1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I can't seem to find that perfect board.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Toothless, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    It will be

    FX-6300
    GSkill 16GB 1600mhz
    GTX 660 OC
    530w PSU
    And only one 1TB HDD.

    Missing piece is the board.
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,640 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    If you want to overclock, why arent you looking at 990fx boards?
     
  3. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    OKAY, BUDGET IS OFFICIALLY CAPPED TO $130.
     
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,191 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31,039
    flmatter says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,728 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    finally not being a (h3@p@$$
     
  6. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Since you have raised your budget i would suggest this board

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157479

    @d1nky had some great overclocking results with it (non killer version).

    Checkout the
    AMD FX OC'ers Club
    thread for more Informationen and results wich several boards


    check this thread:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-fx-ocers-club.153443/page-50#post-2855928
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014
    d1nky says thanks.
  7. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,803 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    The sabertooth r2 would be my recommendation, best piece of kit at a good price!

    The new fatality 990fx isn't as good as the last imo
     
  8. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    So I'm looking at those two 990 boards, will probably pick the ASUS one.
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,640 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Also depends on quality of vrms. Asus could have high quality ones, but less phases.
     
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
  12. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,525 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
  13. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    735 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    If sli is not an option Gigabyte Ga-790-UD3 is a decent board, I had one for a while
     
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    that board is more than 2 chipset generations old. Also all current 9 series chipset boards are SLI and Crossfire compatible.

    i think you have fallen behind quite a bit.
     
  15. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    735 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    He was asking for a cheap board and that board ran my FX 8320 fine and supports AM3+ - reason behind saying if sli is not an option is because that board runs one lane at x16 and sli in x4, 8+2 power as well. No I have not fallen behind just trying to give OP an option of a cheap good board to go long with original post of other 970 chipset boards.....



    EDIT- Just re-read entire post and 2nd Norton's post Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 is a good board
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2014
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    he did say that he has upped the budget to 130. thats more than enough to procure a good board :)
     
  17. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    I think op has enough boards suggested now, if he wanna go big and OC to max, he have to invest on a good base.

    Else this gonna end up with a maybach with an 1.1 liter engine

    why choose 1600 ram if cpu supports 1866 ? This is the first bottleneck, 2nd psu is a bit to light on juice for later upgrade....... 3rd get an ssd

    Enough said :p
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,640 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That shouldnt even be considered a bottleneck. Its so small, its not even noticeable.
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,093 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Location:
    Pune
    yeah 1866 ram wont make a difference other than making a bigger hole in the pocket.
     
  20. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    well a 5€ difference is noticeable :D

    [​IMG]
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  21. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    367 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    461
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Easier to clock up speed than it is to tighten down timings. Buy the CL 7 kit. ;)
     
  22. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,768 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,701
    Location:
    Bremerton, WA
    Yeah, as for the RAM I didn't care for adding in another $5 for a small increase in speed.

    (Also I didn't get any notifications about any replies, sorry.)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)