• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to tell if the windows xp 64bit i bought is 64bit not 32bit

Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
i bought this:

Its a CD, the package was sealed and genuine aparently. the cd is shiny new and it all looks genuine that's not my concern.
I can't find a way to install it onto a micro SD or full size SD card using rufus. What rufus did was a copy of the installer while i wanted a installed ready to use XP install.

I tried the CD running on my dvd drive on my fx8350 but at some point while loading installer it crashes (check photo of CD and SD installers i tried both) and on both mediums while loading installer they crash.
I have a windows xp live CD I got way long ago like 2010 and that one at least shows the windows xp progress bar yet it crashes too (check photo)

-my concern is that the windows xp cd i bought might not be a 64bit that's why it crashes.
(the winxp live cd from many years ago shows a different code and the filename says livecd)

NOTE: I forgot to mention mostly the reason i need a winxp 64bit is so i could use an old PCTV 80e usb dongle to play cable tv/vhs/etc on my fx8350 in addition to the pc capture card that does the same thing with proper video adapters. right now on nor windows 7 nor 10 the dongle works, it doesn't work, OBS can't even see it.
 

Attachments

  • winxplivecd-20240508_205728.jpg
    winxplivecd-20240508_205728.jpg
    4.9 MB · Views: 105
  • winxpsp2disc-20240514_004926.jpg
    winxpsp2disc-20240514_004926.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 99
  • winxpsp2sd-20240514_004345.jpg
    winxpsp2sd-20240514_004345.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 99
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2023
Messages
508 (2.63/day)
Location
Woodstock IL
System Name I don't name my rig
Processor 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z690 D4
Cooling Air/water/DryIce
Memory Corsair 3600mhz something die cl18 at 4000mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT
Storage 980 Pro
Display(s) Some LED 1080P TV
Case Open bench
Audio Device(s) Some Old Sherwood stereo and old cabinet speakers
Power Supply Antec 850w Continous Power Series (since 2009)
Mouse Razor Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores Max Freq 13700K 6.7ghz DryIce. Max all time Freq FX-8300 7685mhz LN2
If it was 64 bit, it would had said so right on the package. It is a 32bit copy sadly to say.

GL
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
it's an OEM probably why it doesn't say 64bit on the front. Is there a more definitiv way to confirm? I tried right clicking a exe file here rufus but no where says is 32bit or 64bit so i can't do the same with setup.exe on the cd.

oh ok i just read your sample is also oem, in that case I'll ask seller.
 
Last edited:

Keullo-e

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,279 (2.70/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop, Corsair ML/LL fans
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury @ DDR4-3466
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF 10GB @ +150/700
Storage ~4TB SSD + 6TB HDD
Display(s) Acer XV273K 4K120 + Lenovo L32p-30 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis remastered at 4K
After a little research, the disc should indeed say "x64 edition". Never seen a genuine one myself so I'm not 100% sure though.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
5,349 (0.76/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
System Name Firelance.
Processor Threadripper 3960X
Motherboard ROG Strix TRX40-E Gaming
Cooling IceGem 360 + 6x Arctic Cooling P12
Memory 8x 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4-3200 CL16
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 4060 Ti Ventus 2X OC
Storage 2TB WD SN850X (boot), 4TB Crucial P3 (data)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q32E2N (32" 2560x1440 75Hz)
Case Enthoo Pro II Server Edition (Closed Panel) + 6 fans
Power Supply Fractal Design Ion+ 2 Platinum 760W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
STOP 7B is INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE which has nothing to do with the bitness of the installer and everything to do with the fact that the BIOS is set to AHCI mode, while XP setup doesn't have AHCI drivers. You need to create a boot disk with the relevant drivers in order for setup to work.

