• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How do i make this computer faster?

Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
96 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor 3.5GHZ
Motherboard MSI Socket AM3+ 970A-G46 GLan Audio Raid
Cooling Cpu Cooler Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo for Intel and AMD Socket 775 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / AM2 / AM2+
Memory RAM 8
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Case Nzxt Phantom Full Tower no PSU Black
Power Supply Antec Power Supply 620W ATX 24 pin High Current Gamer HCG-620 Active-PFC Retail
Software windows 10
#1
The current pc i am using now is hell lot of slow.

It takes like 10 minutes to open up , and other 5 minutes to turn it off:p

when i am trying to open for first time google chrome it takes like 5 minutes.

The cpu gadget is showing up that ituses 95% of my ram all the time.

The pc i am using now is kinda sucks.

This is my computer specs:
1GB RAM
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @2.40 GHZ


My os now is windows 7 should i downgrade to windows XP?
I mean i can't work like this:(

I had a problem with my new pc and i must use this till it the problem is fixed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
652 (0.26/day)
Likes
58
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name LS Vtec B18B1 Bolt Ons
Processor AMD Phenom ii 1045t x6 @ 3.5Ghz OC
Motherboard ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 AM3+
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO Push Pull
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) Black 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Dual-X
Storage Samsung EVO 250gb SSD/Samsung 500gb 7200 rpm/WD Cavirar Green 1TB
Display(s) Acer H236HLbid IPS
Case NZXT Gamma (Powder Coated Champion White)
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SB0460
Power Supply NZXT HALE82 V2 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores Vtec
#2
Get CCleaner and Defrag your HDD. Scan your pc for virus with malwarebytes
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#3
Hello, 2001 called and they want their 1GB of Ram back....


-More RAM - Look at buying AT LEAST 4GB of DDR2. 8GB is also desirable if you can manage it.

-SSD - Move your installation over to an SSD

- Overclock that CPU - Free performance boost
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
298 (0.16/day)
Likes
111
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#4
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#5

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,949 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,058
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
The current pc i am using now is hell lot of slow.

It takes like 10 minutes to open up , and other 5 minutes to turn it off:p

when i am trying to open for first time google chrome it takes like 5 minutes.

The cpu gadget is showing up that ituses 95% of my ram all the time.

The pc i am using now is kinda sucks.

This is my computer specs:
1 RAM
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @2.40 GHZ


My os now is windows 7 should i downgrade to windows XP?
I mean i can't work like this:(

I had a problem with my new pc and i must use this till it the problem is fixed.
Search and download AIDA64 or SPECCY (I prefer speccy anymore for system specs since it doesn't do the TRIAL stat blocking). Give us a more accurate layout of your system.

If that's 1GB of DDR2, then you should think about 2-4Gb. As suggested before, get CCLeaner, do a disk clean, uninstall programs. Do a defrag. Run Malwarebytes (install if you don't have), The reason your CPU gadget is showing so much RAM usage is because you have so little. Even Xp will use a lot or most of that single stick. Don't downgrade if you can get more RAM. I would say that's a major choke point right now though.

The Q6600 is a good old quad core though, I had a couple of them for a long time. Do some routine maintenance, get us some more accurate specs and maybe find some more ram to slap in it, should be good as new in no time!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
96 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor 3.5GHZ
Motherboard MSI Socket AM3+ 970A-G46 GLan Audio Raid
Cooling Cpu Cooler Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo for Intel and AMD Socket 775 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / AM2 / AM2+
Memory RAM 8
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Case Nzxt Phantom Full Tower no PSU Black
Power Supply Antec Power Supply 620W ATX 24 pin High Current Gamer HCG-620 Active-PFC Retail
Software windows 10
#7
Hello, 2001 called and they want their 1GB of Ram back....


-More RAM - Look at buying AT LEAST 4GB of DDR2. 8GB is also desirable if you can manage it.

-SSD - Move your installation over to an SSD

- Overclock that CPU - Free performance boost
I am not willing to purchase anything for this computer , i already got a good one but it has a problem now and i can't use it.

I am asking what i can do to fix the performance a little bit better.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
1gb of ram is not enought for windows 7..You can't do much with that.... it is "okay" on XP, but even there you can'T do that much.. you will go on internet, but don't think playing games, Working in 2-3-4 big excel files, etc..
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,100 (0.66/day)
Likes
813
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#9
Wel
I am asking what i can do to fix the performance a little bit better.
Well there are a ton of other suggestions above for improving performance.... try those. Reformat and Down grade to XP, that will probably give you the biggest improvement.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,379 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,019
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#10
I am not willing to purchase anything for this computer , i already got a good one but it has a problem now and i can't use it.

I am asking what i can do to fix the performance a little bit better.
In truth, other than overclocking, the only thing you realistically do to improve performance is add more RAM as has been suggested, which means you are going to have to spend a little more money. With just 1GB of RAM, you are severely handicapping it, as only so muuch can be run at the same time. As for overclocking, that won't even really help now, because there is just too little memory at the present time to make use of anything that is processed by the cpu.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
96 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor 3.5GHZ
Motherboard MSI Socket AM3+ 970A-G46 GLan Audio Raid
Cooling Cpu Cooler Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo for Intel and AMD Socket 775 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / AM2 / AM2+
Memory RAM 8
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Case Nzxt Phantom Full Tower no PSU Black
Power Supply Antec Power Supply 620W ATX 24 pin High Current Gamer HCG-620 Active-PFC Retail
Software windows 10
#11
Search and download AIDA64 or SPECCY (I prefer speccy anymore for system specs since it doesn't do the TRIAL stat blocking). Give us a more accurate layout of your system.

