• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do you save a professionally calibrated ICC color profile that is already in your Windows 10 system?

Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,841 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
So my new Vivobook OLED 90hz came with a calibrated color profile and validated, but if I upgrade to windows 11, there is a chance I will lose it.

So my question is simple: I see the color profile, when I go to start menu, under Display I see it as the selected color profile, or if I right click on desktop, scroll down to advanced display settings, then 'display adapter properties for display 1', then color management, then color management again, I see the color profile there as well, but I don't see how to export save the file... I'd like to keep the file as a backup for when I upgrade this laptop to win 11 as this is a professionally calibrated color profile and my screen looks perfect and I don't want to lose it.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
533 (2.20/day)
Location
ƉҼՄƬꞨϾҤŁĄŊƉ
System Name egon11.1
Processor Intel _ i7 _ 11700K oc { 52.52.52.52.51.50.50.49 }
Motherboard ASUS ~ r.o.g Strix Z590-E wifi
Cooling ASUS ~ r.o.g Ryujin 240 + 2* _Noctua_ F-A14 PPC 3000 PWM + 4* _be quiet_ Silent Wings 3 2200 PWM
Memory GSkill _TridentZ_ RGB @ 4266 oc __ 15-15-15-30 __ [311 ~1N]
Video Card(s) ASUS ~ r.o.g Strix RTX 3070 Ti ..OC Edition..
Storage Samsung ~~ 2*_980 PRO / _970 PRO / _970 evo plus / _860 evo _ ADATA SU 800 / 2* _Toshiba HDD
Display(s) ALIENWARE ~ AW3821DW _ 38" widescreen - curved {3840*1600} --- 673 Nits_HDR -- 10bit
Case beQuiet ~ DARK BASE PRO 900 #Silver _rev. 2
Audio Device(s) ASUS ~ r.o.g Throne Qi _ 7.1 --- LOGITECH _G560 Speaker (RGB)
Power Supply beQuiet ~ DARK Power PRO 12 __ 1200W
Mouse Razer ~ NAGA Trinity (19 buttons)
Keyboard Razer ~ Huntsman v2 ANALOG -- Razer Goliathus (RGB) Mercury white
VR HMD Razer ~ Kraken Ultimate HEADSET __7.1 THX _____ DX RACER - Gaming Leather Chair_____ VR?? is odd!
Software Windows 11 Pro ~ x64
So my new Vivobook OLED 90hz came with a calibrated color profile and validated, but if I upgrade to windows 11, there is a chance I will lose it.

So my question is simple: I see the color profile, when I go to start menu, under Display I see it as the selected color profile, or if I right click on desktop, scroll down to advanced display settings, then 'display adapter properties for display 1', then color management, then color management again, I see the color profile there as well, but I don't see how to export save the file... I'd like to keep the file as a backup for when I upgrade this laptop to win 11 as this is a professionally calibrated color profile and my screen looks perfect and I don't want to lose it.
Screenshot 2021-11-23 224840.png

hard to translate -- just a hint for u. u'll make it on your own then. its not difficult
:toast:

Schitts Creek Reaction GIF by CBC
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston 120GB SSD | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung 1TB NVMe | Samsung F3 1TB HDD | Barracuda 2TB HDD
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
9,587 (4.01/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
All color profiles are under C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\color. Save whatever you need from there.

Won't do you much good though, precalibration is more of a marketing trick. Monitors require periodical recalibration because the backlight (for TFT) or subpixels (for OLED) change shades/intensity over time.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,178 (2.29/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling EK 360 PE+EK 280 CE, D5 vario, EK supremacy classic, Generic GPU block
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Lian Li o11 Dynamic XL Rog
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Anne pro II
Software Win 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
bump

also see signature for laptop in question

I will try this, but its hard not being in English.



I appreciate you trying to help, but I can't figure it out

just search for colour management
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,261 (3.20/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
All color profiles are under C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\color. Save whatever you need from there.

Won't do you much good though, precalibration is more of a marketing trick. Monitors require periodical recalibration because the backlight (for TFT) or subpixels (for OLED) change shades/intensity over time.
Especially oled if they run compensation cycles that reduce light output.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,841 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
All color profiles are under C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\color. Save whatever you need from there.