Honestly though this whole thread is insane, "my shitty ancient device doesn't have Windows 7/10 drivers so I'll buy and install Windows XP" is an amazing conclusion to reach compared to a normal person's "I'll replace this shitty ancient device with one that is compatible with Windows 7/10".
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
48 (0.03/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming - Bios 3607
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32 GB DDR4 @3800 MHz CL16 (4 x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) ASRock Radeon RX 7900 XTX Phantom Gaming OC
Storage 1x WD Black SN850 1 TB, 1 x Samsung 990 PRO 2 TB, 2 x Samsung 860 1 TB, 1x Segate 16 TB HDD
Display(s) Dell G3223Q 4K UHD
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX 7.1-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x SHIFT
Mouse Razer DeathAdder v3.0 PRO
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V4
Software Windows 11 PRO 23H2 build 22631.3447
STOP 7B is INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE which has nothing to do with the bitness of the installer and everything to do with the fact that the BIOS is set to AHCI mode, while XP setup doesn't have AHCI drivers. You need to create a boot disk with the relevant drivers in order for setup to work.

Or - if possible - set the BIOS to IDE mode
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
18,026 (2.68/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K P-Cores @ 5Ghz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MT/s CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
You'll also notice it if you have more than 4GB RAM installed.
All 32-bit operating systems have a 4GB RAM limit.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
700 (0.44/day)
There is a windows 7 driver for that by the look of it. You need to disable driver signing to use it I think. Better than using XP though, just about

I'd try it in 10 as well, just to see if any way to get it work also.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
There is a windows 7 driver for that by the look of it. You need to disable driver signing to use it I think. Better than using XP though, just about

I'd try it in 10 as well, just to see if any way to get it work also.
the device appears listed fine on device manager but OBS can't see it neither sparkosoft which is another webcam emulator for devices that discord can't see. I'll try disabling driver signing then for a sec.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
2,039 (0.44/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita (UEFI-BIOS P3.40)
Memory 32 GB G.Skill RipJawsV F4-3200C16D-32GVR
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
Package should look like this after searching in google.
Fun fact: XP x64 Edition is based on Server 2003/NT 5.2 This means that Service Pack 3 literally doesn't exist. Also, Service Pack 2 isn't the same as Service Pack 2 on regular XP. Same goes for the first service pack.

XP x64 Edition runs very well on Core 2 systems, was able to get the correct drivers. The only thing that went wrong, was that the Halo CE EAX is broken, IIRC.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
There is a windows 7 driver for that by the look of it. You need to disable driver signing to use it I think. Better than using XP though, just about

I'd try it in 10 as well, just to see if any way to get it work also.
i tried disabling driver signature enf on both win10 and win7 ult sp1 and obs still didn't see my 80e pinacle usb dongle. I'm ready to start trying out XP.
I was able to get windows xp live cd run and everything is good there after changing ahci to ide mode.
-I will keep digging on xp live but it might not want to install new devices like my 80e due to space since is live cd. I tried doing a full install from the xp instalation cd but since the sata 120GB disk I'll try is connected to sata port 5 on the mobo or is not the first disk; it says no wey. I will change it to first port and see if i can install it then hopefuly drivers will install however, my drivers appear to be for windows vista or 7 since the date on them is 2010 not 2002-2005.
 

Attachments

  • 20240519_023108.jpg
    20240519_023108.jpg
    4.4 MB · Views: 22
Joined
Dec 16, 2021
Messages
138 (0.15/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling bequiet! Dark Rock Slim
Memory 64 GB ECC DDR4 2666 MHz (Samsung M391A2K43BB1-CTD)
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming, 8 GB
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus, 1 TB Samsung 850 EVO, 4 TB Lexar NM790, 12 TB WD HDDs
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Seasonic X-Series 560W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Glorious GMMK
Easiest way to see if it's actually the x64 version of Windows XP is to put the disc in a drive and see if it contains the AMD64 folder. If it only contains the i386 folder, it is the 32 bit version. Note that there are other folders on the disc, but the actual Windows files are in i386 (for both 32 and 64 bit versions) and AMD64 (64 bit version only).
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
i did sucesfuly instaled xp onto the apple sata ssd drive and is 32bit i checked my pc propertis tab
I can probably get the 80e usb dongle to work with the 32bit version and to be honest it might work better? i don't know.
I'll get usb 2.0 3.0 drivers, what i'm thinking is the dongle might work on 7 or 10 if connected to usb 2.0.

update: still doesn't work under win7 using usb2.0 without driver enforcement.
I'll try obs on xp now and will report soon.
 

