• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to build a computer

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#2
wow u literately built my computer i have the same case no side window same gfx card with same cooler same sound card only things that look different is the mobo which i assume is a gigabyte like mine only i got the ga-k8u 939 with agp and the hsf combo

anyway thats a damn good tut for people that dont know how and might even teach the ppl that do know a few things they didn't know :rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#3
The motherboard's an ASRock 939Dual-SATA2...I'm glad you liked it! :).
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#4
Very nice picture guide :)

Although I'm not sure about the static friendlyness of the floor mat..

However, I would prefer a wood desk :)

I' sure this will get quite a few views!
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,083 (0.49/day)
Likes
267
System Name Not named
Processor Q6600 @ 3.65ghz 1.4375v w/Ultra 120 Extreme
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WIFI-AP P35 (Pencil Mod)
Cooling 4x 120mm 1x 200mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR2 G.Skill @511mhz (5-5-5-15)
Video Card(s) Asus 7870
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 7K500 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 22Inch Samsung 2220WM
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech HDA X-PLOSION 7.1 DTS / Z-5500 logitech
Power Supply Corsair Tx750 watt
#5
This was a very well done and in depth guide. Its always good to read these things atleast once just to make sure your doing things right. (message to one of my friends... never use a magnetic tipped screwdriver)
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#6
Great job! Very nice. I remember when you first got the idea to make this guide...:rolleyes:

Thanks for including me in the "Special Thanks".

-Azn
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,825 (0.42/day)
Likes
60
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#7
Great Job! Thats just the basics for the hardware, Software would really help those though after this, I use to have a ton of software issue my first time....But other then that great review!
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#8
props!
 

POGE

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
1,585 (0.36/day)
Likes
33
Location
In banjo's Goats.
Processor Turion 64 ML-34 1.8Ghz
Motherboard Compaq Laptop Mobo
Cooling Stock Compaq Laptop Fan
Memory 1x 256 DDR333
Video Card(s) Radeon 200m
Storage 40GB 5200RPM HP
Display(s) Stock Laptop LCD
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Stock Laptop Powerbrick
Software Windows XP Pro
#9
If your motherboard has a 20 pin connector and your PSU has a 24 pin connector (or vice versa). Just plug the connector in and it will work. The extra four pins are for additional power which might not be needed. Your system will still work fine.
No! Your system MIGHT work fine. Like you said, the extra four pins are for additional power which MIGHT not be needed. It might also need it to be stable! My DFI NF4 motherboard wont run stable without all 24 pins plugged in. It is okay to plug a 24 pin into a 20 pin, but not a 20 pin into a 24 pin... it might work sometime... MIGHT.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#10
20-pin to 24-pin MIGHT work, but lets say you overclock, you won't get a higher overclock as if you had 24-pin, stince it's there for stability. Also, if your motherboard has both 8-pin EPS 12v, and 24-pin, and you're only using 4-pin and 20-pin, it's not recommended to overclock.

POGE, do you have an SLI Bridge you don't use.
 

POGE

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
1,585 (0.36/day)
Likes
33
Location
In banjo's Goats.
Processor Turion 64 ML-34 1.8Ghz
Motherboard Compaq Laptop Mobo
Cooling Stock Compaq Laptop Fan
Memory 1x 256 DDR333
Video Card(s) Radeon 200m
Storage 40GB 5200RPM HP
Display(s) Stock Laptop LCD
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Stock Laptop Powerbrick
Software Windows XP Pro
#11
I have a home-made one. Its just a bunch of wires on a clip. :p I dont think youll want it though, LOL.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#12
Does it actually work?
 

