• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to completely reset all changes made by TS?

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
Hi,

For a while all went well.
I had the 4 dots on "battery", the "disable Turbo", and low voltage I experimented between 49 and 65.
At some point over the time, no idea why, with the same settings there were blue screen errors.
The fan almost stopped working.
I tried to reset all values but it does not seem to work. There still are blue screens from time to time.
So, I have two questions:
1) how to completely reset all values as they where before I installed TS and be sure that it stays that way?
2) in the first screen, what is the "turn on" for? The program seems to work also when this is set on turn off.

Thanks
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
To go back to default settings, exit ThrottleStop, delete the ThrottleStop.INI configuration file and completely shut down your computer. When you start back up, your CPU should be reset to its default settings.

The Turn On and Turn Off button only controls the Set Multiplier and Clock Modulation settings. Both of these settings are rarely used on newer computers.

I experimented between 49 and 65.
Not too sure what that means. You did not post any pictures so I do not know anything about your computer or what any of your settings are. If you want some recommendations, provide some more info.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
Thanks.

I meant the offset minus voltage of CPU core and cache. My notebook (Lenovo Yoga C940 with i7-1065G7) seems not to like more than -65.
I use your program to avoid the known problem of the hyperactive fans (which of course the son of b... of Lenovo deny, but everybody know that the new version they made has the only purpose of solving this problem whose existence they deny). It helps a lot. Even more if I also offset the voltage of GPU (it is the Iris Plus, so, integrated GPU, and I noticed that as soon as I watch a video the fans turn on, so I thought that I could offset the GPU).
But it also make everything very laggy and sloppy. Things react super slow. I hate slow even more than fan noise.
So I tried with 49 but it does not help much with the fans and it still is laggy.
Then there were more and more crashes even with 49 (which never happened before) and even without offset.
For instance now I only have the "disable turbo" active (which already helps a bit with the fans), and it still crashed once.
I will try deleting the ini.

Btw, am I the only case you are aware of, that your program causes ghost image?
When I change tab in firefox I can see the ghost image of the previous tab.
Never happened before, ever.

Thanks
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
When I change tab in firefox I can see the ghost image of the previous tab.
That sounds like a problem with Firefox or a problem with the Intel GPU driver.

The 1065G7 is already a low power CPU. You cannot reliably undervolt these CPUs or the iGPU very much. If you want to use default voltage, set the Offset to +0.0000, press Apply and make sure the FIVR monitoring table shows that the undervolt has been reset to 0.

If you are using Lenovo software to control the fans and you select a quiet mode, the CPU will probably get stuck at a low power value. Make sure you check the FIVR Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box.

If you use Disable Turbo, you will might have to undervolt less. The CPU automatically reduces the voltage when it slows down. When you combine this with your undervolt, your computer will crash.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
thanks, I have deleted the ini file.
Opening the program now there was the warning message like the first time I opened it, so it seems to have been reset properly, but I see that the box "disable turbo" is selected, and I do not remember it being selected the first time I opened the program.

I see no box called FIVR Disable, and none called Lock Turbo Power Limits.

Btw, what do the 4 dots on the top (Performance, Games, Internet, Battery) do? I thought they were presets but I do not see any setting changed when I chose one of them.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
I see no box
How about this box? The one with the check mark in it.

1619208326836.png


the 4 dots
This allows a user to set up different settings for each profile. When you first start the program, all 4 profiles are the same. It is up to the user to set up different profiles. I only use one profile.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
Ah.
:)
Ok, thanks.
So what about the "disable turbo" which is in the first screen (small red borders main interface)?
What does that do and why was it pre-checked after I deleted the ini?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
If Disable Turbo is checked by default, that means your BIOS is probably not enabling Intel Turbo Boost.

For your CPU to obtain its full rated performance, the Disable Turbo box must be clear. Here are the Intel specs for your CPU.


Your CPU can run at up to 3.90 GHz. The maximum speed is only 1.30 GHz when Disable Turbo is checked.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
Buah, these bastards, I hate Lenovo, I will never ever EVER even consider looking at something Lenovo.
Their system update installed a new bios. Of course I accepted, bios updates are important.
But now the offset stuff is locked.
The new bios seems to have disabled this possibility.
I have deleted the ini but nothing changes (btw, this time the disable turbo in the first screen of the program was not pre checked).
Look at the screenshot.
Can I do anything to override?
Bastards.
turbo.png
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
bios updates are important
They are not that important. They have the potential to screw up a computer. If voltage control is important to you, updating the BIOS should be avoided.

Try going back to the previous BIOS. That option might be blocked.

This update also locked out Turbo Ratio adjustments.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
Whatever, I will sell this shitty notebook and never look back.
I fell for lenovo too many times and I have no idea why I still fall for it. Never had anything but problems with them. And their premium support is a joke.

Anyway, can I safely assume that the only freedom I have left is enabling or disabling turbo?
And that I do not need anymore the "disable and lock turbo power limits"?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
disable and lock turbo power limits
That still works. Use the Speed Shift Max setting to adjust the CPU MHz. That gives you full control. Disable Turbo is not necessary.
 

Lookasso

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
7 (0.29/day)
The Speed Shift, to underclock?
I only need to underclock. Remember. Fan problems.

Btw, is there a user guide somewhere or do you just enjoy being a living manual? :)
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,403 (0.72/day)
Use the Speed Shift Max setting to adjust the CPU MHz.
Yes. Reduce the Speed Shift Max value to slow down your CPU.

I stopped writing manuals because no one bothered to read them. Kind of like the advice that I already gave you that you did not understand or just ignored.
 
Top