speed but tighter timing. i see no big score difference with cinebench r15
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,358 (2.30/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
107W total package power is fine. 2700X is the same silicon and that's 105W at stock.

VDD is your motherboard compensating for load and temperature changes. It will fluctuate unless you lock it but as long as it's never over 1.35V you're not doing any damage to your CPU.

4.1-4.2GHz is about all you're likely to get from Zen+ chips like the 1600AF. Rather than worry about trying to squeeze the very last bit out of it, I'd be recommending a comfortable/easy 4GHz all-core at about 1.25V (or lower if you can get away with it) and then spend the rest of your time with 1usmus' DRAM calculator.



Guide:

The difference between a 4175MHz overclock and a 4000MHz overclock is going to be nearly impossible to notice, but default XMP timings on a DDR4 kit are far from optimal for Ryzen. Given that you're overclocking, I'd recommend using the 'safe' preset in the calculator until your 100% certain that both the RAM and CPU overclock are stable. If you want to shoot for the moon and mess around with the 'fast' preset then knock yourself out, but unstable memory overclocks are basically horrible. You can make a right mess of your OS and need to reinstall from scratch if you push your RAM too far and don't notice it.
 
Last edited:

RodClutcher

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
hi again. i have one more question that im struggling to find the answer to on google

is there a way i can make the cpu stop running at 4ghz when its just at desktop idle or does it not matter for the clocks to be high if its got 0% usage

pretty much everything ive seen so far on google says put power management on balance or ryzen balance. both don't appear to change the idle clock speed reading
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
1,358 (2.30/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
hi again. i have one more question that im struggling to find the answer to on google

is there a way i can make the cpu stop running at 4ghz when its just at desktop idle or does it not matter for the clocks to be high if its got 0% usage

pretty much everything ive seen so far on google says put power management on balance or ryzen balance. both don't appear to change the idle clock speed reading
Don't think so. All-core mutliplier overclocking disables all power-saving and that means that your idle power consumption is pretty high.

If you want a more efficient CPU overclock you need to do P-state overclocking which is something I don't have enough experience with to comment on. I use P-state underclocking on my Ryzen laptop but there are big differences between a 15W Raven Ridge APU and a 65W Desktop Mattice CPU.

I suspect there's a thread or two about p-state overclocking here on TPU, hopefully someone else can point you towards it/them.
 

RodClutcher

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
7 (0.13/day)
Don't think so. All-core mutliplier overclocking disables all power-saving and that means that your idle power consumption is pretty high.

If you want a more efficient CPU overclock you need to do P-state overclocking which is something I don't have enough experience with to comment on. I use P-state underclocking on my Ryzen laptop but there are big differences between a 15W Raven Ridge APU and a 65W Desktop Mattice CPU.

I suspect there's a thread or two about p-state overclocking here on TPU, hopefully someone else can point you towards it/them.
all good its not that often i leave my pc on idle anyway. i noticed in task manager my clock does go down a few mhz when idle 4ghz to 3.8ghz after changing to ryzen balance power plan just isnt showing a change in CPUID HWMonitor or hwinfo64 or ryzen master
 
Top