• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#53
I'll be unavailable for the next few hours. Going out.

@BYU - Sorry I can't stick around. It might take a few more tweaks to get it going I think .. but let me know what you find! Thanks again!

@Ozzman - Good to know. Thanks!
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#54
Actually I remember older nvidia drivers allowing you to on non nvidia chipsets o it not impossible. There was even some review that I ran into some weeks ago that was old, with them using some modded drivers to do it also.

I also remeber hearing about something doing it on ULI chipsets when they existed.


edit: it was the NGO SLI patch that NGO did for the ULI chipsets which allowed it, it was before nvidia bought ULI. They used the older drivers. Before Nvidia put something in the newer drivers to make the ULI SLI patch not work. And NGO never did make a work around to it.

So its do able. you just gotta get around what they put in the drivers then to stop the ULI patch from enabling it.
this is what some dude said at guru3d , so u guys might want to consider that.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#55
I'll be unavailable for the next few hours. Going out.

@BYU - Sorry I can't stick around. It might take a few more tweaks to get it going I think .. but let me know what you find! Thanks again!
That's ok, I understand. at the very least I can get some info for you. I should have results in about an hour (installing Vista32).
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.13/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#56
That's ok, I understand. at the very least I can get some info for you. I should have results in about an hour (installing Vista32).
so did anyone els get the velvet drivers to work ? for mine wont even recognise the two cards just the first one...
 

Exavier

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
981 (0.27/day)
Likes
78
Location
Bath, UK
Processor Q6600 G0 Stepping @3.4
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS-PLUS
Cooling Fitseries3 Edition Fuzion v1, XSPC Razor X2, XSPC RS320, Hydor L30
Memory Crucial Ballistix @972mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB x2 (I need another OS drive LOL)
Display(s) Sony Bravia 40L4000 40" HDTV :D
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Mod is a WIP)
Power Supply Corsair HX620w
Software Windows Vista
#57
blue, can you put your system specs up in your User Control Panel? That way, if you've got a version you're testing that seems more able, we can see what chipset/board you're using and work it all out quicker :)

I'd be willing to lend my Asus Maximus Formula to the list, if I can get a second card to attempt SLi with..
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.13/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#58
Started a new thread. Branched from Solaris17's original thread that I kinda sorta hijacked. We're working together on this now so its cool :D. These drivers are an attempt to get SLI working on XF boards on these newer drivers.
---

Finally they're here! That took way too damn long.. Thanks for your patience everyone! Cross your fingers! In order to develop these, since neither I nor Solaris own a CrossFire board, please provide feedback on the following:

1) GPU-Z says if SLI is available.
2) If NV CP shows if SLI is available.
3) If you can run: rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,LaunchMultiGpuApplet and what this does.
4) Also please tell me your motherboard brand and model as well as graphics card pairs and if you 1) have a SLI bridge and 2) if you are attempting to use it or not.

NOTES:
1) Don't apply any of Solaris patches. I am working with him on this set.
2) Uninstall current drivers, restart, then install these like I said before. Otherwise you may have to install twice.

Anyways hopefully these work! LOL... (I hope so given the time I spent heh..)

*EDIT* Date: 5-22-08 @ 11:56AM
Version: v2 (Last was v1)

Vista (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DUS5K8XJ
Windows XP/2K (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YQNVA830 (this is mislabelled - says its Vista but its not)

EDIT (5-22-08 @ 1:40AM): I think there is something wrong with this set on my card or something (even the unmodded ones don't work) so I'm going to try modding another set I think. Perhaps 175.70.

EDIT (5-22-08 @ 11:56AM): Download links back up. Problem preventing driver installation should be fixed now. Please test!
(12:54PM): Removed old text saying drivers didn't work. Whoops.

Hi bluevelv and solaris..The nvidia drivers show both cards fine ,,but still as stated the ones i rtied that you guys moded would not show both cards fine..and also i just noticed something here...when I have both cards with the sli conecter connected, it sais sli available even with the regular drivers...so I figured I would let you guys know for I just installed the drivers from nvidia,s site and it sais sli available in gpu-z but of cource no where to enable it..Ok talk soon...Steve
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#59
so I have a fresh copy of vista. I installed the drivers using the setup file. SLI doesn't show up in NVCP, is there something I'm missing?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#60
so I have a fresh copy of vista. I installed the drivers using the setup file. SLI doesn't show up in NVCP, is there something I'm missing?
there is a command line you're supposed to run. i know i posted it earlier, and it should be in the first post.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#62
we'll need to hear back on what to do with that.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#63
Ok, I just realized, only one of the cards shows up now that the drivers are installed. I'm going to uninstall the drivers, take out one GTX, reinstall the drivers, and then add the second card in and see what that does.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#66
Update on the Vista 64 drivers:
I clocked up my cards to run some 3dMark06 and see if my score changed at all for you guys, but when I ran the bench it froze during firefly forest and my display completely stopped responding and blackscreened me (no recovery) I ended up having to hit my reset button to get my display back. Tried it three times with the clocks in my specs and same thing happpened.
btw I'm not completely sure if I should be posting this in this thread or the other, you guys got me all confused on the two thread thing. Please let me know.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#67
You are on the right thread. From what I understand, the drivers should just show the option for now. I don't think they are ready for testing like that. Where did you find the Vista64 drivers? The ones on this page are only for Vista 32...
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#68
I got them off of Sol's FTP. Everyone keeps saying it's down, but I have no problems logging in and downloading.
Just in case you didn't notice I'm dual booting using both x64 drivers, but for the time being I'm going to only use the vista ones until you guys get SLi worked out on the XP ones.
Edit: by the way SLi works fine on Vista x64
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#69
I have one P5B DLX and two 8600GT here.

But i can´t download these drivers because "megaupload" are full for my location (Brazil)... :(

anyone have a mirror? I using Vista Ultimate 64.

Thx
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#72
I have one P5B DLX and two 8600GT here.

But i can´t download these drivers because "megaupload" are full for my location (Brazil)... :(

anyone have a mirror? I using Vista Ultimate 64.

Thx
If you have MSN Messenger add me "ultimatewingsfanii@hotmail.com" and I'll file transfer them to you.

dude, the FTP won't let me on...user/pass is guest right?
I think you need the @server part in the username

so you were able to get a better score then?
No, my computer blackscreened during the bench
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#73
Your specs say that you have a sli board, are you doing this on another machine?

I got them off of Sol's FTP. Everyone keeps saying it's down, but I have no problems logging in and downloading.
Just in case you didn't notice I'm dual booting using both x64 drivers, but for the time being I'm going to only use the vista ones until you guys get SLi worked out on the XP ones.
Edit: by the way SLi works fine on Vista x64
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#74
its entirely possible he's testing just to make sure the drivers even work on an SLI capable system.
Its a good idea really, if they dont work on a legit SLI board/cards, they probably wont on other systems.