Attachments

  • propertis.gif
    propertis.gif
    5.7 MB · Views: 41
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 29, 2020
Messages
54 (0.04/day)
Honestly though this whole thread is insane, "my shitty ancient device doesn't have Windows 7/10 drivers so I'll buy and install Windows XP" is an amazing conclusion to reach compared to a normal person's "I'll replace this shitty ancient device with one that is compatible with Windows 7/10".
What's insane is that several people liked this abhorrent post. There are plenty of people -- especially in non First-world nations -- for whom the cost of replacing a "shitty ancient device" is prohibitive. Assuming the poster intends to use this system for little or nothing more than his stated purpose, there's exactly zero harm in using a much older version of Windows. What if someone hacks his cable-TV system? Oh the horror!

For myself, I consider it essential to replace a system (or GPU) the moment a faster alternative is available -- but I would never mock those who can't afford such a strategy themselves. To each their own.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
What's insane is that several people liked this abhorrent post. There are plenty of people -- especially in non First-world nations -- for whom the cost of replacing a "shitty ancient device" is prohibitive. Assuming the poster intends to use this system for little or nothing more than his stated purpose, there's exactly zero harm in using a much older version of Windows. What if someone hacks his cable-TV system? Oh the horror!

For myself, I consider it essential to replace a system (or GPU) the moment a faster alternative is available -- but I would never mock those who can't afford such a strategy themselves. To each their own.
I plan upgrading to 13gen icore9 by 2025
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
453 (0.09/day)
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
System Name YACS amd
Processor 5800x,
Motherboard gigabyte x570 aorus gaming elite.
Cooling bykski GPU, and CPU, syscooling p93x pump
Memory corsair vengeance pro rgb, 3600 ddr4 stock timings.
Video Card(s) xfx merc 310 7900xtx
Storage kingston kc3000 2TB, amongst others. Fanxiang s770 2TB
Display(s) benq ew3270u, or acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H,
Case lian li LANCOOL III
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti pro 1000w
Mouse logitech g703
Keyboard durogod keyboard. (cherry brown switches)
Software win 11, win10pro.
and the inside of the real xp64 professional case.
i made the key a slight challenge, i installed it once so probably useless.

bought it to try crysis 64bit , if i remember correctly. (or a 64bit version of a game back-in-the-day.)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1411.jpeg
    IMG_1411.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Nov 16, 2023
Messages
508 (2.63/day)
Location
Woodstock IL
System Name I don't name my rig
Processor 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z690 D4
Cooling Air/water/DryIce
Memory Corsair 3600mhz something die cl18 at 4000mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT
Storage 980 Pro
Display(s) Some LED 1080P TV
Case Open bench
Audio Device(s) Some Old Sherwood stereo and old cabinet speakers
Power Supply Antec 850w Continous Power Series (since 2009)
Mouse Razor Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores Max Freq 13700K 6.7ghz DryIce. Max all time Freq FX-8300 7685mhz LN2
and the inside of the real xp64 professional case.
i made the key a slight challenge, i installed it once so probably useless.

bought it to try crysis 64bit , if i remember correctly. (or a 64bit version of a game back-in-the-day.)
Had to purchase XP back in the day cause there wasn't a newer windows operating system yet.

OS keys for XP are no longer horded. Can easily find a DL with key and pay nothing these days.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,346 (2.52/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
What's insane is that several people liked this abhorrent post. There are plenty of people -- especially in non First-world nations -- for whom the cost of replacing a "shitty ancient device" is prohibitive. Assuming the poster intends to use this system for little or nothing more than his stated purpose, there's exactly zero harm in using a much older version of Windows. What if someone hacks his cable-TV system? Oh the horror!