Won't do you much good though, precalibration is more of a marketing trick. Monitors require periodical recalibration because the backlight (for TFT) or subpixels (for OLED) change shades/intensity over time.

its still a good starting point none the less. thank you this will do

All color profiles are under C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\color. Save whatever you need from there.

Won't do you much good though, precalibration is more of a marketing trick. Monitors require periodical recalibration because the backlight (for TFT) or subpixels (for OLED) change shades/intensity over time.

this worked, thank you. now when I do clean install of win 11, its same as win 10 right, i just transfer from usb drive these color profiles, right click 'install profile' --- then I simply go into display setting, color management as tigger was saying, then add color profile, set as default, reboot pc, and it should then be there under settings - display, as a drop down menu to pick from correct?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
9,587 (4.01/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
this worked, thank you. now when I do clean install of win 11, its same as win 10 right, i just transfer from usb drive these color profiles, right click 'install profile' --- then I simply go into display setting, color management as tigger was saying, then add color profile, set as default, reboot pc, and it should then be there under settings - display, as a drop down menu to pick from correct?
No idea, haven't switched so far.
Even if they changed it, pressing Win+Q and typing "color management" should point you in the right direction.

Do you have any idea what color space that profile is for? Because OLED is really good as doing wide gamut and HDR. It would be a shame to go to all this trouble only to set your monitor back to sRGB.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,841 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
No idea, haven't switched so far.
Even if they changed it, pressing Win+Q and typing "color management" should point you in the right direction.

Do you have any idea what color space that profile is for? Because OLED is really good as doing wide gamut and HDR. It would be a shame to go to all this trouble only to set your monitor back to sRGB.

I have no idea how to check! now i scared... ; ;
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
9,587 (4.01/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I'm not sure either. You can always install DisplayCAL and use that to take a look at profiles.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,841 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
I'm not sure either. You can always install DisplayCAL and use that to take a look at profiles.

I've got displaycal installed, i went through all the settings, I still don't see where it says srgb or hdr or widegamut, etc. honestly i think it will be fine if i just go to win 11.

also hdr is easy to find out if its on or not, its literally a toggle within win 10 and win 11 settings... but the widegamut stuff, i dont know if thats changed in windows settings or not. hmm. i really don't think it would be an issue to go to win 11, but you got me a little worried now for sure.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,980 (5.07/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory Crucial Ballistix 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I grabbed a Spider Pro (photo editing) so that I can recalibrate any time I want and just set the newest profile you save through its software.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
9,587 (4.01/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I've got displaycal installed, i went through all the settings, I still don't see where it says srgb or hdr or widegamut, etc. honestly i think it will be fine if i just go to win 11.

also hdr is easy to find out if its on or not, its literally a toggle within win 10 and win 11 settings... but the widegamut stuff, i dont know if thats changed in windows settings or not. hmm. i really don't think it would be an issue to go to win 11, but you got me a little worried now for sure.
Standard gamut usually has sRGB written somewhere. Wide gamut is usually AdobeRGB.
The real problem is you don't know what wide gamut looks like. If you saw it once, you can tell it apart from sRGB at a glance.

Check whether your monitor has an AdobeRGB or wide gamut mode in the menu. Turn it on, it will give you an idea of what you're looking for. If you apply your profile and colors look duller than that, you don't want that profile.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,841 (3.39/day)
Location
USA
Standard gamut usually has sRGB written somewhere. Wide gamut is usually AdobeRGB.
The real problem is you don't know what wide gamut looks like. If you saw it once, you can tell it apart from sRGB at a glance.

Check whether your monitor has an AdobeRGB or wide gamut mode in the menu. Turn it on, it will give you an idea of what you're looking for. If you apply your profile and colors look duller than that, you don't want that profile.

I just googled and found this from a legit site (so it seems it won't make any difference):

Does Windows 10 support Adobe RGB?


What I learned from this article is that Windows does not recognize Adobe RGB. Only software like Adobe Photoshop will be able to display Adobe RGB images correctly.
 
Top