• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hey guys Realtemp(and coretemp) wont load for 2-3 minutes after boot

Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#26
find a lot of programs that need UAC take ages to start.

Riva tuner is what does it on my rig.
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#27
Its 12 hr prime95 and 1hr ITB stable along with no problems in day to day use/gaming? The programs worked flawlessly as soon as windows boots at both these stable settings and stock settings before.

But now even at everything stock/default this problem is still happening so I really don't think its a stability thing.
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#28
find a lot of programs that need UAC take ages to start.

Riva tuner is what does it on my rig.

The problem is the programs worked flawlessly from the get go previously. I had disabled UAC almost as soon as i installed Windows 7 and it has been disabled ever since.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#29
Hmm - restart, run realtemp and then go into task manager>performance and click on resource monitor - then in resource monitor go to memory tab and look for realtemp.exe - how many hard faults/sec is it having?

**edit**
Also right-click on realtemp in resource monitor and click analyse wait chain - this is something new i just found and may help us identify the issue.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#32
Zero hardfaults/sec.
Well this really is interesting..
**edit**
Also right-click on realtemp in resource monitor and click analyse wait chain - this is something new i just found and may help us identify the issue.
What about that^^? does it show any resources causing a delay?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#34
Says realtemp.exe is waiting for another process (Services.exe)
aha! there we go. Mine doesn't say anything as it is running normally - now services.exe is the cause of the problem.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#36
Boom okay!

Now what do we do about it hahahaha.
Well services.exe is a pretty critical process - go to control panel>administrative tools>services (not computer services). In there have you changed any of the settings before to improve performance? One of these things will most likely be hanging causing your issue, it's just finding which one..
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#37
I had to enable secondary logon in order to install Holdem Manager (poker program).

But that was the first day I had windows 7 and Realtemp has worked fine since then.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#38
I had to enable secondary logon in order to install Holdem Manager (poker program).

But that was the first day I had windows 7 and Realtemp has worked fine since then.
Looking through the list of services i'm trying to look for ones which could stall for a couple of mins (trying to connect to other devices being a usual suspect) - on your network do you have any other PCs, xbox360s, ps3s or media servers (basically anything which would get the attention of the windows media player network sharing service)?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#40
Hrmm

Things connected to my system:

USB Mouse
ps2 Keyboard
USB Microphone
Speakers
I mean on your network (connected to your router or PC by ethernet/wireless)
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#41
The router is wireless but the only things connected are my computer (wired) and occasionally my girlfriends laptop (but not right now)
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#42
disabled secondary logon just to see if that was it somehow and the problem is still there :(
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#43
The router is wireless but the only things connected are my computer (wired) and occasionally my girlfriends laptop (but not right now)
Ok then, the only thing i can think of now is to disable some of the services as a test, to see if any of them are hanging. For each one i list right-click it, go to properties and in startup type change it to disabled. Then after doing all of them restart and we'll give it a test - if it works then slowly re-enable one at a time until you find the culprit or if there is still a problem re-enable all of them back to their old settings (i've put their defaults in brackets).

Homegroup listener (default manual)
HomeGroup provider (default manual)
Print spooler (default automatic)
server (default automatic)
superfetch (default automatic)
windows backup (default manual)
windows media player network sharing service (default automatic, delayed start)
windows search (default automatic, delayed start)
windows update (default automatic, delayed start)

also make sure disk defragmenter is not running, and if it is then disable that (default manual)

Those are the only things which you don't need which i can think of possibly being able to cause problems, if it's not one of those then i'm out of ideas :(
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#45
Ugh- same problem

In the wait chain it looks like this

[ ] Realtemp.exe (PID: 2728) Thread: 2732
Indented [ ] services.exe (PID: 620) Thread: -
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.57/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#46
Ugh- same problem

In the wait chain it looks like this

[ ] Realtemp.exe (PID: 2728) Thread: 2732
Indented [ ] services.exe (PID: 620) Thread: -
Gah, i'll restart my machine, see what i get if i launch immediately on startup..

**edit**

well i restarted, as soon as i got the desktop i launched realtemp from my HDD and it loaded instantly, services.exe was also running with no delay. I don't know where your problem's coming from - either a service or the service.exe process itself isn't starting as it should, at least we know that much. I'm sure someone else on here will have a few ideas on how to figure it out - good luck (sorry i'm out of ideas now, i'm tiered so may come up with something later).
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#47
Alright man thank you for the effort so far - making some progress.


This is just driving me crazy because it didn't happen before and I can't think of any logical reason why this would ever happen with only Realtemp and Coretemp while Speedfan and T-Power and CPU-z all work fine.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#48
This is definitely a weird problem and one I've never experienced before.

Have you tried adding RealTemp to your start up sequence using the Task Scheduler?

Follow this tutorial exactly and it should work.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3970161&postcount=3657

Is RealTemp still delayed at start up? You can open up the Task Scheduler and it will report an error code if there's a problem. Something very odd is going on but I can't think of what it is. I have never heard about this issue when using Vista so maybe it's a new Win 7 feature. The go for coffee first thing in the morning when you start your computer up feature.

I'm sure there will be a Mac commercial about this in the near future. :D

Does this delay also happen when you resume from Stand By and try to manually start RealTemp or only when you first boot up?

Here's RealTemp 3.39
http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip
 

bigjared

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#49
Thank you for the detailed response unclewebb!

I have followed the steps and added realtemp to my start up using task manager and unfortunately the problem is still occurring.

Under task manager there are no errors or problems reported it just says that realtemp is running. However when I go back to the resource monitor I am still getting the same "waiting for service.exe". And of course after 2-3 minutes of waiting Realtemp suddenly pops up and works as if I just started it.

This problem only happens when windows 7 first loads yet as of yesterday this problem had never happened (4 days with fresh install of windows 7). Same system, same OS, same settings.

The only thing that is different is that I experienced an unstable OC trying to go above my stable settings yesterday. I promptly reset everything to known stable settings (where realtemp was working flawlessly before) and I now experience this problem.

I know you don't have anything to do with Coretemp but I am having identical problems when trying to it as well. However other programs that access temperature work fine like Speedfan and my Biostar T-power Utility.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#50
Does SpeedFan and the Biostar TPower utility read core temperatures or "CPU" temperatures, or both?