POGE

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
1,585 (0.36/day)
Likes
33
Location
In banjo's Goats.
Processor Turion 64 ML-34 1.8Ghz
Motherboard Compaq Laptop Mobo
Cooling Stock Compaq Laptop Fan
Memory 1x 256 DDR333
Video Card(s) Radeon 200m
Storage 40GB 5200RPM HP
Display(s) Stock Laptop LCD
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Stock Laptop Powerbrick
Software Windows XP Pro
#13
I havent tested it yet I made it back when I was planning on getting 7800gt's. It should work. It looks really fragile though...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,055 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,957
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
20-pin to 24-pin MIGHT work, but lets say you overclock, you won't get a higher overclock as if you had 24-pin, stince it's there for stability. Also, if your motherboard has both 8-pin EPS 12v, and 24-pin, and you're only using 4-pin and 20-pin, it's not recommended to overclock.
do you have any hard evidence for this?
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
Yeah, I question that too? A 20-pin with a seperate 4-pin ATX connector is the same as a straight 24-pin in my opinion. You plug them in differently, but it has the same effect. My motherboard and PSU allow both ways. I can either plug the 4-pin in next to the 20-pin thus creating a 24-pin; or plug the 20-pin in, placeing the 4-pin in its spot next to the processor. I've done it both ways and haven't noticed any ill effects? Of course I haven't put it through rigorous and comprehensive testing, but I haven't noticed any decrease in my overclocking potentials.
 

Canuto

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
2,153 (0.52/day)
Likes
4
Location
Portugal
Processor Pentium D 930 @3.6Ghz
Motherboard Biostar 945P-A7A(8.0)
Cooling Stock cooling, 1x92mm outtake fan
Memory Infineon 2x512Mb DDR2-533 @641Mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Powercolor X550 512Mb Hipermemory @510/261Mhz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200Gb
Display(s) iMax 17" LCD
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC'97 ALC655
Power Supply LC Power 550w Silent Giant GREEN POWER
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#16
I have a 20-pin with 4-pin ATX connector and i can oveclock just fine but like you said this MIGHT not work for other sytems, this is just proof i'm giving.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#17
do you have any hard evidence for this?
I had actually run some tests using the 20 Vs 24 pin...


ANtec 350w 20 pin (smartpower)

20 pin+4pin on my DFI performed, and overclocked FINE. I could not over stress it with what I had (2500mhz winnie, x700).

I then modded my own 4 pin connector out of a molex and ran it.

NO difference.

I tried a 20->24pin adaptor.

NO difference.




Chipsets are yet to be reliant on the 24 pin PSU.(NF4+ATi x200, atleast) The only issue I had with mine was installing windows on my 20 pin, but I believe that was a one time fluke releated to my bios settings.
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.09/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#18
Great guide :toast:
it will surely help a lot of ppl
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#19
Nice guide in general, guessing most people on the forums won't need a guide like this too much but it's good for some of the newer people and anyone who googles.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
help wiring problems asrock 939 dual vista

having problem wire up power any 1 able to get better pic of power and reset my old board had more pins and im unable to hooh up 1 of lights or what have argggggggg
and is it posable that the power swich can just go ?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#21
You need to connect the headers as indicated in the awful MSPaint that took me about 3 minutes :laugh:.

Warning: ONLY CONNECT HEADERS LIKE THIS FOR 939Dual-SATA2! Plugging your case wires in like this on any other motherboard model probably won't work.
Note: I should have mentioned a reference point...the bottom of the motherboard is the bottom of the drawing, the PCI slots are to the left of the drawing, and the CPU is above the drawing.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
cool thanks
i got it finily fired up but now it wont reconize keyboard our mouse so i cant install windows or mobo disk ahhhhhhhhhh
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
lil more help plz

i got it finily fired up but now it wont reconize keyboard our mouse so i cant install windows or mobo disk ahhhhhhhhhh
amd 939 3800
3 x 512
ati x1600pro 256
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#24
Have you got another keyboard you can try? Is it USB at the moment? PS2 normally works best when installing OSes or working in the bios, some USB devices aren't recognised. This may sound stupid but make sure they are plugged in correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#25
Jimmy's right, you need to have at least a PS2 keyboard until you enable Legacy USB support in BIOS.