• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,848 (1.05/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet- System2 Blacknet 2
Processor Xeon 1680 v2- System2 Xeon 2699 v3
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe- System2 Asrock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling Noctua D14- System2 Deepcool watercooling AIO
Memory 32 GBs DDR3 1866- System2 32GBS DDR4 2133 Highly tightened....
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti - System2 Sapphire RX 570
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB - System2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 860 Evo 500
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays - System2 27" 1440 display
Case Antec 1200- System2 Some Deepcool case with full glass side panel... what were they thinking...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt- System2 EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04, Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
Dumb question here but how do you merge the profiles
Edit: tried to google this but im not able to find how to do this.

To merge the profiles I use an application named WinMerge then I open the 2 files that I need to compare and begin making changes, this app have the capacity of syncronice the two files in order to make it easy the comparison, you should give it a try
 

slicrckuser

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
To merge the profiles I use an application named WinMerge then I open the 2 files that I need to compare and begin making changes, this app have the capacity of syncronice the two files in order to make it easy the compare, you should give it a try

I will try this as well
 

soundood

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
151 (0.03/day)
Location
Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
hasnt anatolymik made a comment about the new hack? ususaly he is stright on new protections from Nvidia
 
Last edited:

technogiant

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
win7 64bit....intel X38a chipset
cant get the new 275 beta driver to work with the sli patch.....tried merging the sli profiles as described above but the sli patch still failed to work for me.....have gone back to the older 270 driver now.

Any fix for this?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
341 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case NOX Hummer TG RGB
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
win7 64bit....intel X38a chipset
cant get the new 275 beta driver to work with the sli patch.....tried merging the sli profiles as described above but the sli patch still failed to work for me.....have gone back to the older 270 driver now.

Any fix for this?

Thanks for the SLI Profile.txt mate, as always I manage to merge the newest profiles with the oldest in a single file.
The result is a fusion of the SLI Profiles from the drivers;
267.24
268.03
270.51
270.61
275.27 beta

Always keeping the newest parameter established by NVIDIA.
DOWNLOAD HERE

Have a nice day and keep hunting those SLI Profiles

Download the new profile from there then import, it will work.
Although if your trying to play Witcher 2 you will still get low fps, even with the profile, as the drivers won't allow full usage of the gpus.

And no, there isn't there any fix yet.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.01/day)
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
win7 64bit....intel X38a chipset
cant get the new 275 beta driver to work with the sli patch.....tried merging the sli profiles as described above but the sli patch still failed to work for me.....have gone back to the older 270 driver now.

Any fix for this?

The 275.27 beta are not SLI Patch compatible yet so stick with the 270.61 and if you want the profiles that the 275.27 has just download my SLI Profiles Ultimate.txt and import it with the GeForce SLI Profile Tool.

Have a nice day
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
341 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case NOX Hummer TG RGB
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
At the same time XD
 

technogiant

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
The 275.27 beta are not SLI Patch compatible yet so stick with the 270.61 and if you want the profiles that the 275.27 has just download my SLI Profiles Ultimate.txt and import it with the GeForce SLI Profile Tool.

Have a nice day

I see, thanks for that, I'm quite new to this and wasn't sure what was being done, I understand now, many thanks......ultimate sli profiles imported into the 270.61 driver ;-)....cool.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.03/day)
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
275.27 Beta Drivers Windows XP

Just installed the 275.27 beta driver on XP 32.

I can indeed enable Sli with no errors...

But when running a Sli enabled game i get ultra low framerate.

Different OS, different protection or maybe this is also present in Win 7 drivers...

I dunno :wtf:
 

federicoz45

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Regarding The Witcher 2, some have found that drivers 266.58 works in full sli with the game. Tested personally, is really working, but 3d vision with related 266 driver looks ghosting.
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,848 (1.05/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet- System2 Blacknet 2
Processor Xeon 1680 v2- System2 Xeon 2699 v3
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe- System2 Asrock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling Noctua D14- System2 Deepcool watercooling AIO
Memory 32 GBs DDR3 1866- System2 32GBS DDR4 2133 Highly tightened....
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti - System2 Sapphire RX 570
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB - System2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 860 Evo 500
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays - System2 27" 1440 display
Case Antec 1200- System2 Some Deepcool case with full glass side panel... what were they thinking...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt- System2 EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04, Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Using driver 270.61 and slihack 1.42, with the 275.27 driver profile imported, I can report perfect and smooth sli performance with so far: battlefield: bad company 2, bioshock 2, borderlands, brink, bulletstorm, cod: black ops, dirt2, crysis 2, crysis warhead, fallout:new vegas, homefront, just cause2, lost planet ii, mafia ii, manhunt 2, prototype, section 8:prejudice, singularity, wolfenstein. Zero lockups, zero hiccups. Don't try ocs as high as a single card, update your directx and every one of these should run for you. I've tried them all several times over by now.
Edit: I'll add more as I test them. For now, add Shift2 and Hot Pursuit as well. Metro 2033, Call of Juarez
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Need help please ...

Hello forum,

I need help, perhaps we can solve this strange behaviour together ...

=> First, I´m sorry for my bad english, I´m from germany :) <=

Then I have to describe my hardware/software:

2x 450GS Gainward 1GB identically (except one thing, see later)
AMD Quadcore Mainboard ASRock 890FX Deluxe 3 latest BIOS
Windows 7 64 Ultimate

I´m using the latest SLI-Patch from www.slipatch.com an the drivers from nvidia 275.21 WHQL.

I uninstalled previous drivers, cleaned system, installed the pacht with admin rights, reeboot, installed drivers, reeboot and nothing happend :-(

I can choose the patched System at start, but I can´t activate SLI in Windows nvidia control center. Only the button "SLI disabled" is active. PhysX is no problem. The other 2 buttons I cant´navigate, they are grey.