For myself, I consider it essential to replace a system (or GPU) the moment a faster alternative is available -- but I would never mock those who can't afford such a strategy themselves. To each their own.
It's insane until you read his post history of not listening to advice. He's spent more money trying to keep his current spec going than it would be to do a proper, newer build.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,874 (3.90/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. IV "Eternal Thunder"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1G
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + NF-F12 industrialPPC-3000 w/ Thermalright BCF and NT-H1
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Microsoft Ocean Plastic Mouse
Keyboard Galax Stealth
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
What's insane is that several people liked this abhorrent post. There are plenty of people -- especially in non First-world nations -- for whom the cost of replacing a "shitty ancient device" is prohibitive. Assuming the poster intends to use this system for little or nothing more than his stated purpose, there's exactly zero harm in using a much older version of Windows. What if someone hacks his cable-TV system? Oh the horror!

For myself, I consider it essential to replace a system (or GPU) the moment a faster alternative is available -- but I would never mock those who can't afford such a strategy themselves. To each their own.

Poor little Americans and their low-income third-world country... need to make that FX run for at least 20 years! :nutkick:

This OP's got some history here, they don't listen to any advice and don't actually care about what we have to say, and never did as far as I remember seeing any of their threads. As to why you'd want to run XP on a FX system? It's one of the few things they're good for, not that it'd be useful for 99% of scenarios nowadays, but if you want some retro action, I suppose it works
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
3,526 (0.85/day)
System Name Skunkworks
Processor 5800x3d
Motherboard x570 unify
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB 3600 mhz
Video Card(s) asrock 6800xt challenger D
Storage Sabarent rocket 4.0 2TB, MX 500 2TB
Display(s) Asus 1440p144 27"
Case Old arse cooler master 932
Power Supply Corsair 1200w platinum
Mouse *squeak*
Keyboard Some old office thing
Software openSUSE tumbleweed/Mint 21.2
Poor little Americans and their low-income third-world country... need to make that FX run for at least 20 years! :nutkick:

This OP's got some history here, they don't listen to any advice and don't actually care about what we have to say, and never did as far as I remember seeing any of their threads. As to why you'd want to run XP on a FX system? It's one of the few things they're good for, not that it'd be useful for 99% of scenarios nowadays, but if you want some retro action, I suppose it works
I guess, although im not sure the heat output would be worth it unless you really like fun overclocking. The FX was the last platform that let you really run wild.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,346 (2.52/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
I guess, although im not sure the heat output would be worth it unless you really like fun overclocking. The FX was the last platform that let you really run wild.
Yeeeaaahhh FX overclocked nicely but was still horrible in performance.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
785 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2012
Processor FX 8350 4.2Ghz no turbo
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 32GB DDR3 1960Mhz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080 with stock fan
Storage 1TB GIGABYTE SSD NVME PCIE 2.0 + Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB with Ubuntu + Samsung SSD 860 500GB win7
Display(s) LG HDR 31.5"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek audio + Audigy 2 ZS platinum
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850X
Mouse microsoft intellimouse usb to ps/2
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores +
Yeeeaaahhh FX overclocked nicely but was still horrible in performance.
too much heat causes, I can't oc only set to auto with turbo disabled and had to activate the side fan (more noise), this will be the end of me, all the scars I celebrated
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
2,039 (0.44/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita (UEFI-BIOS P3.40)
Memory 32 GB G.Skill RipJawsV F4-3200C16D-32GVR
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
i did sucesfuly instaled xp onto the apple sata ssd drive and is 32bit i checked my pc propertis tab
Version 2002 is 32-bit. That also means you need Service Pack 3, to have the latest service pack.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,346 (2.52/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
too much heat causes, I can't oc only set to auto with turbo disabled and had to activate the side fan (more noise), this will be the end of me, all the scars I celebrated
I got my 6300 to 5ghz on the AM4 stock cooler. Your issue is either a dud chip or PEBCAK.
 
Top