• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can I increase my lan speed?

Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
1,053 (0.73/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
I've shared a folder on each of my PCs simply to move large game folders about, but the transfer speeds are very slow, as per the image below.
I'd like to know if I can increase the file transfer speed, because moving a 64Gb folder takes about two hours, meaning it would have been quicker to download it from the Internet.
Router/modem is a Huawei Echolife hg8245q2, one PC has Intel(R) I211 Gigabit, the other has Realtek GbE through a LAN switch. I'm not sure if I'm using cat 5 or 6 lan cable as networking is not my strong point.

lan-speed.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,001 (2.82/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Step 1
Click "Start | control panel | Network and Internet | Network and Sharing Center."
Step 2
Click the "Change adapter settings" in the left pane, and then right-click the "Local Area Connection" connection and choose "Properties" from the context menu.

Step 3
Click the "Configure" button, and then click the "Advanced" tab.
Step 4
Select "Speed & Duplex" in the Property list.
Step 5
Select the speed and duplex settings in the Value box. Your choices are 1.0 Gbps Full Duplex, 10 Mbps Full Duplex, 10 Mbps Half Duplex, 100 Mbps Full Duplex and 100 Mbps Half Duplex. Auto Negotiation allows the network adapter to negotiate the maximum speed with the device it's connected to.
Click "OK" to apply and save the new settings"
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,150 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Have you looked at your NIC status under adapter settings to see if you are actually connecting at 1g?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,001 (2.82/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Have you looked at your NIC status under adapter settings to see if you are actually connecting at 1g?
From the graph, it looks like 10Mbs.
We also have to take in consideration of read and write times of the drives too. If the drives are slow, so will the transfer speed.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,150 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
From the graph, it looks like 10Mbs.
We also have to take in consideration of read and write times of the drives too. If the drives are slow, so will the transfer speed.
Thats what I was thinking 7 sustained sounds alot like 10mb linkrate.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,389 (1.75/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
1,053 (0.73/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,150 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Ah!
I think that's the answer. It's a 10/100Mbps switch, so I suppose data will only move at the speed of the slowest component?
View attachment 132487
you got it. Replace the switch and watch the speeds increase.

100mbit has a max speed of 12megabytes on paper.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
1,053 (0.73/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
We live and learn, so thanks for all your answers :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,769 (5.17/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,476 (2.02/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Backplane bandwidth is important if you want multiple machines to be able to connect and transfer sustained high speeds. Most consumer grade switches/routers aren't even capable of sustaining a single stream at their "rated" connection speed.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,150 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
550 (0.83/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Pro
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 4TB Seagate Barracuda, 8TB WD White, 128GB PNY CS900 (StoreMI)
Display(s) AOC AG241QX, 2x Dell 1908FP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Geekbench 4 on i7: 14581 multi, 4225 single @4.5GHz (https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/8441992)
Your setup is probably different, but I have my main system and media server connected through an old D-Link gigabit switch with static IPs on their GbE NICs (since they're also connected to a wireless network for internet). I get transfer rates of around 85MBps (680 Mbps) when moving large files between them.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,692 (6.24/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,728 (0.85/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Modern network cards tend to allow for automagic crossover if you use a standard networking cable. However, you'd have to set up manual IP addresses on each system for this to work.

Or you know, plug both PCs into the router, as that's most likely a gigabit capable router as far as the switch in it goes.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
1,053 (0.73/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
Or you know, plug both PCs into the router, as that's most likely a gigabit capable router as far as the switch in it goes.
That's what I ended up doing as it was the least expensive way, so I made up another network cable - which is not one of my favourite jobs, getting those pesky wires to stay in position when pushing them into the plug - and connected the other PC directly into the router, with the switch connected simply for workshop use.
Mind you, the wifi on my main PC is lightning fast and I always run the TV with a cable directly to the router as the performance is better with Netflix and Prime, so I can swap around as needed as all the ports are now occupied.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,769 (5.17/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Backplane bandwidth is important if you want multiple machines to be able to connect and transfer sustained high speeds. Most consumer grade switches/routers aren't even capable of sustaining a single stream at their "rated" connection speed.
That's not true at all. Even the cheap consumer stuff, as long as it is from a known brand, can do a single duplex transfer at the rated speed. I've seen some off-brand garbage that struggled with a single 1Gbps transfer, I'm talking stuff branded with names I've never heard of before that they probably bought off alibab or something like that, but to say most can't is completely wrong. In fact, most can handle multiple transfers at the rated speeds.


forgot a 0 dont be like that newtekie you know im not an idiot.
I'm not being like anything, I'm just posting the correct info for the guy coming along in 5 years to necro this thread with the same problem. The ... was because I was actually confused why you'd make that mistake, because I know you know better than that.

I can recommend GS105/GS108 switches from Netgear. Have quite a few of them and they "just work."
The SG105 is $12 on Newegg right now. They are great plug and play switches, with good build quality. I ordered 5 last week just to keep in stock and to my surprise they even came with lifetime warranties(Newegg lists 5 years, but the boxes all had lifetime warranty stickers).
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
1,053 (0.73/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX580 OC 8Gb
Storage 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 curved monitor 27" with FreeSync
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse AFX LMO216
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532
It's impossible for me to order from here and know 100% that it will arrive and not get stolen or be subject to bribes at customs, so I have to source locally.
TP-Link is the dominant make here and I can pick up an 8 port for around $37 if I need to. In the meantime, I'll improvise/prioritise.
 
Top