What you also should know: One of the two Graphiccards have no SLI-Port, but I´ve read in the net, that you don´t need the sli-cable anymore. The cards are in two 16x PCIe lanes.

Any idea what I can do?

Thank you and greetings from germany,

Sukram.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
341 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case NOX Hummer TG RGB
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Hello forum,

I need help, perhaps we can solve this strange behaviour together ...

=> First, I´m sorry for my bad english, I´m from germany :) <=

Then I have to describe my hardware/software:

2x 450GS Gainward 1GB identically (except one thing, see later)
AMD Quadcore Mainboard ASRock 890FX Deluxe 3 latest BIOS
Windows 7 64 Ultimate

I´m using the latest SLI-Patch from www.slipatch.com an the drivers from nvidia 275.21 WHQL.

I uninstalled previous drivers, cleaned system, installed the pacht with admin rights, reeboot, installed drivers, reeboot and nothing happend :-(

I can choose the patched System at start, but I can´t activate SLI in Windows nvidia control center. Only the button "SLI disabled" is active. PhysX is no problem. The other 2 buttons I cant´navigate, they are grey.

What you also should know: One of the two Graphiccards have no SLI-Port, but I´ve read in the net, that you don´t need the sli-cable anymore. The cards are in two 16bit PCIe lanes.

Any idea what I can do?

Thank you and greetings from germany,

Sukram.

I think the problem there might be the SLI bridge, not sure, but as far as i know you need the SLI bridge its weird that one the cards doesn't have the sli port.

That happened to me before i installed the SLI bridge
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.03/day)
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Hello forum,

I need help, perhaps we can solve this strange behaviour together ...

=> First, I´m sorry for my bad english, I´m from germany :) <=

Then I have to describe my hardware/software:

2x 450GS Gainward 1GB identically (except one thing, see later)
AMD Quadcore Mainboard ASRock 890FX Deluxe 3 latest BIOS
Windows 7 64 Ultimate

I´m using the latest SLI-Patch from www.slipatch.com an the drivers from nvidia 275.21 WHQL.

I uninstalled previous drivers, cleaned system, installed the pacht with admin rights, reeboot, installed drivers, reeboot and nothing happend :-(

I can choose the patched System at start, but I can´t activate SLI in Windows nvidia control center. Only the button "SLI disabled" is active. PhysX is no problem. The other 2 buttons I cant´navigate, they are grey.

What you also should know: One of the two Graphiccards have no SLI-Port, but I´ve read in the net, that you don´t need the sli-cable anymore. The cards are in two 16bit PCIe lanes.

Any idea what I can do?

Thank you and greetings from germany,

Sukram.

Strange no Sli port in one of the cards.

Since the 260.99 drivers Sli doesn't work without a sli bridge.

You can try a driver prior to that to see if Sli is working.

But either way you are in trouble, problably the best thing to do is to contact gainward support and try to change the card, unless you want to stick with a older driver forever.
 

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Do you mean the 275.27 instead of 275.21, don't you? I don't know any 275.21... and I thought the 275.27 did not work with SLIPatch --> New protection. At least until a new revision of SLI Patch is out...

PD. BTW, afaik the 275.27 are not WHQL, they are beta. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
341 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case NOX Hummer TG RGB
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Do you mean the 275.27 instead of 275.21, don't you? I don't know any 275.21... and I thought the 275.27 did not work with SLIPatch --> New protection. At least until a new revision of SLI Patch is out...

PD. BTW, afaik the 275.27 are not WHQL, they are beta. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Yes your right maybe he mistyped that.
 
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Sorry guys, I meant 257.21 ;-) I´ll gonna try 260.99 and report ...

Sukram.

And Update: Still nothing new - I took 260.89 WHQL and latest patch and I can´t choose SLI, I even got no windows with SLI, only a tab with PhysX

Any suggestions?

Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.03/day)
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Sorry guys, I meant 257.21 ;-) I´ll gonna try 260.99 and report ...

Sukram.

And Update: Still nothing new - I took 260.89 WHQL and latest patch and I can´t choose SLI, I even got no windows with SLI, only a tab with PhysX

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

The problem isn't Sli Patch, it's the driver...

Try this:

Download this driver->http://uk.download.nvidia.com/Windo...op_win7_winvista_64bit_international_whql.exe

Unpack the driver and switch the inf with this one->http://www.mediafire.com/?1lx11ri6zwzv7fu

Try to install it.

I can't guarantee that this will work because your card was release after this driver.

Report back ;)
 
Last edited:

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,848 (1.05/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet- System2 Blacknet 2
Processor Xeon 1680 v2- System2 Xeon 2699 v3
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe- System2 Asrock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling Noctua D14- System2 Deepcool watercooling AIO
Memory 32 GBs DDR3 1866- System2 32GBS DDR4 2133 Highly tightened....
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti - System2 Sapphire RX 570
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB - System2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 860 Evo 500
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays - System2 27" 1440 display
Case Antec 1200- System2 Some Deepcool case with full glass side panel... what were they thinking...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt- System2 EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04, Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Just use the 270.61 driver with slipatch 1.42 and import the 275 profile. Simple. Drivers above the 270 one do not work with slipatch at this time.
 
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
I will try this WE - thank you very much for all help until now - great community :respect:
BTW I can send back the gainward card to the vendor and he will change the card to one with SLI port ...

Sukram.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
YES, YES, YES - GUYS YOU MADE MY DAY !!!!!!!

It works :roll::rockout::toast:

RiC@RDOCs and johnspacks hints were successfull - now I only have to change the card to one with SLI port and then I can update the drivers, too.

Greetinx,

Sukram.
 
Last edited:
Top