If that's 1GB of DDR2, then you should think about 2-4Gb. As suggested before, get CCLeaner, do a disk clean, uninstall programs. Do a defrag. Run Malwarebytes (install if you don't have), The reason your CPU gadget is showing so much RAM usage is because you have so little. Even Xp will use a lot or most of that single stick. Don't downgrade if you can get more RAM. I would say that's a major choke point right now though.

The Q6600 is a good old quad core though, I had a couple of them for a long time. Do some routine maintenance, get us some more accurate specs and maybe find some more ram to slap in it, should be good as new in no time!
Here the spects as you asked:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#12
first is your ram, take more like 2gb
then check for any background process that may run
deleting temporary files, just using ccleaner
check your system, is it clean from any virus?
optimizing your registry could help you to improve your pc performance too
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#13
moar ram!!!!!!

4gb min dude :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#14
Here the spects as you asked:
come on, you gonna have much improvement if you use 2gb memory, 7 with 1gb is on the edge, you cant expect better performance
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
652 (0.26/day)
Likes
58
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name LS Vtec B18B1 Bolt Ons
Processor AMD Phenom ii 1045t x6 @ 3.5Ghz OC
Motherboard ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 AM3+
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO Push Pull
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) Black 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 Dual-X
Storage Samsung EVO 250gb SSD/Samsung 500gb 7200 rpm/WD Cavirar Green 1TB
Display(s) Acer H236HLbid IPS
Case NZXT Gamma (Powder Coated Champion White)
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SB0460
Power Supply NZXT HALE82 V2 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores Vtec
#15
I say upgrade the ram, 4gb if you want to be on the middle
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,379 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,019
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#16
Here the spects as you asked:
Something I just noticed from your screenshot: The 80 degree celcius temp of your cpu! That seems a little excessive. I wonder if it is throttling as well?! Do you have CoreTemp, so you could see what temperatures each core is running at?

Anyone else think the CPU temp is contributing to the problem?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,589 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#17
The 10 min boot time also suggests bloatware. Too many programs starting up. Clean out any software you don't need. But as others say, unfortunately 1gb ram is pretty dam low.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.62/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#18
It takes like 10 minutes to open up , and other 5 minutes to turn it off
Please, make sure your HDD is healthy.

Aditionally:
1GB for Windows 7 is almost useless, the OS alone will eat 400-500MB (if nothing installed/executed on start up). You open a browser (firefox, chrome, etc..) on TPU page, your RAM is over.

I suggest you move to Windows XP, get more RAM, re-install your system, or move to a light Linux distribution (e.g.: Xubuntu, Debian+light window manager)...
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,379 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,019
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#19
I, for one do NOT advocate going back to XP, despite the lower RAM requirements. That operating system is walking dead right now, and in two months will not even receive security updates anymore. And since somewhere between 35 and 40% of the pc's in the world are still running XP, it will be a malware and exploit paradise!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#20
Please, make sure your HDD is healthy.

Aditionally:
1GB for Windows 7 is almost useless, the OS alone will eat 400-500MB (if nothing installed/executed on start up). You open a browser (firefox, chrome, etc..) on TPU page, your RAM is over.

I suggest you move to Windows XP, get more RAM, re-install your system, or move to a light Linux distribution (e.g.: Xubuntu, Debian+light window manager)...
yep, i ever run 7 with 2gb ram. when i do multi tasking much its pretty slow since the ram is running out.
so i suggest you add more rams and try do clean install
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.62/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#21
will not even receive security updates anymore.
Haha, I remember one of the things I do after installing Windows is to completely disable updates.

And I never update my Linux system after installed as well. I hate updates...

And since somewhere between 35 and 40% of the pc's in the world are still running XP, it will be a malware and exploit paradise!
It always was... So nothing new here.

when i do multi tasking much its pretty slow since the ram is running out.
Disable the option for the system to use HDD space as RAM.

I was running 2GB on Windows 7 + running a game (1.7GB+ used) and the system stayed fast as it should on "alt+tab" and everything.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#22
If youre not willing to spend money then just switch your OS to Linux Mint and call it a day, you can browse the net on that to your hearts content though setting it up for gaming can be a little tricky.

But hey it costs $0 and its a lightweight OS and you wont need to run a firewall or anti-virus or nothing because its not as susceptible to malware and viruses as much as windows is due to the way it handles code.

Its free to download and install, the least you can do is find out how to use it so you can configure it to your liking.

/thread
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
#23
your trouble is the temperature , open the case and clean the dust , may be let it opened

you should defrag your drives with http://www.auslogics.com/en/software/disk-defrag/

do one by one hd and set the virtual memory file on the other drive , that will need rebboots .


of course before : delete files in C:\Windows\Temp and C:\Users\jc\AppData\Local\Temp
select skip if windows can not delete some
then use cleanmgr.exe to finish maximizing free space

then open properties of your c : d: .. and do an error checking , for c: it will ask to schedule , say yes and restart windows it will check at reboot

then start defragmentations
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#24
Upgrading from 1GB to 2GB RAM is going to make a HUGE difference. And it's not that expensive. 4GB is recommended but 2GB is still much better than 1GB. Don't bother going above 4GB since your 32-bit operaying system can't handle more than 4GB anyway.
Keep in mind that when not having enough RAM, Windows will constantly thrash your HDD because of the pagefile, making your system even slower.

___

You asked us for help on how to make it faster, this is how. If you're unwilling to do this upgrade, just toss the computer and buy a Mac. See, my logic here makes about as much sense as yours.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
I am not willing to purchase anything for this computer , i already got a good one but it has a problem now and i can't use it.

I am asking what i can do to fix the performance a little bit better.
What are you doing with the computer? Can you get away with Linux? It may play nicer with that 1GB of ram you have there.

Also shame on you for running a quad-core with only 1GB of ram. :slap:
I would make a minor investment to make that at least 2GB.